We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return in 2013!”
Review of Steep Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steep Island Lodge
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our second annual trip to Steep Island to show our company's appreciation to valued clients. Great lodge, great weather, great fishing, great food, great hosts. Chantal and her team really know how to look after their guests. Our U.S. guests could not get enough of the eagle show!

Highly recommended for corporate outings. If you have the $$$ in your budget, it is well worth it to stay at Steep Island!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The incredible views from the helipad are only one of the many gifts that this island has to offer. Fishing guides met us at the dock each morning to take us either north or south as its centrally located on the Campbell River. Upon return we would be greated with snacks, cocktails and fabulous dinners. Our accomodations had everything and were very comfortable! Choose this destination for an unforgettable getaway outdoor fishing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For those looking to relax from a fast paced, stressful lifestyle or simply take the family for some fun on the water, this place is perfect in every way! Beautiful bald eagles perch in the tall evergreens surrounding the lodge while seals play in the water below. Kayaking, salmon fishing and an Eco tour of the island are among the activites offered, as well as, tossing a ball (or pine cone) to a few furry friends. Delicious meals and desserts, along with homemade cookies and fabulous appetizers, are served each day in the dining room. Chantal and crew also can pack an awesome lunch for those trips on the water! Every need is taken care of...the Steep Island Lodge staff are beyond THE BEST!

The memories from Steep Island Lodge will last a lifetime, but chances are a return visit will be in any future plans! We can hardly wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms...the views are incredible! There is not a swimming pool, but they do have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan_K0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

What a spectacular place with a special charm and personality all attributable to Chantal and her staff. Everyone made our guys fishing trip totally comfortable, carefree and casual. The food was outstanding, the guides were terrific and the accommodations perfect. I have and will continue to recommend Steep Island Lodge to anyone looking for the perfect visit to this scenic part of the world for fishing or just sightseeing and relaxation.

Room Tip: Perfect size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherman08142011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Steep island is simply the best. This was my second year fishing there and I don't think I could ever go anyplace else. There is nothing more that I could ask for from a lodge. The staff at Steep Island makes you feel like you are visiting an old friend. They only use the BEST guides in all of Campbell river. The island is quiet and peaceful. Lots of eagles and
deer. Incredible views from the cabins. Landed a 33lb salmon, best fishing trip ever.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I was for 4 nights and 3 days at Steep Island Lodge . It is a beautiful place , with nice and friendly staff , that are always happy in helping you . The food was good , accomodations were much above the standards of fishing places ( I have been doing the same in Alaska before , and this place is much better ) .
We were in a group of 8 people ( friends ) : 5 brazilians and 4 americans . We had a great time , and besides that , we brought back home 25 kg of Salmon each !
I trully recomend this place .

Room Tip: Clean , new , clear and warm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great setting, Ten minute boat ride outside Campbell River but the feeling of a remote Island. Rooms, lodge, grounds and meals were over the top! Why would you stay at a hotel? Staff gives great service and meals like your dining in Vancouver or Seattle. Good for business gatherings or family vacation. You've got to try this place and include some guided fishing from Steve at Tall Tale Charters.
Dale

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleHenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
7.5 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
336 reviews
14 mi away
Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort
#10 of 16 in Campbell River
52 reviews
4.8 mi away
Above Tide Motel
Above Tide Motel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steep Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steep Island Lodge

Address: #1 Steep Island | PO Box 699, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 6J3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Campbell River
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Steep Island Lodge all-inclusive private island lodge, where guests experience the natural beauty, world famous salmon fishing, wildlife and scenery of the west coast. The heart of Discovery Passage, a perfect starting point for a day's sports fishing adventure, fly-fishing the streams on Vancouver Island, eco-touring, golfing, kayaking, and diving. Friendly personable, outstanding accommodations with stunning views. Accommodates 22 guests. Ideal for Family/Corporate Group. Reserve island exclusively with group of 12 or more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing