We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Bed ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron's Landing Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed prior to a trip to Knight Inlet, and I guess that it is part of the arrangement. The hotel overlooks Campbell River itself and the passageway through which the Alaska cruises pass, what a sight that is. The town itself whilst quite a walk away is pleasant and worth a stroll around. Watch out for the heritage boards all around, very interesting. The old pier was worth a stroll as well, as we saw seals. The evening meal is recommended at a neighbouring pub, but be warned - the portions are huge, and I mean huge. Great value and good food but too much of it. Back to the hotel. The suite was large, clean and very pleasant. However, it has to be said that t was the worst nights sleep that I had in Canada due to the awful bed. It was very noisy and had a serious dip in the middle. The breakfast was disappointing and there was not much left by the time I got there. It could be so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simply9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for your comments and feedback on Heron's Landing Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting the Campbell River area on your way to Knight Inlet Lodge and that you enjoyed your suite and found it clean and pleasant as this is what we strive for.

Since your stay we have replaced many of the mattresses in our rooms, had we known that your bed was uncomfortable in any way we would have gladly moved you to another suite. Once again, we appreciate your comments and it is the feedback like yours that helps us better our guests stay. In regards to our breakfast, I would like to inform you that as the general manager I have taken the neccessary steps to make sure that breakfast stays replenished and has everything to offer all guests at all times. We hope you stay with us in the future, as you would get to enjoy one of our new heavely beds.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

As we were two couples staying at Heron's Landing Hotel we opted for two connecting rooms which gave us a "suite" accommodation. One of the bedrooms was very small (and the bed in this room uncomfortable) the room overlooking the river in comparison with the rest of the suite which had a lounge area, dining area and kitchenette. The other connecting bedroom was more spacious. All this did not stop us from enjoying our stay at Heron's Landing as the staff were very helpful. The breakfasts were adequate. The hotel is situated out of town but as we had a car it was not a problem.
I did tell the hotel desk it would help if the accommodation we stayed in was re- configured to make the bedroom bigger.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92JENNY92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

As you mentioned you had two rooms that connected to create a larger suite. We have several types of rooms with different layouts available all which can be ajoined to create a room to fit larger families and groups or couples traveling together. We hope you will stay in the future, as I believe our two bedroom suite would have been more accomadating for both couples.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and have since rearranged some of the rooms for a more spacious layout.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

we stayed here before our trip to Knight Inlet Lodge as it is all included (compulsory) in the arrangement and we wonder why. It doesn't add extra value, it even reduces the arrangement (although the knight inlet lodge experience is fantastic!). Although the hotel is clean and the staff is friendly it is still an average hotel along the main road which i would not call a boutique hotel. As we had a room on the side our view was limited to the austrian hotel opposite ours. But the worst part was the bed, as it had a big niche that kept us struggling through the night.

We would opt for a more flexible arrangement.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel.

I am glad you found the staff friendly, and the hotel clean.
We strive to create a positive experience for all our guests.

You mentioned the bed was very uncomfortable. We have replaced the mattresses in several rooms since your stay and had we known that their was a niche in your bed we would have happily moved you to another room for the most comfortable stay possible. Given the location of the hotel and our main road leading into Cambpell River our rooms have a variety of differnt ocean views and as per request we try to offer the best available.

Once again we appreciate your comments and hope that you will stay with us again in the future, as we strive to make every guests experience with us as comfortable and accomadating as possible.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend on a trip to see friends. Good central location if you are familiar with the town. Great ocean front view from the front of the hotel, somewhat of a view from our room as the balcony was on the side.

Balconies lack in privacy as there is not much in between the wooden fence like barriers separating the rooms. The king room felt quite crammed with furniture etc. Quiet rooms.

Hotel offers a decent continental style breakfast. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite/unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyCation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We came as a group of 53 for the week of march 19-26. It was a pee wee hockey team in for the provincials(12 yr olds and family). The hotel was amazing. It truly was the best that the team has stayed in. The team had the rooms with the full kitchens which made the week stay better because we where able to cook in. The seperate bedrooms where nice to have so we parents could entertain or stay up later as the hard working players slept. There was an amazing ocean view.Some even got to see the whales in the morning as they passed. The staff was wonderful and helpful . Breakfast was nice to have .I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again .Thanks to Janet and the staff for making our time in campbell River wonderful and the best . The Team won the BC Hockey Pee Wee Tier 3 Provincials. Way to Go Wild !!!
Dawn Marchi - Elk Valley Wild Pee wee

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed here just to one night as part of our Knight Inlet package and we were allocated one of the front rooms overlooking the sea which was very spacious and quiet. The hotel is a typical motel style set-up with just a receptionist plus someone who prepares the buffet breakfast. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful giving good advice about restaurants in town including where they were located. Breakfast was fine with a choice of boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, bread, bagels, juice, coffee etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Picked this from their web site,liked the look of the hotel.There were a lot to choose from but set my mind on this one. Mostly very happy with stay.Stayed 3 nights ,went to Campbell River specifically to go Bear watching.We had 1 st floor suite,lounge/kitchen area and bedroom/small bathroom. Balcony did have an ocean view but you had to peer around to get a small glimse.Would have loved one of the front rooms ,as the weather was so fantastic,to have been able to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset I guess would have been lovely.Didn't sit on balcony as the side rooms on the left as you look at hotel, are very near a high bank,so was dark and not particularly inviting.Very clean ,I would not class this as Boutique,certainly compared to ones here.A little ordinary.Left a note for housekeeping asking for conditioner to be filled ,it never was and no explanation,not the end of the world,just a small point.Yes, it is quite a walk into town but is okay if you have a car.Good to have underground parking.Felt a little distant in the hotel, no real contact with staff. Breakfast was okay,you just go in sort yourself out ,that's fine but no one really around to fill bread up etc.I suppose in some ways it felt a bit more like a motel than a hotel.So I was a little disappointed after reading the web site.On this holiday stayed in six hotels and would put this 4th. Ideal for a few quiet nights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
558 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
215 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort
#10 of 16 in Campbell River
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Address: 492 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing