We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ideal Cafe

Ideal Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Diner, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great diner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a classic diner in the old style, with a formica counter and some stools, plus tables and chairs. It's been there forever, and shows it, but that's part of its attraction.

I've only eaten there once, so this is not a large sampling, but I recently travelled all across Canada from Nova Scotia, taking two months to do it, and the Ideal served me the best omelette I had anywhere along the way. Friendly service and a nice ambience to the place.

If you like old style diners, this is the place in Campbell River.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The place doesn't look like much, it badly needs updating, however, the service was great, their breakfast fare tasted great too! My husband raved and had the eggs Benny 3 times during our stay in the area. Definitely where the locals eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank narek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Come home for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just wanted to say Thank you to Audrey, Lloyd, Stephanie, Cheryl, Joyce, Karen,Mike, Alysha and Adam for keeping that down home feeling when you go to the Ideal cafe for a meal or a coffee, anytime of any day. The Ideal cafe has been around since the birth of Campbell River and has been a feeding the pioneers of our area for decades. I am glad you've kept the same comfortable feeling and good food that the restaurant has always been know for. The breakfast boats are to second to none and have the Big Box restaurant Dennies all beat to hell and these guys only need to serve 1 flavor, not 10. Those boys in the kitchen sure know how to keep the people coming back with their awesome cooking. Nothing fancy, just good healthy portions. I have a hard time finishing everything on my plate cause there is no shortage of food. This is a no frills restaurant, people go here to eat
The prices are reasonable and their friday night roast beef dinner is still the best in town. Keep it up folks, you guys are the best little restaurant in Campbell River.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good family business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good breakfast and great service. Love the monte cristo with home fries and gravy, also best eggs Benny in town highly recommend best diner in cr. cute 1940s look never changed flash from the past

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Have the eggs Benny or the loggers breakfast, best bacon in town and they have 4 options if hash browns (shredded, pan fried, cubed, our Patties) and they carry 5.different breads all baked fresh at plaza bakery (White, brown, rye, multigrain, sour dough) the burgers are also amazing with home cut fries! Happy service and great diner look! Don't knock it before you try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivegreen231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ideal Cafe also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Ideal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing