We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the highway”
Review of Oyster Bay Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oyster Bay Resorts
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view of the highway”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Acceptable overnight stop on the way to somewhere, but certainly not worth the money. Water is across the highway, and no beach or anything worthwhile within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverABG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Usually my fiancee and I spend out anniversary in Tofino, but this time decided to stick closer to home due to weather and time constraints. What a fantastic idea! I loved these little cabins, the layout of the entire resort and the friendly staff. The beds were very comfortable, the BBQ was great and the tub. WOW. It might be a little pricey when you look online at the pictures and description, but rest assured, it is one of the most RELAXING places we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfeyes1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed in one of their 1 bedroom chalets for 2 nights at $169 per night. While this may sound a bit high, it is worth every cent. The chalet is approx 15ft wide and 30 ft long. It contains a queen size bed in a separate room, a comfortable living room, a fully-equiped galley kitchen and a huge bathroom with a large 2 person hot tub in the rear. The unit doesn't have a phone. But the main benefit is the view. Off of the front deck ,which has it's own gas bbq, you have only a 2 lane highway that separates you from the Vancouver Strait and GORGEOUS view of the BC mountains in the background. Keep an eye out on Saturday and Sunday evenings as the cruise ships pass by with all of their lights on which is quite a sight. The resort is only a few miles from Campbell River for shopping. The only major drawback are the resorts roads and sidewalks, they are all gravel which makes it hard to pull your wheeled luggage to your unit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darian1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were looking forward to staying at the Oyster Bay Resorts for many reasons. Mainly the location, the fact that we had our own bar-b-q and of course the 2 person jacuzzi. We arrived about an hour early for check in and the desk staff was extremely friendly and allowed us to check in early. She had great ideas of things to check out in the area and truly was very kind. Since there was a bit of a heat wave going on in the area...+32-38 every day, we asked about A/C. She replied that they did not have A/C but that a fan was provided in each chalet. This was the biggest downfall to our stay here. While the chalet we stayed in was extremely clean, and big enough for the two of us to enjoy some time alone, the fact that it was so hot inside kept us out of the chalet most of the time. The fan that was provided was very small and did not help one bit. On our second night we ended up purchasing a bigger fan just to help get us through the night.
The jacuzzi definately helped. It was definately the best feature at Oyster Bay Resorts for us. Each night we would enjoy a relaxing COLD bath to help us get to sleep.
The shower was also a bust for us. It was extremely small, with the drain in the floor of the bathroom and a small curtain to go around you that never stayed locked. In order to wash my hair I had to turn the taps off, as there was just no room to move.
The kitchen, while large enough, could have used a few more dishes but was workable.
The internet connection was very poor and was hit and miss, but not a major issue if you are going on a romantic getaway.
The bar-b-q was excellent. We enjoyed cooking on it, looking out at the ocean in the evening as well as the morning.
The bed was very comfortable, and I am sure during the colder months the blankets and such would have worked just fine.
All in all, our stay here was ok. It would have been more enjoyable had there been A/C. We will definately stay here again, in the winter when we can use the fireplace to keep warm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qterpieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We were wondering what to expect, but were not disappointed.
Chalets are very comfortable and the heating (!) very efficient, since it was raining cats and dogs when we came to Campbell River (14 degrees C...).

Chalets are brand new, large, with a good equipment and a nice jacuzzi (see pictures).

All in all a nice surprise!

  • Liked — Very comfortable chalets
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The staff very very helpful and friendly, we especially liked the hot tub and gas BBQ. The best part were the views from the front of the cabins, a panoramic view across the strait to the snow capped BC coastal mountains.

The cabins themselves were spacious, well equipped and clean.

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MattHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Don’t believe the woman who runs the place… The web site is deceiving
… the place was hot in the summer; away from the good stuff the windows don’t open. You have to cross a highway to get to a smelly rocky beach. We were deceived and the woman charged us $50.00 after her husband told her that she should not. I called and asked specifically about the beach and road in front of the so called resort, she described something other than what was there. The place is a gravel pit where there should be grass. She also would not tell us where the Painters Lodge was or help us book a room there maybe she didn’t like the competition? This put a damper on our anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 00HappyTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
7.4 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
516 reviews
9.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
338 reviews
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
196 reviews
16.9 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
817 reviews
11.6 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Resorts

Property: Oyster Bay Resorts
Address: 4357 South Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9H 1N4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oyster Bay Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Bay Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing