We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron's Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heron's Landing Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I'm not entirely sure why this place is referred to as 'boutique'. I don't think there is anything unique about it. It is like a generic motel.

The bed was quite uncomfortable and I ended up with a bad back. Breakfast was fine but there is not enough seating so we were encouraged to either come in shifts or take a plate back to our room.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandJtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your review. Your comments are important to us. We always strive to create a positive guest experience.

You mentioned you were not quite sure why we call Heron's Landing a boutique hotel. The usual definition for a boutique hotel is that it is unique in it's decor. Usually a smaller size hotel with a higher level of personal service.
Each of the rooms and suites have different antiques which were brought from Germany as well as some of the furniture pieces, making each room different from the next.

You also mentioned how uncomfortable the bed was. I felt very bad upon reading this. This summer was the first time we had a comment about the comfort of the beds, so we are replacing all the mattresses immediately.

You also commented on the seating in the breakfast room. Unfortunately there is a limited amount of seats in the breakfast room. The suites are outfitted with full kitchens, including toaster, dishes, untensils etc. We provide trays in the breakfast room that allow a guest to pick out what they like from the buffet and take it back to their suite.

I'm glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We try to make every guest feel welcome, and well taken care of.

Sincerely,

Janet Johnson
General Manager
Heron's Landing Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    78
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
96
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for one night prior to travelling to Kinght Inlet. This hotel was excellent in our opinion and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Our bedroom was large, very comfortable bed and had an adjoining sitting room and kitchen. All very clean and spacious. Receptionist extremely helpful and allowed us to use the telephone to book a return ferry to Horseshoe Bay following our time on Knight Inlet. A fair walk into Campbell River but well worth it. Visit Dick's floating Fish and Chip bar - fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsetgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at Heron's Landing for one night as part of a package before flying to Knight Inlet the following day. The Hotel is situated approximately 30 minutes walk from the centre of Campbell River, but only a short distance by car. Situated across a road from the river. We were pleased with the room we were allocated, not only was there a bedroom, bathroom, but also a comfortable lounge with kitchenette, and a balcony overlooking a neighbouring property but also with quite a good view of the river. The room was very clean. The Hotel provide a washing machine and tumble drier, costs 1 dollar to use each, useful for washing clothes during the holiday. Our bed was comfortable. We walked in to Campbell River and had fish and chips at Dick's fish and chips on the river front, very good. However there is also a pub which serves food near the hotel, and other guests commented the food there was good. There was a continental breakfast available the following morning, fruit juice, rolls, cheese etc..
Staff pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed prior to a trip to Knight Inlet, and I guess that it is part of the arrangement. The hotel overlooks Campbell River itself and the passageway through which the Alaska cruises pass, what a sight that is. The town itself whilst quite a walk away is pleasant and worth a stroll around. Watch out for the heritage boards all around, very interesting. The old pier was worth a stroll as well, as we saw seals. The evening meal is recommended at a neighbouring pub, but be warned - the portions are huge, and I mean huge. Great value and good food but too much of it. Back to the hotel. The suite was large, clean and very pleasant. However, it has to be said that t was the worst nights sleep that I had in Canada due to the awful bed. It was very noisy and had a serious dip in the middle. The breakfast was disappointing and there was not much left by the time I got there. It could be so much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simply9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your comments and feedback on Heron's Landing Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting the Campbell River area on your way to Knight Inlet Lodge and that you enjoyed your suite and found it clean and pleasant as this is what we strive for.

Since your stay we have replaced many of the mattresses in our rooms, had we known that your bed was uncomfortable in any way we would have gladly moved you to another suite. Once again, we appreciate your comments and it is the feedback like yours that helps us better our guests stay. In regards to our breakfast, I would like to inform you that as the general manager I have taken the neccessary steps to make sure that breakfast stays replenished and has everything to offer all guests at all times. We hope you stay with us in the future, as you would get to enjoy one of our new heavely beds.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

As we were two couples staying at Heron's Landing Hotel we opted for two connecting rooms which gave us a "suite" accommodation. One of the bedrooms was very small (and the bed in this room uncomfortable) the room overlooking the river in comparison with the rest of the suite which had a lounge area, dining area and kitchenette. The other connecting bedroom was more spacious. All this did not stop us from enjoying our stay at Heron's Landing as the staff were very helpful. The breakfasts were adequate. The hotel is situated out of town but as we had a car it was not a problem.
I did tell the hotel desk it would help if the accommodation we stayed in was re- configured to make the bedroom bigger.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92JENNY92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

As you mentioned you had two rooms that connected to create a larger suite. We have several types of rooms with different layouts available all which can be ajoined to create a room to fit larger families and groups or couples traveling together. We hope you will stay in the future, as I believe our two bedroom suite would have been more accomadating for both couples.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and have since rearranged some of the rooms for a more spacious layout.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

we stayed here before our trip to Knight Inlet Lodge as it is all included (compulsory) in the arrangement and we wonder why. It doesn't add extra value, it even reduces the arrangement (although the knight inlet lodge experience is fantastic!). Although the hotel is clean and the staff is friendly it is still an average hotel along the main road which i would not call a boutique hotel. As we had a room on the side our view was limited to the austrian hotel opposite ours. But the worst part was the bed, as it had a big niche that kept us struggling through the night.

We would opt for a more flexible arrangement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel.

I am glad you found the staff friendly, and the hotel clean.
We strive to create a positive experience for all our guests.

You mentioned the bed was very uncomfortable. We have replaced the mattresses in several rooms since your stay and had we known that their was a niche in your bed we would have happily moved you to another room for the most comfortable stay possible. Given the location of the hotel and our main road leading into Cambpell River our rooms have a variety of differnt ocean views and as per request we try to offer the best available.

Once again we appreciate your comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the future, as we strive to make every guests experience with us as comfortable and accomadating as possible.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend on a trip to see friends. Good central location if you are familiar with the town. Great ocean front view from the front of the hotel, somewhat of a view from our room as the balcony was on the side.

Balconies lack in privacy as there is not much in between the wooden fence like barriers separating the rooms. The king room felt quite crammed with furniture etc. Quiet rooms.

Hotel offers a decent continental style breakfast. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite/unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Property: Heron's Landing Hotel
Address: 492 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing