We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small museum”

The Museum at Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Through numerous exhibits and an extensive research library visitors can learn the history of northern Vancouver Island.
Campbell River
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Really well done displays of both settlers' history and that of aboriginal people. Excellent wall of wooden masks with audio stories of each. Could almost smell the fish in the cannery/fishing area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    71
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Best Little Museum Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Campbell River museum is awesome. Allow 2-4 hours.

There are three movies you can watch and the movie about the Ripple Rock Explosion is especially interesting, you will love it.

There is a small cover charge, with discounts available, check at counter.

Lots of parking available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of historic photos, good movie of the widening of the channel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A good way to spend a few hours, learning about the history of fishing in BC. The highlight is the 15 min movie about the 1958 project to deepen the channel that was limiting the Inner Passage. Impressive. Overall very good exhibits and everything is clean, kept in great working order.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank emrgncymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I went to this musuem during our visit to Vancouver Island. It was extremely enjoyable. They have done a wonderful job with the exhibits - they were informative and creatively displayed. If you go, you won't be dissapointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good use of a rainy afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited on a wet Sunday afternoon and it was a great way to pass a couple of hours - the entrance price was fair and the exhibits and the layout very interesting - I came away feeling I'd both learnt and enjoyed the experience . The museum staff were really friendly and informative and I decided to purchase my holiday souvenirs in the little gift shop as it was a not for commercial organisation with the profits as I understood going back to support the museum ( checked prices in Vancouver and the museum purchased were a good choice ! )

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum at Campbell River also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Museum at Campbell River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing