We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After surgery accomodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Abbotsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After surgery accomodation.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thank you for a good stay after surgery at VGH in Vancouver. Excellent location for us, very convernient for parking, bus, skytrain and shopping. Hope to stay again.
Special thank you to your staff Brenda, Reniel. Thank you. Roger and Viola Trigg - Abbotsford, B.C.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very much appreciated, and I will be sure to let both Reniel and Brenda know that they made a diference during your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay and found that our hotel met all of their needs. With our location right beside Metropolis at Metrotown, and connected to the Metrotown Skytrain station, we're one of Vancouver's best kept secrets! When you consider the free hot buffet breakfast, free underground parking, free wireless internet, and free local calls, we also offer great value for your accommodation dollar.

We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us, and look forward to having you with us again.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    121
    57
    12
    14
See reviews for
83
65
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent location - can walk to Metro Town. The room is spacious and service adequate. The breakfast is a joke - very uncomfortable seating and choices were very limited. The cafeteria was under renovation so this could be part of the problem. I'd stay here again but will skip breakfast. There are a lot of good choices for breakfast in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. During your stay in December, our Breakfast Bar area was undergoing some renovations, and while we tried to keep the inconvenience to a minimum, we certainly understand that it might not have been as comfortable as it is now that we have completed our renovations.

Our Breakfast Bar has now been expanded, and is newly renovated for our of our guests' comfort. We offer a selection of hot menu items including scrambled eggs, omelettes, sausage, bacon, pancakes, hot cereal, and of course, our signature warm cinnamon rolls. We also feature a wide variety of cold menu items, such as muffins, danish, wheat breads, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurt

At the same time, we renovated our fitness room and our brand new facility now offers a universal gym, treadmill, eliptical trainer and stationary bike to complement our year-round heated outdoor pool.

Once again, I am pleased to say that we have completed our renovations, and hope to see you again when you are next in our area so that you can appreciate the refreshed facilities we offer.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights around Christmas in a room with 2 Queen beds. Big room, clean and a nice breakfast included in the price. The good and bad news is the Skytrain. It's right across the street and so getting downtown is very convenient, but if you don't have the background noise of the heating or A/C in the room, you might hear the Skytrain if you are a light sleeper. It's not really loud, but the trains run so often, it could be an issue.

I'd stay there again !!!

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the Skytrain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located across from the Metrotown Skytrain station, and while most guests are not bothered by the operation (it does not operate after about midnight), we do offer rooms on the north side of the hotel away from the Skytrain that also offer a mountain view. We are also directly connected to Metropolis at Metrotown, BC's largest shopping and entertainment complex, making our location a great choice when in the Vancouver area.

We hope to see you again when you next visit our area, and many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here one night as a home base to finish up on Christmas shopping. The proximity to Metrotown Centre is great and we were able to finish up most of what we needed to do.

The hotel sits adjacent to a Skytrain station and major bus loop so you have ample transit options. Although it's a bit of a trek you can make it by train from the airport to the hotel with only one connection. You are also adjacent to the largest shopping mall in BC. The room (608) is not large but adequate and an upgrade due to my Patinum status. The room was clean and everything was functioning properly. The bathroom has a large vanity, the bed is comfortable and the heating works well. The room has a flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. The wifi was easy to connect to and I found it reasonably fast and stable. Covered parking is complimentary. We didn't have breakfast there so I can't comment on that.

One issue I had is something that I notice in many hotels. The room has only 3 accessible outlets. There is a dual plug in the bathroom and a single plug in a lamp on the nightstand. In order to get to the plug near the desk you have to get down on your knees. We travel with several devices that need charging and a single plug beside a bed is not adequate.

While you shouldn't come here for opulence or spectacular views the hotel is a good value and well suited to shopping excursions and those travellers who want to stay outside of downtown but still have access to transit.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel to avoid a small amount of noise from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review of our hotel. You have noted many of the reasons that thousands of travellers choose our hotel when in the Vancouver area - directly connected to Metropolis at Metrotown Shopping Centre as well as the Metrotown Skytrain station, free hot buffet breakfast, free underground parking, and free wifi. You'll be happy to hear that when we complete our guestroom renvoations (scheduled for the upcoming year) we will include power outlets on every desk lamp in the room. This will help solve the universal problem of where to connect all the devices we use in our every day lives!

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to host you again when you next travel to our area.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed a total of 3 nights and our Guest Service Agent Reniel was extremely helpful and accommodated our requests in a prompt and courteous manner. The Hotel is in the midst of upgrading it's breakfast area as well as the Fitness center, so be prepared for a renovation look for a temporary period.
The proximity to Metrotown and the location we had to conduct our business in was wonderful.
Great shopping experience if we'd had time, loved looking through the Mall though.

Room Tip: do choose a room opposite Central Boulevard and the Skytrain side if you have trouble sleeping when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is true that we are in the midst of renovations to our breakfast bar and fitness room areas, and we expect those to be 100% complete by early January. Our breakfast bar continues to operate and is almost complete at this point. We expect the fitness room to open in early January. We are very close to a full-service gym, however, and are offering free use of that gym while ours is out of service.

We are very convenient to Metropolis, BC's largest shopping centre, as well as the Metrotown Skytrain station, and a myriad of restaurants. That's what makes our location one of the most centrally located in the Vancouver area!

Thank you again for taking the time to let others know about our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

It was an extremely short stay and saddened to say, extremely short visit with my daughter who is attending school. The hotel is a great location with the Skytrain just across the street, the mall next door and plenty of restaurants around. Staff was great, especially when I checked in at midnight from a late flight. Neil gave us instructions to restaurants minutes away at 1:30am!! Beds were very comfortable for our late night chat (or early morning). Our room was great, fridge, microwave, large TV. Very clean. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us. I'm sorry you didn't have more time to visit with your daughter, but I'm glad we were able to help you satisfy your late-night cravings and find you some restaurants close to us!

I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel, and found out what thousands of other travelers to the Vancouver area already know - we're conveniently located at the Metrotown Skytrain station, connected to Metropolis at Metrotown shopping mall, and surrounded by a myriad of dining choices. Offering each guest a free hot buffet breakfast, free underground parking, free local calls and free wi-fi just creates more value for your hotel dollar.

Thank you again for your kind review, and I hope we see you when you come to visit your daughter again.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location opposite the sky rail is a bonus, 20-25 minutes to Vancouver, buy the day pass and go all over town on the bus, train, ferry. The free breakfast in the morning is great and filling. The location to Metrotown is extremely handy and restaurants are only a short 10 minute walk away. This hotel has ample parking in a secure garage and the rooms are very clean. Defiantly would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you discovered how conveniently located we are, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The free parking, free hot buffet breakfast, and free wireless internet make our location even better value for travelers.

We hope to see you again when your travels next bring you to our area. Safe journey....

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing