We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Painters Lodge.”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights primarily to take a Grizzly Bear tour from Campbell River. We booked an Ocean front room and stayed in Room 124 one of the signature rooms, Alan Wylie(Redonda building).

The room had two queen beds, TV, fridge, coffee making and room fan no A/C so could be hot in summer. Bathroom was a very strange arrangement only containing bath with shower over it and a WC. The wash basin was outside the bathroom in the bedroom and separated from the sleeping area by a small wall. The room was clean but the carpet was very stained with what looked like oil! View from the balcony was fantastic and definitely worth paying the extra for the ocean view if you have time to sit out and enjoy it.

As the lodge is beyond walking distance to Campbell River we ate in the Fireside Lounge both evenings. We had been going out to eat for the past 2 weeks as we had been staying in B&B’s so it was a nice change not having to find a restaurant or bar for food. We ordered from the bar menu and found the food to be of a good standard at a reasonable price. The second evening we were rather rushed to pay the bill so that the waitress could leave rather than the tab being passed over to another waitress. Besides that the service we received was very good.

The Wi-Fi reception was terrible even in the main building.

We would defiantly stay at Painters Lodge again and if we did would allow more time to enjoy the facilities.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room if you are going to have the time to sit on the balcony and enjoy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank w-spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you visit you’ll have more time to enjoy all the activities and services we have to offer. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at your establishment in August, sent an email and never received a reply. Since we have traveled there twice since then and stayed elsewhere I wanted to ensure you noted our feedback on our stay. I travel a fair bit and have stayed in many hotels.
Upon our arrival the host was great. The resort itself was very nice, the view was amazing, food was great as were all the staff.When we entered our room it was unbearably hot with only a double bed and a shared balcony with another room. Having never stayed in your resort prior, and with the very late arrival time we decided to stay. Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable caused a pinched nerve in my back and neck, and the room was like an oven it was impossible to sleep, it was hot and had to have the door shut and window as we did not feel safe to have open with access to our room from the shared balcony. I must question why when I made a reservation for my wife and I, we were not inform us would be sharing a balcony with strangers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig4377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I’m so sorry your stay was not up to your standards, or mine. Thank you so much for your feedback. I assure you your concerns have been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Painter's Lodge on the Campbell river in British Columbia is a fisherman's dream. I stayed with my father and brother for 3 days, and enjoyed every minute. This resort is A+ all the way. The rooms were very nice. Dinning was superb. Great meals, with a service staff that performed simply outstanding. We went for the salmon fishing. Wow, that was fun. We caught quite a fue salmon. The 20 foot boston wailers were perfect for the job, and the guides really knew their stuff. If you get a chance to visit this fine destination, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: River side rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I’m so glad you enjoyed your fishing trip! Campbell River isn’t called the salmon capital of the world for nothing, and our guides know these waters better than anyone else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent one night here in late September and loved it. Front desk staff and bar staff were friendly and helpful. We ordered from the restaurant but ate in the bar area next to the window and watched the night come in over the water. The food was good, and the view was wonderful. We had much the same view of trees, sky, and water from our room as well. This is a lodge, so the rooms are rustic but very comfortable. We also had a good breakfast (again with that lovely view) the next morning. We would definitely stay here again--hopefully longer next time. It would be a great place to relax, even if you don't enjoy fishing!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you so much for staying at Painter’s Lodge! Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer. And yes, we have lots of activities other than fishing, including wildlife tours, and kayak and scooter rentals at our sister resort April Point. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here this summer for a wedding nearby. The service on arrival was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The room was huge and was well appointed. Breakfast was excellent and good value (not included in our price) and the bar serves good snacks too.

The site has a nice lodge atmosphere with separate blocks. We'd love to have got an ocean view and we recommend asking about this in advance.

The views are excellent and there was a free water taxi to another resort across the water. You can fins another lodge there with a great deck - seals came to see us while having a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulk431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Painter’s Lodge. We have lots of ocean view rooms available, just make sure you mention you’d like one next time you book. I’m looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a waterfront room - very pleased we chose this option. The views over the water were amazing, with a constantly changing stream of boats from small private craft to tugs with loaded barges and huge passenger liners passing by. We also saw orca and a pod of dolphins right from our balcony. The furnishings were maybe a little 'tired' but the room was always clean, and was very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was excellent, but service could be a little slow at busy times. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would return.

Room Tip: choose a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callybobstaf4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. Seeing orcas and dolphins up close is a once in a lifetime experience, and I’m so happy we could make that happen for you. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The position of this hotel on the waterfront and the general atmosphere of the hotel makes this a great place to stay.Amanda and (?) Shay on reception were magnificent.There's free parking and the food is of the best.The rooms are different but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alveleydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. I’m really happy you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to seeing again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
12.6 mi away
Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort
#10 of 16 in Campbell River
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing