We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Holiday”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A seasonal hotel but he staff are most helpful and very friendly. If you enjoy fishing this is a good place as they organise sea fishing and I saw each boat return with happy anglers - all caught large salmon. Rooms are a good size and clean.The restaurant serve good food with a lot of local produce. A good place to fly out to see the Grizz bears at Knights Inlet.

Room Tip: Request Ocean View First Floor Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanC917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well, you can't beat the view if you get a good waterfront room. That was what we were after, and certainly what we got, the room was fine for us, I guess dated, but who cares. The staff was lovely, and good at their jobs, without exception. Dinner in the dining room (included in the Island Residents Package) was delicious and well prepared. It was certainly a nice touch that a pod of Orcas went by when we were in the dining room. Overall an excellent getaway, the first time that we'd been able to stay at Painter's, but we'll go back. Maybe next time when April Point is still open so we can go over there too. Of note, we were staying on the last night that the lodge was open before closing for the winter, so perhaps the staff were just glad it was all over, but we certainly didn't get that feeling!

Room Tip: A top floor room in the Redonda Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goplacesandeatthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 10. We booked a sea-view room almost one year in advance and had it confirmed in writing. We stayed here on honeymoon 14yrs ago and loved the views so much, that was our main reason for staying here again. This time our trip was to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. We were VERY disappointed that we were not given the sea-view room we had requested, the woman on the reception desk was not at all apologetic and claimed not to have known we'd booked a sea-view, despite me showing her our written confirmation. The receptionist showed no interest in the fact we had stayed before, were returning guests, and that we were celebrating a special birthday. Our room was adequate, but some distance from the front area of the hotel, and certainly not of the standard we were expecting. We ate at April Point on our first night, lovely food but we wish someone had told us about the free loyalty card, we would have saved 10% on our bill - ask for a card straight away if you stay here!
We had another mix-up on our last morning. We had booked Sunday brunch at April Point and were told to be over on the Island by 10am. We arrived to discover no brunch, only breakfast. They selection was minimal and they didn't even have all the items on the menu available. I realised there had obviously been a mistake, and I asked if brunch was back at Painter's - the staff didn't know, but phoned up to find that yes, indeed the brunch was over there! We got the water taxi back over and luckily got a table, which was good because the brunch was the best part of our entire stay there!
When we checked out we weren't asked if we'd enjoyed our stay, we left feeling very disappointed indeed.
On returning home I took up this issue with our travel company, they are going to refund the extra we paid for a sea-view and have contacted Painter's Lodge about our problems. To date (several weeks after our return!), we have had no contact from Painter's Lodge at all, not what is expected from a "prestige" resort at all!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Morag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a ground floor sea view room with private patio. Rooms and facilities a little dated but very comfortable and clean. Location and views compensated. Lovely restaurant with particularly helpful staff. Food good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I carefully planned our vacation based on ratings and internet descriptions of properties. Recently, we booked and stayed at Painter's Lodge. We had reserved two nights but ended up leaving a day early very disappointed in the property; the restaurant; and our accommodations.
To begin with, we felt that for a property rated at 3.5. stars, accommodations would be nicer; cleaner; and more up to date. They were not. Secondly, the property seemed tired and outdated. Some equipment in the gym did not work. Lastly, was the informal restaurant we ate at. The food was terrible and the service even worse. The service was excruciatingly slow and the quality of the food marginal at best. Had it not been for a morning fishing trip I had reserved for the next day, we would have left the same day we arrived.
Upon checking out after only one night, the front desk charged me a second time for a prepaid fishing trip. I had to correct them on this and obtain an adjustment.
We will not be returning to this lodge. Unfortunately, the 3.5 star rating for this property, in our opinion, is highly overrated. We would assign it two stars at best.

Room Tip: Be sure to look beyond the ratings you might see for a property. Don't make the mistake we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had my wedding here last summer and we stayed for our anniversary this summer. It is so stunning. The service is unbeatable. Food is amazing. Rooms are dated but charming and large. Views are impecable. You can't go wrong staying here. Nice fancy resurant, plus lounge area where you can also eat, plus pub! Also free shuttles accross the water to thier sister resort April point. We come here a couple times throught thier season every year! Dinner at Painters then dessert at April Point... nothing better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival at Painters Lodge, there was some confusion with regards our reservation. We had booked a sea view room, but was not allocated one which was disappointing to say the least as we had booked months in advance - however this was rectified by the front desk, our view was not the best, but we could see the water.

The rooms were relatively basic with regards furnishings, we we given a loft room, which was based over 2 floors and was spacious with a king size bed on the upper level.

We decided on Painters Lodge as a base to travel up to Telegraph Cove for a bear watching trip. We stayed for four days in early September.

We had dinner in Legends on 2 occasions during our stay, and found the food to be very good indeed. In particular the "Surf and Turf" - melt in the mouth steak with king crab - superb. The portions are very generous and the service very good. The lounge menu is very nice as well and the views at the restaurant are panoramic and very picturesque.

We enjoyed a wilderness zodiac trip which we thought was very good value for money, we saw orca, and numerous porpoises which were all around the boat diving and jumping all around us - very exciting. We also saw sealions, with gulls waiting for scraps whilst they were eating and seals also

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Painters Lodge, very welcoming and good value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
342 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
583 reviews
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.8 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
68.4 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
78.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $114 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing