We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Gotta Eat Here”

Dicks Fish & Chips - MOVED
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Good old fashion Fish & Chips We also have burgers and salads as well We have GLUTEN FREE Fish & Chips cooked in its own fryer
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You Gotta Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This little place was recommended to us by the locals and it was sooo worth going. When we first arrived the tables were full ( there aren't many ) but the owner assured us it would only be a few minutes and a table would be ready for our party of 5. It was no time & we were seated. There is nothing fancy about this place but truly, you don't want to miss it! We all ordered fish & chips with the exception of 1. The fish & chips were served in a cone shaped paper dish that sits in a hole cut in the table with the chips at the bottom of the dish and the fish on the top! Saves on washing dishes!! Absolutely one of the best fish & chip meals I've ever had. Really.........you gotta eat here!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    138
    50
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some of the best fish and chips you will eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Let's be clear: this is not fine dining... Dick's is a quick order place down on the local docks near the ferry terminal.

You'll get great fish, your choice of grilled or fried. I'm told they make good beef burgers too but I've never managed to pass up the halibut or salmon. Either classic fish & chips or as a fish burger, this is a local favorite worth trying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanuckFamily15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

My friends eating with me raved about the fish and chips, particularly how light and crisp the batter was, as well as the salmon wrap - I demolished a cheese and bacon burger, yum. And we were all united about their killer fries - wow! I even managed to squeeze in some chocolate ice cream for dessert!

Helpful?
Thank Virginia_Yukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Dick catches the fist (halibut, cod and salmon) which is served at the restaurant. Delicate and lively flavor. For the fried fish (you can have your fish either grilled or fried) the batter is feather light and a great compliment to the fish. The fish & chips are served in an old fashioned paper cone, and the portion size is generous. Located right next to the Quadra Island ferry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“From excitement to disappointment! !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Having heard so many great things about Dicks, my husband and I were eager to try it out. On entering the building that is perfectly set on the dock you first notice its a bit unclean. Thinking ok but the food is supposed to be fabulous! We get to the counter to review the menu. The waitress was kind enough to answer our questions when she was done chewing her own meal. We looked for another staff member to help but found she was appatently also on "lunch".Just the kind of thing you want to see in a kitchen. 2 people eating with jackets on and no hair nets! Way to go Dicks!!! Your food was good but because we had to watch your staff eat and felt like we were putting them "out" for coming in....oh not to mention the "toilet problem that was broadcast for all to hear....we will not be back..

Helpful?
2 Thank katpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dicks Fish & Chips - MOVED also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dicks Fish & Chips - MOVED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing