We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable”
Review of Passage View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Passage View Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Although dated the Passage View was very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed being on the ground floor and the use of the picnic table. 6 Cruise ships sailed by while enjoying our glass of wine. Friendly helpful check in also made this annual trek enjoyable, will return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
18
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived after a seven hour ride to a relaxing, clean room that opens out onto a patio facing Quadra island. Couldn't have been more pleasant. Cruise ships passed by and we sat and drank our wine and watched the lights of the sunset's reflection. It's not the Ritz but neither is Campbell River a Ritz kind of place. The beds are a bit soft, the bathrooms are dated and the sheets are not 800 thread. But for a quiet sleep, a clean room, wifi a nice view and a very small TV, it is a perfect stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor because there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailhersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Passage View Motel. The room although dated was clean. The carpets are badly in need of replacing and I feel if that was done the appeal of the room would be lifted. Small balcony with amazing views of passage. The bed and pillows were good. Bathroom clean. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_muzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Passage View for 3 nights while visiting friends in the area. It is in a perfect location for access to downtown Campbell River and the Fishermen's Wharf. It also has a gorgeous view out over the Inside Passage toward Quadra Island, which we enjoyed from the tiny balcony. The room, although dated, was certainly adequate and clean, and the price was right. The hosts were delightful and could not have been more helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewalkinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I recently had a 4-night stay at the Passage View and was very pleased. The motel is close to downtown Campbell River, so it was a perfect launching point for the perambulatory adventures I had planned for my trip (the Campbell River Estuary Trails, Quadra Island, the Beaver Lodge Forest Lands, Haig-Brown House). Mainly I just wanted a nice spot to park my butt so I could drink beer and read and look out at some beautiful West Coast scenery. All the rooms at the Passage View overlook Discovery Passage (hence the name!) and Quadra Island, and they have decks, which really made this patio-less city dweller happy! The rooms are spartan, but clean, and the owners are very friendly. I'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The managers are exceedingly rude. I phone them once for help, he hung up on me and said he didn't care about my question. When I stayed there, he chewed me out for leaving a day early. Never stayed there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alert Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, economical place to hang your hat for the night, this is it! The views are wonderful, the place was clean, the couch and bed are comfortable. There was an extra pillow in the room which I liked. The rooms was sound proof. I did not hear vehicals leaving in the morning. The rooms are the older brick wall built, and the carpets are thin. It is not your luxury hotel with a pool, breakfast and room service. However, it's a reasonableaprice and, comfortable.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have green space to sit and look over the water, or let your dog out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#6 of 16 in Campbell River
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Harbourside Inn
The Harbourside Inn
#16 of 16 in Campbell River
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passage View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passage View Motel

Property: Passage View Motel
Address: 517 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations directly overlooking Discovery Passage and Quadra Island. From your private balcony or patio, view spectacular sunrises/sunsets and watch cruise ships, sailboats and fishing vessels sail past. Bald Eagles, Red Tail Hawks, Blue Herons and many other seabirds can be seen from your window. If you're lucky, you might even see the whales as they hunt for food. Guests are welcome to use the picnic tables and BBQ located on our grounds, while relaxing in the serene atmosphere of our gardens. Our guests enjoy private beach access. Centrally located, we are a short walk away from Fisherman's Wharf, Public Fishing Pier, unique shops and restaurants, museums, children's park and public pool. Salmon Capital of the World. Connections with Fishing Guides and information on other tourism activities and must sees. Ideal "home base" location for day trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Passage View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing