We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great spot!!”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Painter's Lodge for 2 nights on our honeymoon at the end of May. It's in a great location right on the river, a free shuttle boat is available to take you over to their sister resort April Point which is definitely worth a visit, great scenery! We thought the food was excellent esp the breakfast which is good value. It's great to sit my the river and watch all of the wildlife, there is a lot to see including the resident seals waiting for the fishing boats to come in. Our room was really spacious and clean, is great to have the living area with sofas to chill at the end of the day. The guest services gave us some great advise on where to go on our short visit, definitely check out Elk Falls which is a great walk. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Katefk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Congratulations to the two of you! We’re so happy we could host you on your honeymoon, and it’s great to hear that the service, food, and accommodation were to your liking. It’s always nice when our guests have the opportunity to see some wildlife and take in some of the local sights like Elk Falls as well. We hope you will come back next year to relive your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went for my BD, and did the 145 dollar special. It included your one night stay and a 3 course dinner. Wow!! It was awesome, our room was huge and the view lovely. The dinner was fantastic and so good. We took the boat over to April point did a hike and popped in for a drink on the patio deck. While we were enjoying the view whales came by so cool! It was a great get away and I recommend it to anyone. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandangel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

It sounds like you really got the most out of your visit! I’m thrilled you enjoyed your room, dinner and drinks, and the views at both resorts. Of course it doesn’t hurt that the whales decided to put a little show on for you as well. Thank you for celebrating your Birthday with us! We hope to have you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I've just returned from a weekend called "Painters at Painters" that is a gathering of West Coast artists and art enthusiasts in the gardens and conference rooms of Painter's Lodge. The setting couldn't be more perfect. Everywhere you look there was a painting - misty islands at dawn, sun drenched gardens, romantic sunsets over the water, close up views of Eagles, harbour porpoises, and lush vegetation. My husband and I stayed two nights and had a large double room at the main lodge on the island April Point. A 5 minute ferry carried us to the dock at Painters where we had enormous buffet style breakfasts with everything from Oysters Casino, Eggs Benny, omelettes made or order, cascades of fruit, roast beef if that is your fancy at breakfast and hot and cold seafood dishes, salmon, halibut, crab and a table laden with every kind of sweet treat imaginable. The staff were caring and friendly, the rooms clean and decorated with a rainforest theme with fine quality duvets, curtains etc. no detail was spared. We hope to go back next year - a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Wow—thank you for your amazing review. We too find our property rather beautiful and inspiring, like a Toni Onley piece. It sounds like you had lovely stay at April Point, and enjoyed the event. We hope to see you at Painter’s at Painters again next year, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

While historically many famous people (Bob Hope, President Johnson, Jessica Lange, Susan Hayward, etc.) have stayed at Painter's Lodge to fish the Tyee salmon as reflected in photos on the main lodge walls, this place makes a romantic getaway as well. My husband had business meetings in Vancouver for a few days, and we decided to take the BC Ferry over to Vancouver Island and drive up the scenic coast to Campbell River. This lodge was recommended to us. It had only been open a week after closing for the winter, but was fully staffed and ready for a busy season. It is located along the ocean such that seals can be seen poking their heads out of the water near the shore and bald eagles are flying overhead. We stayed in the main lodge upstairs to the right of the stairway and had a beautiful view. Our room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly and the wait staff in the restaurants were on top of everything. Dinner in the main dining room was the best we had while in Vancouver/Vancouver Island. We were told a pod of orcas had come through a few days earlier, and had hoped to see some, but weren't so fortunate during our one nights' stay. We would stay here again for a much longer period of time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback. We’re thrilled that you had an exceptional experience here. We hope to have you again soon- maybe next time you’ll see those Orcas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great food in the restaurants, watched seaplanes take off and land. Magical place to stay. Booked a salmon fishing expedition thru the front desk. Staff friendly, room clean except for some mold in the closet area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and they arranged 2 guided fishing trips. They suggested one of their 2 level lodge style rooms for our group of 3 guys to keep the cost down. The 2 beds downstairs are in the same room, but compared to the quarters we're in when we're tailgating (4 guys crashing in a 30ft RV) there was a ton of room.
The lodge is wonderful. Incredible views, great service, and the food was great for a fishing lodge. Not world class food, but good for the setting.
The town isn't anything special. We golfed and hung out a few extra days and found the Comox Valley to be a much better choice. Downtown Comox had great pubs and the golf courses were decent.
Back to Painter's.....The package price was the most amazing thing. When I told the other guys what the total was for lodging and fishing, they thought I meant "each" instead of the total. Everyone was floored by how inexpensive it was for a great guided fishing experience and a really nice lodge. I'm definitely going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BriSanVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights primarily to take a Grizzly Bear tour from Campbell River. We booked an Ocean front room and stayed in Room 124 one of the signature rooms, Alan Wylie(Redonda building).

The room had two queen beds, TV, fridge, coffee making and room fan no A/C so could be hot in summer. Bathroom was a very strange arrangement only containing bath with shower over it and a WC. The wash basin was outside the bathroom in the bedroom and separated from the sleeping area by a small wall. The room was clean but the carpet was very stained with what looked like oil! View from the balcony was fantastic and definitely worth paying the extra for the ocean view if you have time to sit out and enjoy it.

As the lodge is beyond walking distance to Campbell River we ate in the Fireside Lounge both evenings. We had been going out to eat for the past 2 weeks as we had been staying in B&B’s so it was a nice change not having to find a restaurant or bar for food. We ordered from the bar menu and found the food to be of a good standard at a reasonable price. The second evening we were rather rushed to pay the bill so that the waitress could leave rather than the tab being passed over to another waitress. Besides that the service we received was very good.

The Wi-Fi reception was terrible even in the main building.

We would defiantly stay at Painters Lodge again and if we did would allow more time to enjoy the facilities.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room if you are going to have the time to sit on the balcony and enjoy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank w-spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you visit you’ll have more time to enjoy all the activities and services we have to offer. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
336 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
575 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
77.8 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
78.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $98 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing