We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home - friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron's Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heron's Landing Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home - friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Heron's Landing for five nights (11-16 August 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed our home away from home. We had a one bedroom suite and it was very spacious and we were lucky enough to have a room facing the ocean - spectacular views from our room and balcony. The kitchen is fully equipped: large fridge, oven, microwave, cutlery etc and even a dishwasher! The news beds are super comfortable.

The hotel has free wi-fi, free underground secure car parking and a coin operated laundry. The continental breakfast provides a variety choices. The hotel is not air-conditioned however due to the sea breeze and the fans provided this was not a problem.

The staff are extremely friendly, informative and eager to help with any request. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thank you to all of the staff at Heron's Landing you made us feel right at home :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I am thrilled that you were happy with your stay with us.
I hope you will come back again some day.
We strive to create a homey, comfortable, clean place for our guest's to stay.

Sincerely,

Janet Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    78
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
96
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am in Campbell River often on a company business and stay in Heron's Landing practically every time. There are probably better hotels somewhere, but not in Campbell River, I tried them all. I always chose room with kitchenette, those are big, almost appartment-size rooms. From bottom to top: secure underground parking, luggage carts, elevator, nice clean rooms, TV and fast internet, kitchen is basic but good enough for my needs. Balconies are particularly cozy and add charm to the place. There is no A/C, but when I stayed there this summer I had fan going, and for "hot BC" summer it was adequate. Staff is corteous and friendly. Location is somewhat noisy, but rooms at the back aren't too bad at all. There is a nice seawalk across the street, great for rollerbades or bike ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here with our two teenagers en route to and from Knight Inlet Lodge - and the first night was included in our package. This is a convenient hotel, and very comfortable although there is no air conditioning and no screens on the windows to enable you to open them, so it was a bit hot and stuffy. There is no restaurant in the hotel and the only place to eat within walking distance is a pub which doesn't allow under 18s which was annoying, so you have to drive into the downtown area to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
209 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very clean & well maintained. We were in room #211 & there was a lot of noise in the evening with people walking around on the floor above us. As well, while the beach location is pretty, as it is located on a busy road, there always seemed to be traffic noise. So we had to sleep with the window shut. The compliamentary breakfast was lovely: hard boiled eggs, cheeses, salami, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, breads, etc Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and very big and very impressive.
Balconies were very good.
Ventilation was very good.
Service was very good.
Very comfortable.
Very Good Breakfast!
Very good Wifi!
Very Charming place!!

Very impressed!

We stayed three nights and couldn't speak highly enough about this place!
It really brightened up our stay!

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatCanadianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

After several nights in a big city hotel in Vancouver, we spent two nights here and enjoyed every moment of it. All of the staff are friendly and helpful to the extreme. We would not hesitate in recommending Heron's Landing to anyone.

Chris and Paula

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a lovely hotel...with suites and single rooms available. We had asked for a single king sized room but upon arrival determined that the room was too small for us. We asked for and received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite. It was located on the second floor and had wood flooring. The kitchen was fully equipped and the queen bed was very comfortable.

The nice thing about this hotel was that it was across from the water and the angled patio doors gave a partial view of the water. The bathroom is a small size but the shower/bath provided a lovely hot rain shower. I was impressed with the compliance to recyling and environmental friendliness. There is secured underground parking with an elevator at the back. Luggage carts are located just inside the parking area. The staircase is at the other end of the hotel by the reception area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Flat screen television is a recent upgrade and the cable service was being upgraded. The only thing that would need to be addressed is the lack of a television schedule. Fans are provided for this non airconditioned hotel. I would think that opening of the windows would provide adequate air flow for a warm evening.
I also stayed at the Best Western Hotel next store...Heron's Landing was a lot better

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom suite. The single king sized room is very small. Be aware that breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Property: Heron's Landing Hotel
Address: 492 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing