We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heron's Landing Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$124
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Resorts(Campbell River)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Above Tide Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Rock Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Resort(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painter's Lodge(Campbell River)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage River Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Discovery Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$126
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
68
85
39
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
85
39
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suitemake your ownenglish hotelfull kitchenmicro wavefacing the oceanfresh ingredientswonderful hotelthoroughly enjoyed our staygreat view of the watercomfortable bedcomplimentary breakfaststayed for nightswould stay againgood sizebit datedbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 206 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

After several nights in a big city hotel in Vancouver, we spent two nights here and enjoyed every moment of it. All of the staff are friendly and helpful to the extreme. We would not hesitate in recommending Heron's Landing to anyone.

Chris and Paula

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a lovely hotel...with suites and single rooms available. We had asked for a single king sized room but upon arrival determined that the room was too small for us. We asked for and received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite. It was located on the second floor and had wood flooring. The kitchen was fully equipped and the queen bed was very comfortable.

The nice thing about this hotel was that it was across from the water and the angled patio doors gave a partial view of the water. The bathroom is a small size but the shower/bath provided a lovely hot rain shower. I was impressed with the compliance to recyling and environmental friendliness. There is secured underground parking with an elevator at the back. Luggage carts are located just inside the parking area. The staircase is at the other end of the hotel by the reception area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Flat screen television is a recent upgrade and the cable service was being upgraded. The only thing that would need to be addressed is the lack of a television schedule. Fans are provided for this non airconditioned hotel. I would think that opening of the windows would provide adequate air flow for a warm evening.
I also stayed at the Best Western Hotel next store...Heron's Landing was a lot better

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom suite. The single king sized room is very small. Be aware that breakfast is included in a very pleasant dining room. No other accomodation is available for other meals. There is no swimming pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the Heron's landing in June. Had a one bedroom suite with a queen sized Murphy bed. These accomodations were OK, but the interiors felt a little dated. Breakfast was included and it was all that we needed. Good selection to choose from. It is right across the street from the beach, the staff were wonderful and there is secure parking. It is a bit of walk (4 KM) to the town centre though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for posting you comments on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback.
We at Heron's Landing, take great pride in offering a positive guest experience to all that stay with us.

We are always trying to improve the guest rooms.
This past winter we installed Flat screen T.V's in all the guest rooms. We also put new carpet in all the hallways and staircase.

I also pass along the information we receive from guest's to the owner of the hotel.
When he took ownership in 2005, he renovated the interior of the hotel in 2006, and the outside in 2008. He is always listening to guest feedback.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards,

Janet Johnson
General Manager

Heron's Landing Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel features small apartments equipped with everything you need so it would be worth considering if you are planning to stay in Campbell river for a while. I must say I wasn't very impressed with the way they structured breakfast, it gets easily crowded, some of the pastries didn't seem too fresh and the whole thing just looked cheap. Apart from the food, it's definitely a nice, comfortable hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollivander1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments. We appreciate the feedback.
I was sorry to hear that you thought the pastries were not fresh.
We take pride in the breakfast we provide to our guests.
We offer a variety of items to choose from to make sure we offer a healthy breakfast.
We usually receive alot of compliments on the breakfast.
My knowledge of a Continental breakfast is quite basic, for example pastries, coffee , tea etc.
We offer, Yogart, a Meat & Cheese platter, Hard boiled eggs, Frozen Waffles, Bread, English Muffins, Bagels, Fresh Fruit, (Apples, Oranges, Bananas), Juice, (Orange & Apple), Oatmeal packets, 3 different kinds of cereals, Coffee, Tea, and Hot Chocolate.

You mentioned how crowded it is. It can get busy, which is why you can make a tray up and take it up to your room. The 1 Bedroom suites have fully equipped kitchens, with Toasters and Microwave ovens.

Again, I thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janet Johnson
General Manager
Heron's Landing Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Locally run hotel -- easy to find, easy check-in, stairs up to 2nd floor (no elevator), easy parking underground.
Rooms are 'basic', didn't have a/c, just an open and sort of noisy window. Internet was easy to use, desk was teensy, TV was 20th century.
But hey! -- okay for a basic overnight stay or maybe two.
Breakfast included -- you make your own eggs (!), and is basic and fairly close. Friendly attitude helps.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We always strive to make sure our guest's have a comfortable stay.

I am a little confused regarding a couple of things that were mentioned.

We do in fact have an elevator. Guest's are advised of this at check-in of this. If by chance, it was not mentioned, it is stated on our website, as well as a sign in the lobby on the exit door into the parkade, and again on the exit door of the parkade to the elevator.

All our Standard rooms have flat screens which are mounted on the wall. This past winter we replaced all the Suites with flat screens as well.

This past winter we introduced an Egg station at the Continental breakfast buffet. You are correct, you have to make them yourself as the breakfast room is not a restaurant.

I'm glad you found the staff friendly. This to me is very important.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janet Johnson
General Manager

Heron's Landing Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews