We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value and close to the ferry”

The Harbourside Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Harbourside Inn
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
vancouver
1 review
“great value and close to the ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

it was close to the quadra island ferry and good value for the money
it was clean and quiet and the staff was helpful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
6
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

This is quite possibly the worst hotel I have ever set foot in. Would you believe they have this hotel rated the same as the Best Western Chalet in Campbell River.

The dirtiest, seediest hotel on the planet. Floors were stained, elevator was disgusting, rooms had single pane windows with no A/C but a standing oscillating fan instead.

Stay elsewhere in Campbell River.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank huskygriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

I spent two nights here over a weekend in different rooms, and when I woke up Sunday morning I was feeling itchy but also tired from the noise. I didn’t think anything of it until Tuesday, when I counted 24 bites on the front of my body, in little lines progressing up my arms, legs, and chest. Obviously disturbed I phoned the hotel to tell them that they likely have a bed bug infestation and that they should look at the two rooms I stayed in (and of course compensate me to some degree), but the manager was out at the moment. My message was not returned, and upon calling a second time two days later the clerk told me that I was a “sounded crazy” and was “a liar” and hung up on me!!! I would recommend sleeping in Foreshore Park in your sleeping bag before dealing with this disrespectful, arrogant, and downright rude “hotel” . Or bring your own bedding if you must.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — gettiing eaten by bedbugs and called a liar when I complained
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank darius_jackson_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2005

What a dive! The hotel looks shabby from outside and the appearance is not much better witin. Could see nothing but a parking lot from our room. Was clean (ish) but bathroom was very dated and bed was well-worn. Even for the cheap price we paid, I would never go here again. But then again, I found nothing in Campbell River itself that would draw me back again. If you are driving up Vancouver island and want somewhere to stay half way, try one of the lodges in the Stratcona national park - they looked lovely. I wish we had!

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz&Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2005

The hotel is located next to a liquor store. The safety issue would be a concern. The room and the hotel was old and stains were always visible anywhere in the room. Sheets were not changed for a two nights stay. Closed to the shopping mall. I've seen better for sure.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2005

The name is misleading, it's withing reasonable walking distance of the harbor but it's hardly harborside. We had three rooms on the 3rd floor, all showed signs of smoker damage, burn holes in seats and bed spreads. The wireless internet access was non-existant thought my machine could detect the network. The decor was worn. The windows in all rooms fitted poorly and were single glazed, in my mothers room they were sealed with tape, presumeably to prevent draughts. The beds were cheap and fairly uncomfortable. The noise insulation was poor and the view from the windows was worth keeping the curtains closed for. The hotel parking lot is grotty, I was somewhat surprised the car survived intact. We were pleased to drive away in the morning but since I booked the rooms I will be appologising to my family for some time. Curiously we all found the soap almost impossible to open, I resorted to a knife I was lucky to have with me and loaned it to other family members.

On the up side the staff were friendly and the linens and towels were the cleanest and most pleasant I have had in any class of hotel. As good as the best.

But in the end this is a dark and dingy hotel, if money isn't your primary concern you should blow the extra $30 to go somewhere with a real view and modern rooms.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cageordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2003

I tried to book a weekend with you, even wrote a letter with the request = no reply. Eventually via the web page I learned you had no rooms available.

You might have let me know. Fortunately at a late date, I got in down the street at Coast Discovery.

So you are now definitly off my list!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.2 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Above Tide Motel
Above Tide Motel
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage River Inn
Heritage River Inn
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourside Inn

Property: The Harbourside Inn
Address: 1342 Shoppers Row, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2E1, Canada (Formerly Haida Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbourside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Harbourside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haida Hotel Campbell River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing