We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabin at resort delivers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cabin at resort delivers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were delightfully surprised by the comforts of a 2 bedroom cabin at Painter's Lodge. Tucked into the forest on a well lit gravel path and yet only minutes from the pool and lobby and dock, this was a wonderful experience. We felt like we had gone to a very special little getaway that was all ours - even if only for 3 nights. The cabin had two bedrooms and bathrooms with a small but adequate kitchenette with a microwave (which was great) ! There were adequate dishes, utensils and cleaning supplies. One bedroom had two very comfortable Queen beds which my husband commented were "supreme" and the pillows were very nice and comfy too! It was nice to have windows that opened and while sitting on the window seat in the bedroom I had a good viewing spot of a deer nibbling on blackberries right in front of the cabin. How neat is that ! There was a bathroom near this bedroom with a generous shower. The other bedroom had a double bed and french doors to a private deck which had a nice table and chairs waiting. This bedroom had an en-suite bathroom which looked modern and new. Both bathrooms provided plush white towels and baskets of toiletries. The furnishings with a lovely wood kitchen table and desk and large sofa and other chairs was comfortable.
There were lots of windows and the curtains were very nice matching material throughout the cabin and kept the light out in the early morning (we are not fishermen) !
The housekeeping staff were friendly and also removed kitchen garbage daily. We felt very private in this cabin and this allowed our 6 yr old to make noise and jump around without disturbing others. We were close to the children's activity center which provides Wii and a DVD and books and games. The 2 minute walk to the pool was great. Despite some rain the pool temperature was warm enough to enjoy for an hour or more.
We enjoyed watching the fish being cleaned on the dock and took the free 10 minute boat ride to April Point. The grounds at Painter's Lodge are very pretty and there is a large well equipped BBQ area with tables and benches beside the pool. This was our third stay at Painter's and our first time in a cabin which will be our choice for our next visit. I highly recommend this experience for a young family.

Room Tip: I would recommend a Cabin for families. The little cabin in the woods experience can't be match...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessalyn_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I’m so glad you came to visit us again. Our cabins are a great choice for those looking for a little more privacy and space, and I’m happy you enjoyed it. I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    309
    145
    71
    36
See reviews for
271
443
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took my wife here expecting a little more upper resort style and found out dated over used large rooms for perhaps four truly "fishermen" types who would probably be delighted to be roughing it in less than 3 star style. Perhaps I may return for a fishing but not my wife! Hotel was over sold and over rated! Painters Lodge is one step up from a fish camp, it's got a pool you know! April Point is truly a fish camp and over sold as a spa resort!

And by the way, their favorite saying at the camp is 'It's the last one" meaning room, fishing or even dinner reservations.

Room Tip: Don't take your wife for a romantic weekend, a resort it is not. Unless of course she is a true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I’m sorry you were disappointed with our accommodations. I assure you our resort isn’t “just about fishing.” We offer a wide range of activities that are fun for everyone. We are constantly working to improve our amenities and I hope you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

(August 24th to August 26th) First of all, our fishing experience was so different then the previous review.

We went as a group of 4 for our 30th and 27th wedding anniversary's. They originally told us the boats only take max of 3 passengers but in my persistent calls I finally spoke with Sheri Smith at the main reservation office in Victoria, and she arranged a private guide from Painters Lodge who could take the four of us. A small upcharge, but the point was we wanted to go together. We limited out bringing in 16 pink salmon! It was a blast. Everyone around us was catching fish, we were in the area called Separation Head. We wanted the fun fishing experience, and all of our fish will be smoked.

Secondly, the place was beautiful. Grounds groomed and clean. Restaurant was very good and the fresh fish served was delicious.

There was a loud crazy wedding that first Saturday night and upon check out we were told that the wedding party paid for our friends room Saturday night as they were disrupted continually all night with noise ( they were directly underneath the party) How nice! Unexpected.

We also surprised our husbands with a special gluten free dessert which was perfect, I had ordered it ahead of time.

All staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more accommodating from the front desk to all the wait staff, to the staff at the Marine Center. Pleasant, knowledgeable, helpful.

Room Tip: We were in the back in the Cortes wing. It was a garden view, I bet the front wings with water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I’m so glad we were able to make this a great anniversary for you guys. Sounds like you had quite the fishing trip too, that’s awesome! I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had always wanted to try Painter's Lodge, so when a friend from Alberta suggested a fishing week, I booked us a room and two half days of fishing. I think the last time I was in Campbell River was about 20 years ago and at that time I had enjoyed lunch at the lodge in the pub. This time we took a room with a direct view of the dock. The buildings are getting a little weathered with age (I noticed the roofs are being replaced a bit each year), but the room was clean, with high ceilings with nice beams, airy with a quiet fan (important since the sun can overheat the rooms during the day and there is no air conditioning), comfortable beds, and a small but comfortable deck for a drink at sunset. We actually never turned on the TV the entire 2 days we were there; it seemed almost sacrilegious. The pool is small but I enjoyed it in the hot afternoons. We ate the first night in the restaurant, seated on the deck, and it was very enjoyable; my friend had halibut and I had the prime rib with a local dark nutty beer. The next night we took the free ferry to April Point for sushi which I regret was a mistake. After starting that meal with oysters with a choice of sauces, we order a selection of special sushi rolls and tuna sashimi. The rolls were small, tasteless and tuna slices thin and with a stringy quality. To compensate we decided to have dessert and I will say the flourless chocolate cake was delicious. April Point may be worth staying at for the better views than Painter's , the garden and the spa.

Now the fishing...let me assure you I am fairly experienced at fishing unsuccessfully and have limited expectations of a guide, just that he do all he can to find and get a fish on my line. The first day we booked an afternoon which was probably not the best time of day; I later learned you should book the morning or evening. Our guide was a young fellow who had only been guiding a couple of years, and early impressions were not good. The gear was older and the hooks dull (I am of the opinion sharp hooks improve your chances, and so I checked while he was setting up). That said, my impressions improved as we fished. He tried everything he could to get us a fish; different depths, different speeds, different locations, long current lines and cross-current, and different gear, including an old and he claimed a favourite plug on which I got a 12 lb Chinook, but which he broke the plug while stunning the fish. We came back with the Chinook and a Coho, having thrown back several small or wild Coho. When we tipped him, he almost seemed surprised. The next morning we set out very hopeful. Our guide was older, more experienced, talked a good talk, and did next to nothing to get us into fish. He trolled the same route over and over, the same depths, speeds (he told us you wouldn't get fish except at one speed), and gear (I suspect he didn't have anything other than green hoochies). For 3 hours, we watch the rod tips and were bored, and came back empty handed. When we got back to the dock, the guide followed us about, clearly looking for a tip and was visibly annoyed when he didn't get one.

A few suggestions for those planning a fishing trip to Campbell River...first, if there are 3-4 of you on a trip, forget using guides from the lodge, book an independent guide which will cost you $1000 a day but is better value and you are more likely to get fish. If you must use the lodge, then go to the dock on arrival and watch the boats come in, watch which guides are more successful and then request that guide for your guiding trip. Would I go again? Sure...but I'd stay at April Point, and I would book the guide I noticed had one of the better success rates.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good, but the views from the dock side are better. Alternatively, try April Poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at Painter’s Lodge. Fishing is never a sure thing, and each guide has his own strategies. I assure you that every guide does his very best to catch a fish and provide the best experience for every guest in his boat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a repeat visit for a longer stay at the Painters, as my daughter and I had stayed here for one night a couple of years ago.

We ended up staying next door to the room we had last time in the Quadra building, and although a bit dated, the room was very comfortable, the only downside being the fact that people were smoking on the balconies either side of us, and at times we felt like we were in a kipper factory. Unfortunately, the balcony door and window was the only method of cooling the room as we had no other form of air conditioning. Maybe it's time to consider making some blocks non smoking - even on the balconies?

We really enjoyed our stay, eating in the restaurants in the lodge and at April point, the pub and the lounge, and I went on one of the whale watching tours.

The waterfront location, the fabulous views and the efficient staff combine to make this a great destination - I only wish we had had the loyalty scheme explained to us to help us save money.

We would definitely stay here again - if for no other reason than this is a hotel with individuality and character, rather than just another boring chain hotel which could be anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again. I’m so glad this experience was just as good as your last one and we look forward to seeing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tour-de-Salvagny, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were staying 3 nights in 2 loft rooms in the Quadra building. First impression was a dated room, with very small dated bathroom. Why the sink is not in but next to the bathroom is a complete mystery to us. 2 queens on the first floor, and a full and a single bed upstairs. Small balcony with only 2 chairs. We had a view of the pool and part of the marina, unfortunately no orca's. We took the complementary ferry to Quadra Island, where our children could use free rods. They caught 2 mudsharks, which was quite an experience. We had some drinks on the gorgeous terrace of the restaurant at April Point, and saw some seals and otters. We had dinner in the lounge at Painters and that was very good. The quesedillas and the nacho's were excellent. And for a reasonable price. The pool is nice, you can ask for towels at the reception. I have become a member of the Oak Bay Marine group, which means a 10% discount on everything (except alcohol). Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AvdB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I’m so happy to hear you had a good experience. Thanks for visiting us and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We try this restaurant with a group and I am very surprise by this establishment. I take plate of oysters is very delicious and juicy. Portion is generous, presentation prefect. Really surprise by quality and taste.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
71.2 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
78.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Property: Painter's Lodge
Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing