We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Small group travel in tune with nature

We travelled as a group of eight and were joined by four others on our boat trip out of Campbell... read more

Reviewed yesterday
andrew a
,
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Highly recommended Grizzly Tour

We booked our tour well in advance as we really wanted to see Grizzly Bears while in Canada. We... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Jadaraben
,
Perth Hills, Australia
Read all 146 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Campbell River
from $400.03
More Info
from $118.73
More Info
from $113.07
More Info
from $120.15
More Info
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
136
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
136
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bute inlet captain lee grizzly bear grizzly tour humpback whales whale watching bush pilot safe hands amazing guy great trip salmon natural environment seemed genuinely provided extra small cubs boat ride interesting facts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the most wonderful tour yesterday to see grizzly bears along the Orford River in Bute Inlet as well as a bonus of getting very close to two humpback whales (within the prescribed distance, of course). Our guide and boat operator, Leigh, was most knowledgeable and helpful, willing to do whatever he could to make the tour as memorable as possible.
In Orford Bay, our two Homalco guides, Cheyanne and Jaymie, were terrific. Lots of stories, information, and even a language lesson. They are bright, energetic young women with a lot to share, and also willing to do whatever they could to make the tour as good as it could be.
Many thanks to all of you for a terrific day, where even the weather cooperated.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Duffydogca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We opted to go whale watching with a covered boat. A calculated decision made ahead of time based on variable weather conditions in the season. Unfortunately, this meant the boat was very cramped and there was insufficient exterior viewing area for all tour participants. This made it somewhat frustrating. So we would select the zodiac next time...rain or shine.
The guide, Tom, was competent and patient as we tracked some transient and humpback whales. (Ironically, the weather was great).

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KMF_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This trip uses an 8 passenger aluminum boat to get people out for whale watching. The boat was crowded with 7 passengers but the close quarters did allow for plenty of interaction with the boat captain, who was very knowledgeable about the area and the habits of the whales we sought. We saw both orcas and humpbacks, although orcas proved more elusive. The boat has a back deck from which people were able to view whales and take pictures.

I would have preferred an extra hour (and would have paid more) to have more time to spend looking for and observing the animals. That said, the humpbacks were visible from the dock, so didn't need much time to get to them.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank leelucas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mum and I just got back from a truly fantastic holiday in Canada and this, in part, was due to the tours we did with Adventure Quest in Campbell River.

We did the full day bear watching trip as well as whale watching trips the following day. Both were fantastic.

The bear watching was incredible, despite the salmon run being late this year, we still saw about 10 bears, all pretty close up as well. We saw some on their own as well as some mums and Cubs. The experience was just magical. The only slight negative is that you only really get about 3 hours with the bears. And our Homalco guide, as charming and lovely as he was, took us to a spot where he said that at low-tide, you can often see bears foraging - when we got there it was high tide and despite realising his mistake, we stayed at the location for 20 mins. This was quite disappointing because we already knew we were not going to see them at low tide. We should have moved in in my opinion. A waste of precious bear viewing time.

Saw lots of humpback whales the next day which was great, and our guide, Leigh,gave us lots of interesting I fo about them. He also took every effort to get us to view Orca, which we finally managed.

Leigh is SUPER lovely and helpful, he is very quick to respond and super patient (I asked about a million questions before actually arriving) and he was really helpful and knowledgable. And as I say, he did his best to show us what we really wanted to see, Orca. Tom, our boat driver to the bear viewing was also fantastic, friendly and knowledgeable.

Overall, we had a fantastic time on both tours.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took the Grizzly Bear tour and on both the way out and particularly the way back we got sightings of humpback whales. A group of three on the way back was exciting to see. Tom the captain taking quite a bit of trouble to provide this experience. The Grizzly experience was not quite as good, although we saw quite a few bears/cubs the sightings were brief (probably a bit early in the Season?) and the constant moving on to accommodate other tour groups made it fell pretty commercial. Our Homalco guide was very inexperienced and nervous, not adding to the experience I’m afraid. I appreciate everyone has to start sometime but really should have been better briefed/trained.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews