We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great waterfront location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great waterfront location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We recently stayed at the Anchor Inn and had a fabulous stay! It is about a 10 minute drive to downtown where there are plenty of shops. They have a variety of Theme Rooms that are magnificent! Please check out their website for more info.

The Staff are friendly and very helpful.

If you are looking for a nice waterfront location, this would be an ideal choice.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    57
    25
    22
See reviews for
42
72
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

This place has definitely seen better days. And a word of advice-do not eat at the hotel's sushi bar unless you enjoy 2 days of food poisoning. No joke.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BCTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2006

We stayed one night in mid October. The fellow that checked us in was efficient, but not particularly helpful to relocate us when we pointed out two problems (a noisy kitchen exhaust fan directly below our open window, and mold in the tub grout). The room showed signs of some recent refreshment work, the view was nice, and the bed was comfortable. The room was reasonably clean except for the black mold under the white silicon grout around the tub. The only consolation we got from the clerk was that it may be time to regrout the tub (whatever happened to housekeeping using bleach?). We slept well, after the exhaust fan was turned off after 10 pm. The next morning, we found our way down to the hotel restaurant for the complementary continental breakfast. The server/hostess greated us with less than enthusiastic or helpful information. When she figured out why we were there, she pointed us to the setup, which frankly we found to be very disapointing. There was coffee, 4 kinds of dry cerial, white and brown bread, and some primative pastries. There was only one kind of milk (very whole), and no juices. Boy scouts could have made a nicer looking presentation. Not until after we made a selection did it become known to us that ordering off of a menue was possible. This was picked up from overhearing a conversation across the room. The server failed to offer this service to us upon our arrival. All in all, of eights nights motor touring the east coast of Vancouver Island, this hotel experience was the least impressive of our eight nights at various hotels. Next time we're up that way, we'll do a more thorough research of the area for better accommodations.

  • Disliked — Poor cleanliness of the bathtub; there was black mold under the white silicon grout.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect the best.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Expectveryclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

We only stayed one night here but found the receptionist to be very helpful and polite and our room was fine - quite spacious, clean with all the facilities we needed like tea and coffee etc.

The view of the sea was lovely - although we needed to keep our eyes forward, as the view of the large flat roof below us was not very pleasing! Unfortunately the weather was atrocious when we were there, so we couldn't go out and explore much and the view was also impared by the mist and the rain.

There was no lift so we had to lug our suitcases up 2 flights of stairs, which was a little awkward.

The computer with free internet access in the lobby was very useful as we don't carry a laptop with us, so we surfed the net for a while before dinner.

The pool and hot tub were clean and there was no-one else in there except us, so that was quite fun, although the pool is small.

The restaurant served nice food and we enjoyed our meal there. It is a bit of a pain to find as it is on the bottom floor, which meant e had to climb lots of stairs to get back to our room (yes we are lazy - we WERE on holiday!!)

We also had a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, which was a nice touch, as nowhere else we stayed during our holiday offered us that.

It was a pleasant stay, but nothing exceptional leapt out at us, either bad or good. I would probably stay there again.

  • Liked — Pool and hot tub
  • Disliked — No lift to our room
  • Tips/Secrets — If you don't like stairs or can't use them easily, this hotel is not for you
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Smazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campell River B.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

I stayed at the Anchor Inn a few years ago and at the time it was in need of repair.
I am very happy that I went back in May 2006. I understand the hotel has new owners and they have extensively renovated the hotel.

I really enjoyed the ocean view from my room, it was incredible. On the first day a bald eagle flew past my window with a big salmon in its claws, 5 minutes later a pod of kiler whales went by and shortly after that a huge cruiseship went past.

I found the staff very friendly and the food was great too....All in all a very nice hotel without the stuffy attitude I have found with some of the "resort locations"
I would stay at the Anchor Inn anytime.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2006

The Anchor Inn was recommended by the committee who organized the Canadian National Masters Badminton Tournament. We were pleasantly surprised with its view, its privacy, its quietness and its friendly staff from desk to restaurant to maid service. Once in our room we felt we were alone with just the water traffic in Discovery Passage which was fascinating. It was like having a cottage on the water except wonderful meals were only a few floors away as was the beautiful clean pool and hot tub. The only drawback was the lack of an elevator. Be aware that the lobby is on the fifth floor at street level, the pool on the fourth and the restaurant on the third. In spite of my dislike of walking on stairs, I was glad we stayed here. If you prefer shopping and busy nightlife, this is not the place for you, unless you have a car and then you are a very short drive away from the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewayweseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2005

We stayed at the Ramada Hotel and Suites in Campbell River in September 2004. After spending lots of time looking for a good quality hotel we decided to stay here in one of the "theme" suites. Being somewhat worried about this being rather tacky we were pleasently surprised to find the "arabian nights" room to be fantastically done with lovely king size four poster bed and great furnishings and murals on the wall. The room was a good size with a fantastic view over the straights where you could watch the huge cruise ships glide by. An added bonus was the large jacuzzi bath in the corner! The hotel is a bit surreal with long gloomy corridors somewhat reminisent of "The Shining" but don't let this put you off as it was kind of fun and added some "mood" to the hotel. Location wise the hotel was just outside the centre of town but a 5 minute drive to everything. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful, giving recommendations to restaurants and trips. The hotel had a small pool and spa which was nice. The restaurant at the hotel served consistenly excellent food and the seafood was amazing. We looked at a couple of other hotels in the area and this certainly looked the best in town.

Helpful?
5 Thank navis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#6 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Suites

Property: Anchor Inn & Suites
Address: 261 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2B3, Canada (Formerly Ramada Campbell River)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
77 Ocean View rooms, Hot Tub and indoor pool. Theme suites and 1 bedrom suites. Ocean front restaurant.Meeting and convention for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Anchor Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn And Suites
Anchor Hotel Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing