We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and even better location on the ocean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anglers Dining

Anglers Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ANGLERS, WEST COAST DINING WITH A PACIFIC RIM FLAIR Anglers Dining, open year round, offers a casual, yet intimate West Coast culinary experience like no other. With it’s stunning oceanfront location, rustic wood charm and historic fishing decor, Anglers has become a favourite spot by many for breakfast, dinner and simply the perfect place to unwind. Menus feature gluten free, vegetarian options and daily specials made with a variety of fresh, seasonal and sustainable items; smoked and made in house with whole natural ingredients. Attention is given on reducing the carbon footprint of ingredients, supporting and sourcing locally. Our ever changing list of local suppliers, BC wines, beer and cocktails will inspire your taste buds. Pair your menu with Anglers extensive wine list or a unique cocktail while taking in the views of Discovery Passage and the Coastal Mountain Range. In the summer months, breathe in fresh ocean air while gazing at the beautiful sunsets on the outdoor patio or cozy up by the wood burning fireplace during Campbell River's winter months. Your artisan inspired culinary experience awaits you at Anglers, where every seat has a unique view and service, quality and old fashioned charm is our specialty. HOURS: Breakfast: 8am to 11am (weekdays), till Noon (weekends) Dinner: Open daily, 5pm to close RESERVATIONS: Breakfast: Not available at this time. Dinner: Always recommended. however not required.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and even better location on the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were suggested to have dinner at Anglers by our landlady. She made the reservation and she said that mainly locals go there, and that the place is very secluted. The food was excellent, the service friendly and prompt, and the location simply outstanding. A place..not to be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuisaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    47
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Awesome food. Truly amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is our favourite place to go in Campbell River. It is fresh, always hot, always well prepared and so so good. Excellent service, reasonable prices, and have never had anything but incredible food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Consistently great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants on Vancouver Island. This is not a sophisticated big city restaurant (the chef came out to greet the guests in a stained smock) but the quality of the food and the intriguing spices and sauces used are as good as that served in the finest restaurants in LA. Make sure you order appies because the entrees are carefully prepared and that takes time. Servers were very attentive but not very knowledgeable about the wine list.
The location is stunning, right on the ocean, and the passing cruise ships drew oohs and ahs from all the guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AliceDD048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, AB
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed by their attitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked reservations for our 25th wedding anniversary (which we told them it was) and asked if they had champagne, which they indicated that they did. The only "bubbly" wine selection on the menu could not be classified with the likes of a good champagne. They did acknowledge our annivesary and proceeded to seat us in the worst table in the house, right next to the kitchen traffic. We had to ask if we could have our desert outside on the patio, which had fantastic views and it was a beautiful evening. The saving grace was that the food was excellent. The combination of flavours worked well and obviously the chef takes great care in preparing his dishes. They did run out of the special (we arrived at 7pm so it wasn't overly late) so we couldn't give that a try. The restaurant is situated on a resort overlooking the ocean with fantastic scenery and the trip advisor reviews of the food were excellent, which is why, after checking out several other restaurants in the area, we selected it for our special anniversary dinner. We were very disappointed that our celebration of 25 years of marriage did not rate very high in the eyes of our servers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shell154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmenamberson, Manager at Anglers Dining, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback. We always do quite a bit of wine knowledge training with our Dining Room staff, and now have begun to include front desk agents in this training.

Please send me an email so that we are able to make arrangements for you to come back with a guest for a 3 course dinner for 2.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Carmen Amberson

carmen@dolphinsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great little restaurant at Dolphins resort in Campbell River, Victoria Island. The food was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly. They will even prepare the salmon you caught earlier in the day if you wish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Q_65203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglers Dining also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Anglers Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing