We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheater and steelling money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New 401 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New 401 Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheater and steelling money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

we booked a room in June 11 and I made a deal, the front desk (Al) said the cancellation policy 15 days before the arrival date June 12 we called to cancel the reservation and he charged the CC for 150 Euros and refused to refund us the money. saying it's written non refundable.

do not give him your credit card

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 820amado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNew401Hotel, General Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take your concern extremely seriously. We further want to assure you our hotel is very concerned with ensuring the satisfaction of our guests, and also ensuring that our policies are both clear and fair. Fortunately, the vast majority of reviews we have received have been positive, and this seems to be a rare exception. Therefore, I wanted to address your very important concern below:

When long-term reservations are made directly with our hotel (i.e. reservations which are more than 2 weeks in duration), we ask guests to complete a credit card authorization form. As is clearly indicated on this form, we charge a non-refundable deposit in order to confirm the reservation. You had made a 14 night reservation with our hotel for July 2013. We had sent you the credit card authorization form. You had completed this form with your credit card information, you had further indicated your agreement with your signature, returned this form to us, and authorized us in writing to charge a deposit in order to confirm your reservation.

As you can appreciate, we are a small boutique hotel, and the summer is a key period for us. We hold your room in good faith, and then must turn down other reservations from other guests making inquiries. Please note, we only charge a deposit for reservations which are greater than two weeks in duration and only for reservations made directly through our hotel.

I am sorry that your plans for your visit in July changed and that you were not able to stay with us.

On a final note, our goal is always to provide exceptional customer service such that our guests return again in the future. Policies concerning cancellations are a necessary part of our industry. Our policies are always fair, properly documented and completely consistent with hospitality industry norms. We would not be in business - nor would we deserve to be - if our guests could not be fully confident that they would be treated in a fair and ethical manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    18
    7
    20
See reviews for
24
21
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire. I found out that Hotwire bills you in American Dollars! So it cost more than the price they quoted me. CAUTION!! The hotel was good. No hidden fees. We had a small dog and they didn't charge more than Hotwire billed. The staff was great. Free coffee. Comfy bed and not really noisey, being off the hyway. The entrance to the freeway is right close with easy access. Centrally located in the Lower Mainland. Nice view of the mountains. Check out Charlies Chocolate Factory just a short walk away!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwannabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNew401Hotel, General Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your note. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay. Yes, Charlie's Chocolate Factory is incredible, isn't it?! We definitely are pet-friendly, and welcome your canine companions. There normally is a surcharge for pets, but we pride ourselves on being one of the best deals in town. Glad you enjoyed the bed, the view, and the ease of access to Vancouver's highway system. We truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

To be reasonable, always an evaluation should be based on the costs. I give a very good rating to this hotel, because when I look at my one week stay there, I would say I definitely will come back. As everybody says, the staff are great and even in the first day you may make good friendship with them. That is true. This place is in walking distance to BCIT which was exactly what I needed. It is also in walking distance to a Walmart , a Canadian Tire and even walking another five minutes you reach to a superstore. A Chinese restaurant and also a Wendy's are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Other good things about this place; you have the control of your room heating and cooling systems. I know everyone has his/her own taste about this. The down marks about this hotel, The place is old, I didn't find it dirty; no I wouldn't say that at all but it is old. For me the noise was the major problem. The hotel is located in a high traffic cross section, and during my stay, there was a road construction. I can't think of any other negative point , but other positive points : Fresh coffee/ Tea always available in the lobby with a warm smile. there is a fridge and microwave in the room and for some other appliances, such as an electric kettle, Iron or Ironing board,... just ask and you will have them in your room. Hope you enjoy your stay as much I did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNew401Hotel, General Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your recent visit.

Our team is really happy to read about your overall positive experience as a guest. It really makes our day to know you enjoyed your visit. As a smaller boutique property, we strive to offer our guests great individualized service during their stay.

We also appreciate your comments about our central location and the close proximity to BCIT, shopping, and several dining options, as well as Burnaby Hospital. 

With respect to the roadwork, it has been a provincial government project which hopefully will come to a complete close in the near future. When calling our hotel directly to make a reservation, please let us know and we will do our best to offer you a guestroom on the residential side of our property.

We also very much appreciate your comments about our economical rates. It is our goal to be the friendliest, best-located, economy hotel in the Vancouver/Burnaby areas.

On behalf of our team, thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great service and staff was very helpful and friendly!
The view was awesome (mountains). The hotel is close to Vancouver - central to transit
Complimentary coffee is always available.
If you like Chinese food, you can go to : Burnaby Palace ( 300 yards from the hotel) - great food

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cedricboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Price was reasonable and we were only there to sleep, so didn't need any amenities. We had two beds, one comfortable, one all slanty and hard. Location is a great starting place to drive from and parking is free, but there is no where to walk to. Noise from traffic is an issue as on a very busy intersection with a highway. The room, furniture and bathroom were not very clean but bedding did look fresh and the mattress looked clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this hotel mainly because of the price and that they allow pets. When we got here the staff was very helpful. I would have to say they have the best hotel staff I have meet to date. And we travel a lot.
There is a few things I dislike about the hotel such as our bathroom was very dirty when we got here the tub needed to be srubed witch I did. The room serivce dosent come every day we had to go ask for clean towels on our third night and we have had to empty our own garbages. When we got here our carpet was dirty with white stains on it and also looked like pee stains on the floor.
On our thrid day here there they were painting the outside of the doors dark brown. No one knocked on our door to tell us this we found out by opening our door and getting paint all over my shirt.
I do belive once the renos are done on this hotel it will be a great littlr spot. Even though all the negative things that has happen I would still come back. They have great front desk staff and great rates.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travles-1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner and I travelled to Vancouver for a vacation to explore the city. We had stayed at the 401 hotel for 6 nights. We absolutely loved that the location was central to transit and several restaurants, which made it easy for us to travel and explore the city in the first couple of days. We rented a car on our third day as we were planning on travelling great distances within the city. We were happy to know the hotel catered for free parking as well. Our room was simple and basic, but it was clean and pretty big. The part that absolutely made my stay here so much nicer was that they upgraded us from our standard room to a mountain view room, complimentary. The staff as well, was pretty helpful in giving us directions and with providing information on attractions to visit. The complimentary coffee in the lobby definitely kept our early mornings going, and was admittedly the first thing we looked forward to when we woke up. As for the price, we were very happy for the service we received. It was simple, cheap, and cheerful. The only downside that they may have is that they did not have a business centre or a printer when I needed to print off some directions, but the front desk person, Al, let me use their printer. Oh, and there’s also a Wendy’s right across the street, which really helped for when we ate out late one night! We’d definitely consider staying here again if we travelled to Vancouver in the near future (which we hope would be soon, as it is such a beautiful city!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New 401 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New 401 Hotel

Property: The New 401 Hotel
Address: 2950 Boundary Rd, Burnaby, British Columbia V5M 3Z9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The New 401 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Burnaby hotel is within 5 minutes' drive from the Pacific National Exhibition and Playland amusement park. Free parking is included. A balcony is featured in each room. Guest rooms at the 401 feature cable TV and free local calls. Free Wi-Fi is provided. Some rooms boast views of the North Shore Mountains and downtown Vancouver. Downtown Vancouver is within 15 minutes' drive from the hotel. The Skytrain Station is less than 5 minutes' drive from the property. BCIT campus is 2 km away. Metrotown Shopping Mall and Deer Lake State Park are 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New 401 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
401 Motor Hotel Burnaby
401 Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing