We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Nearby Hotels
$247
$217
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
$214
Element.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$223
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
104
139
66
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
139
66
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskytrain stationacross the streetfree parkingright next doorfree breakfastpancake machinelight sleeperthe breakfast areaexcellent locationalaskan cruiselarge tvbeds were very comfortableconvenient locationfridge and microwavewould stay here againday passthe room was nice
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 340 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location next to the huge Metropolis Mall and city bus terminal, and Skytrain stop. Very good free breakfast. Clean, modern rooms with fridge and microwave and large bathrooms. The price was right. Will stay here again on my next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealPerson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be everything you needed for a stay in the Vancouver area. Being outside of the downtown core, but easily accessed by rapid transit, makes our rates great value. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's very reasonably priced, but no frills or extras. The bed was lumpy and I woke up multiple times because I was uncomfortable. As well, really fragrant laundry detergent is used and pillows smelled really strongly of the perfume scent. Having a free hot breakfast is great, but another egg option would have been nice. We all look the egg meal that had items folded into it, but it had an odd taste to it and most of us put it aside. We couldn't have asked a staff member about it, as none came into the dining area during our visit.

On the upside, it is next to Metrotown and Skytrain and convenient for bus riders.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good sleep. We have equipped all of our rooms with Simmons Beautyrest sleep sets, and the majority of our guests really enjoy their sleep with us. Our sleep sets are only 5 or 6 years old, so they are fairly new. They are a pillow top model, so perhaps this was not comfortable for you. For that, we are very sorry. With regard to our Breakfast Bar, we do offer scrambled eggs on some days in our breakfast bar, and a variety of omeletes on other days. If there are no scrambled eggs when you stay with us, please feel free to ask one of our staff members, and they would be happy to make some up for you. We have our breakfast bar staffed every day, and if they are not evident in the great room, they are in the pantry beside the breakfast bar preparing items for the buffet, but always available to help.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Greeted by very friendly hotel staff - very accommodating and very late night check in was not a problem. IHG Platinum upgraded from standard king room to executive (top floor) room - also got a bottle of water and some rice crackers.

Pool was simple, but heated and nice. The floor the pool was on was quite dilapidated, both bathrooms were closed for renovations. Breakfast buffet was nice - standard fare (good food, pancake maker). No seating available on the day we stayed (back to school rush) so we had breakfast in bed.

Room was simple, but spacious. Towels are getting worn, nice flat panel TV. Minor musty smell from air conditioner.

Late check out was requested (told we could leave at 130 PM), but somebody still called us at noon anyway.

The hotel rating on their website is probably high because they were 'encouraging' 10/10 reviews by offering 1000 IHG points in return - kind of classless.

Overall - decent hotel, but at its full price ($150 / night), I would say the value just isn't there compared to other hotels. The location is nice - it's right next to the skytrain station - but Burnaby is a long ways away if you're in town for concerts, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevileon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, and assure you that our local promotion for IHG Rewards Club members is about encouraging feedback while our guests are at our hotel. We really appreciate the opportunity to address any issues with our guests' stay before they leave the hotel. We are committed to ensuring that we do everything we can to make all of our guests' stays as comfortable as possible.

You will be happy to know that we are currently renovating our 3rd floor meeting room area, including the public washrooms, and that we will continue to improve our property with a complete refresh of every room beginning later this year.

We hope to welcome you again when you next need to stay in our area.


Best Regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here twice during our vacation for a total of 7 nights. The hotel was clean and both our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and courteous and helped us out whenever needed. The location was perfect for our Vancouver vacation, being a short drive away from downtown Vancouver and right next to a bus station and the sky train. There is also a huge shopping mall (metropolis at metrotown) right next door and lots of great restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. I have mobility issues and had rented a mobility scooter for the trip, which was delivered to the hotel before our arrival and picked up after we checked-out. The hotel had it charging in the lobby near the front desk when we arrived. They let me park it and charge it there overnight & whenever needed. The hotel had a nice heated pool and exercise room, free underground parking, free wifi internet and a free breakfast which had a great selection to start our busy day of sightseeing. The whole family really enjoyed the our stay here and it was perfect for our family vacation. Thanks for helping us have a great vacation!!
Steve

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to accommodate any special requests that we can assist with, and are happy that we could provide a spot to charge your scooter while you were here. We really appreciate your review and letting others know that you enjoyed our hotel, our services and our location. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Linda Griffiths
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked this hotel for a business trip. I tried to cancel about three days after I booked and aprox 3 weeks before I was to travel. Apparently when I booked the rate I got was that I paid in advance. NOT a deposit like most hotels. I explained that my business trip had changed but the response was no cancellations!!! Under no circumstances could I receive a refund.
I would ask anybody looking to book with this property to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
5  Thank trobb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are sorry that you chose a non-refundable rate when you made your reservation. It is the lowest rate available at any Intercontinental Hotels Group hotel, however, it does have the highest restrictions. There are other rates available that do not have any restrictions, or fewer restrictions, however, you did not choose one of those rates.

Our non-refundable rates were developed by our brand, and are mandated to each hotel. Our hotel did not create the rate or the restrictions, that is done by our brand. At our hotel, we do offer guests the option to keep the credit on file for 3 months and use it at our hotel on a future visit. I am sorry that you did not want to take advantage of this offer.

We hope that in future that if you choose to stay at one of the IHG hotels around the world, that you choose a rate that more closely matches your needs with respect to cancellations and refunds.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews