We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime - wildlife tour”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime - wildlife tour”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My parents, husband and I took the morning wildlife tour offered through Painters Lodge. It was amazing and truly an experience of a lifetime. Not only did we see Harbor Seals, Stellar Sea Lions, Transient Orcas, bald eagles and much more, we had an incredible tour of the regions islands and natural wonder. I can really not say enough about this experience and would HIGHLY recommend this for anyone who loves the outdoors.

We had a windy morning with some rain (for parts of the tour) and it was still very comfortable. It's important to remember you are on a zodiac but it was a smooth ride for almost the full length of the tour. Our guide was fantastic and you could tell was honestly a naturalist at heart and loves his job. We were properly geared up (as it's provided with your tour cost) to make the ride even more enjoyable.

Tip: Dress warmly if going during autumn months. We had several layers and then with the gear they provided were quite warm and comfortable.

We also stayed and had lunch at the Lodge following the tour. Food was good (I had the fried fish--they gave you a choice of haddock or salmon and I tried the salmon, it was wonderful!) and service was good. All the employees were helpful and friendly.

There was a small garden near the back of the property with dozens and dozens of blooming dahlias which were beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPell224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    346
    169
    80
    38
See reviews for
302
487
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This Lodge is very nice and well priced for someone that wants a taste of the wild life outdoors. Very nice rooms with great views of the waterway and mountains beyond, great Dining, good fishing guides for the inexperienced, good deals to get you out on the water and the water taxi to Aprils Point was another nice feature.

A very good place for 2 days to a week in a wonderful area! We enjoyed it very much!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Aprils Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestengkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear bestengkc,

Thanks for your review of our resort. We're really proud of our resort - from the rooms to the food and staff and I'm glad you had a chance to experience what we feel is the best of British Columbia. I hope to see you back again soon.

Christine Fleming,
General Manager, Painter's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alert Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We took advantage of the "North Islander Special" and WOW was it fantastic. Our room in the main lodge was peaceful and had a magnificiant view of the water. The beds were comfortable and the supper included with our stay was out of this world. The sitting area upstairs allowed for a comfortable space to read during the rainy weather. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My family absolutely loved Painters. Our room was gorgeous, overlooking the water with a view straight to Quadra Island. The grounds were beautiful. It was quiet and a world away from everything which is just what we were looking for. The restaurant was excellent, both quality and value and with a view to die for. While eating breakfast, we saw seals and dophins - pretty special. My fondest memory was waking early one morning and seeing a v shape flock of Canadian Geese fly past my window. I would highly recommend Painters, it has real charm and personality.

Room Tip: Choose a water view room. The views are spectacular and they make you feel like you are the only on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear VickyS

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Painter's Lodge. The view is spectacular and wildlife in the area is always a treat. Best of luck on your travels and we hope to see you back soon.

Christine Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Although the room had been made up when I went to get into the bed it was obvious that the covers had only been pullled up and the sheets were stained from the previous guests. I called the front desk and received promptly fresh sheets for both beds and remade mine up. Next day our towels had been changed but the dirty sheets were still lieing on the floor, so I called again and the head of housekeeping came to collect them.

I wrote a poor review on the review card in the room and since returning home I have spoken to the Front Desk Manager and the Head of Operations who promised to get back to me but I have heard nothing and a week has passed.

Naturally when I wear my Painters Lodge jacket people ask me about my stay there but it is hard to give a nuteral answer

We also found that the Pub food was very average and the server had an unpleasant attitude but there were a couple of employees obviously doing their very best

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear JackyH

When we spoke on the phone after you returned home I apologized for what had happened and told you how embarrassed I was that something like this would occur. You told me that the Front Desk staff and my Executive Housekeeper had dealt with the situation well and acted immediately upon your call.

After reading your posting, I am somewhat confused. I have followed up with my Front Desk Manager and in the conversations you had with him as well as myself and at no time did either of us tell you that we would get back to you. We didn’t think there was a reason to. I sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding.

I would have liked to have had an opportunity to meet with you when you were here to discuss your concerns. We strive to exceed guest expectations in all areas of our resort. I am sorry we were not able to meet yours. If you want to discuss this matter further, please feel free to give me a call at the resort.

Sincerely,
Christine Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Slightly disappointing in that the room size wasn't great but two decent beds overlooking the Campbell River where you can watch whales, seals and other wildlife without venturing out!
Restaurant was very good with excellent quality food and good sevice.

Room Tip: ocean view in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear KG-7,

Thanks for your comments on Painter's Lodge. I'm sorry that you didn't like the size of your room, but happy that you enjoyed the beds and of course the view. Seals and marine birds are a common site, and we did see whales and dolphins on a number of occassions throughout the year, so I'm glad you enjoyed your experience.

We are also very proud of our chef and kitchen team and are constantly trying to improve our service delivery and presentation. I'm glad you enjoye your meal in the dining room. I hope to see you again soon.

Christine Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Overall, the Painter's Lodge was a great stay. It's a short drive from where we live in Courtney (45min away). We leave the kids with a sitter and pay only $140 for a wonderful dinner (for 2), a hot tub, a swim, and a night away. We take a relaxing walk along the dock in the morning and head home. Just a great deal..:)

Room Tip: We would request the top floor for next stay (away form the stairs). As I am a light sleeper...Our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveBCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear LoveBCfamily,

Thanks for the great feedback on the resort. I'm glad you enjoyed your quick getaway to Painter's Lodge. I hope to see you again soon.

Christine Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
275 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
407 reviews
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Property: Painter's Lodge
Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing