We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever Halibut”

Dicks Fish & Chips - MOVED
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Good old fashion Fish & Chips We also have burgers and salads as well We have GLUTEN FREE Fish & Chips cooked in its own fryer
Belmont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Best Ever Halibut”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Dick's is a simple chip shop on the wharf in Campbell River...nothing fancy about it...just perfect waterside ambiance and luscious super fresh fish in a crispy batter. We ordered 3 pieces of halibut with cole slaw and 1 order of fries and had plenty for 2 (seniors) to share. I can't say that the chips were the best ever...another time, I'd go for the yam fries...but it was a good experience in a great location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    141
    53
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips !!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had halibut and chips with gluten free batter last night and it was excellent. The pieces were not huge, but as thick as a steak ! My wife had the grilled cod with salad and said it was very good. $40 to feed 3 people for dinner, how can you go wrong.

For any celiacs, this an excellent batter!

We will be back several times during this trip to Campbell River !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChirsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Popular place so quite a long wait but decent enough dinner”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice fish and oysters and great yam fries. I wasn't so taken with the potato fries but that's just a personal thing.
They have a good system here of taking orders and keeping track of numbers and it's an interesting enough area to wonder around and hang about waiting but the wait can be quite long. We were told 25-30mins and it was nearer to 45mins when our food arrived. It stayed a good temperature for the 10min drive until we ate the food though as it had been well packed. We were provided everything we needed to eat it with too so it was a no hassle dinner which we enjoyed. Good fresh fish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsspikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre Fish & chips.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Fish: The halibut fish was quite small; however, you get a few pieces compared to what is stated - you are given fish based on the weight. The problem was there was no flavor from the halibut. In all honesty I could have been eating cod or sole because there was no taste from the fish.

The Batter: Light batter and flavourful, also thing you can taste when eating the fish.

The Chips: Not bad. Similar to the way New York Fries would make their fries; however, it's not exactly the same.

The Poutine: Pass on this. The curds taste good, the gravy is better than average and isn't too salty; however, the poutine as a whole was ruined by not being hot enough. The curds never melted, which means either the gravy or fries were not hot enough.

The Tartar Sauce: Very heavy, with more mayonnaise in the sauce than tartar sauce. One bite and you're tasting mayo and oil.

If you want a better fish and chips experience, head to the Discovery Pier Concession for fish and chips. The fish and the chips are of better quality - you can actually taste the halibut.

One note about the service: The main lady at the till is very kind and patient, the staff behind her on the other hand ... It's called "Dick's Fish and Chips" for a reason. Very rude, and unfriendly, which includes how they're treating some of their own staff. Based on this, they get terrible service, but the main cashier woman gets a 6/5.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 4ksandknives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We were not impressed with our halibut fish and chips lunch. The batter fell off my fish. The fries were just awful. Kind of chewy. I'm not sure if it was just an off day but as we were just passing through we would not think to make an effort to go there again if in Campbell River.

Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dicks Fish & Chips - MOVED also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dicks Fish & Chips - MOVED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing