We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day, shame the bears didn't play ...”

Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YOUR ADVENTURE IS OUR PASSION! Join us on an educational wilderness adventure. View the iconic Killer Whale and the giant Humpback on our Whale Watching Safaris or see come along on an awe-inspiring Grizzly Bear Excursion! Discover in Comfort with Campbell River’s premier tour operator! Our onboard Marine Naturalists deliver an unparalleled experience that showcases our connection to wildlife and the world in which we all depend. WIR SPRECHEN DEUTSCH!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Devon UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great day, shame the bears didn't play ...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you want guaranteed sightings of bears you go to a zoo, so we had no illusions that we would definitely see bears here at the start of the salmon season (4th Sept). In the end we saw a male at a distance from a tower, another male (twice) from a bridge at the side of the road and a mother with two cubs cross the road in front of us. All memorable sightings.

'Captain' John was obviously disappointed for everyone and went out of his way to try to see if the bears were around other platforms to the main one. Alas, the presence of the two males in the area was causing the females to stay away with their cubs.

Discovery Marine still put on a great trip and I would certainly recommend using them for bear watching.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    20
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING day!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday we took the Grizzly Bear tour with Captain Roger & Alison. I wasn't sure what to expect, as the guides can't guarantee anything, but the day couldn't have gone more perfectly. We were greeted at the Homalco First Nation by Calvin who explained that we would be driven to bear watching towers on his ancestors land.

At the first tower our guide spotted one bear feeding about 300meters away, which was a little too far without binoculars (which were provided). Very soon afterwards another guide radioed to say that there was a bear and her cubs within sight of another tower.

So, we got back in the bus and drove to the second tower, where we spent most of our time. Just as we arrived, the Mama and her cubs walked out into a clearing. The bears we're then about 100m away. We were mesmerized! We watched the bears fish, feed, poop, sleep and breast feed. They didn't seem bothered by us, but we we're told to stay quiet and not move from the group in the tower.

Over the next 2hours we saw a total of 11 bears, including 2 within 20 feet of us.

And then if all of that wasn't wonderful enough, we were joined by a pod of dolphins who swam and dove in our boats wake, on the way back to Campbell River.

I couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“ORCAS, dolphins, and Sea lions, oh my!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had THE best trip! Our Captain John, and Naturalist, Alison made the trip fun and exciting. We were the last to join the group of 30, and we can't thank them enough for the awesome trip. We saw Orcas within a half an hour of leaving the dock. We encountered 3 transient pods, with babies! The views were stellar! Alison was enthusiastic and shared her knowledge of the Porpoises with us, even helping us to identify the animals to individual from a research catalog showing identifying marks per each individual. We saw Pacific White-sided dolphins, Stellar Sea Lions, Harbor Seals and Bald Eagles, Marbled and Ancient Murrelets and lots of Pacific Loons in breeding plumage. This was a great trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawwhetowls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Grizzly Bear Tour”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have taken three Discovery Marine Safaris and they were all terrific! Today we did the amazing grizzly bear tour! Geoff and his crew did everything possible to make this a memorable experience and it was! We saw humpback whales, stellar sea lions, dolphins, seals, elk and the magnificent grizzly bears! It was an unforgettable experience to see all this wild life in their natural habitats. If you are visiting Campbell River or are a local islander, taking a Discovery Marine Safari is a must! Complimentary lunch and light beverages were served.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We did the grizzly bear trip and the whale watching trip.

Just the boat trip up to view the bears was spectacluar but to see grizzly bears in their natural habitat was great.

The whales watching trip was great but the 5 orcas we saw were out performed by the pod of 100 dolphins performing all aroung us!!

The guides really know their stuff and the boats are comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd. also viewed

 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing