We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Front desk service was very good , upgraded me to a ocean view room . Rooms are older , location is central. Hotel is located on the hwy across from the beach walk way . The room has a small fridge and two burner stove top if you want to make your own breakfast .

Room Tip: Get one with an ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for submitting a review. We are currently participating in a property improvement program and are making updates to the interior and exterior. This year we have updated our breakfast room, guest room lighting, fitness area and this fall we will be focusing on our lobby, business center and guest room drapes.

I do hope you will visit us again and see all the wonderful changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Austrian Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 541 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Small, but with the loft it made it easy to stay here. Clean, quiet...awesome view. Easily slept 4 could have done one more. Some decor is a bit old but made up for it with comfort of beds and sofa. All in all it is a great place for a small family away from the downtown but less than a 5 minute drive to get into town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a nice time here in Campbell River. Our loft rooms are top floor and have a lovely view. We have traditional loft rooms that have air conditioning, which are perfect for the summer and should be requested upon booking. For those who wish to stay in and cook we have lofts that have a mini kitchenette but no air conditioning. As an ocean front property, usually the cool ocean breeze is enough. We will be upgrading our decor and furniture within the next two years as part of our property improvement program. This year we have expanded our lobby, added new patio furniture and guest room lighting and we are planning a lobby renovation for this fall.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great people, very clean but this place is getting old, Campbell River needs some new hotels, usually stayed at the Coast and had a great view of the ocean, my view at the BW was a concrete mini putt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

It sounds like you were booked into a ground level traditional room. Our busy season is here and availability does go quite fast. We do have many upgraded rooms styles on our 2nd and 3rd floor that have a lovely view. And though we may be aging, we are undergoing a property improvement program and many updates can already be seen throughout the hotel. Our fitness room has a new elliptical and new flooring. Our vending and laundry room has a new pop machine, guest patio sets and public seating is brand new.

Our biggest improvement is our new breakfast room expansion. New seating, granite counters and table tops. The breakfast menu has expanded as well. We have a new rotating menu that offers hot and cold items. Pancakes, crepes, french toast, bacon, links, scrambled eggs, quiche as well as a make your own waffle bar. Each day offers something a little bit different and is quite enjoyed by our guests.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we hope that with our changes and upgrades, we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Once again, a well -run, very comfortable and relaxing overnight stop.My only regret was that i did not have the time to stay for two nights. Staff very attentive to detail, and accessible. The next-door pub does have very good food at value for money prices. An early morning, or late evening, stroll along the waterfront, right outside the hotel doors, is a lovely bonus.
Looking forward to my next journey to the North Island.

Room Tip: In season, if you like flowers, pick a room with , or close to, fabuluosly coloured window -boxes
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midastaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

It is always appreciated when a returning guest gives us a great review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your next. There are a lot of changes happening on the property, we are currently updating our guest room lighting, painting our pool deck and getting new bbq tables. We also are planning a lobby renovation which we hope to start in the fall.

The flowers you enjoy will be arriving late May early June. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've spent about two weeks overall at this hotel over the past month on two business trips. The staff are great, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are good - nothing fancy but reasonable selection, hot and cold. The next door pub/restaurant has good grub and decent beer, but is not open to minors. The hotel is not well-situated if you're walking - it's a 35-40 minute hike to the shopping/restaurants area of Campbell River.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Conrad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet appreciate your business. You are correct, it is a bit of a walk to the downtown area, but luckily we have a bus stop right across from our property that is easily accessible to our guests and run until about 10 pm.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the BW Austrian Chalet for 3 nights while were moving. We have stayed here before and it was fine. This time was horrible. Found half eaten large lollipop under lip of daughters bed, garbage behind bathroom door on floor. Maid service was brutal, didn't vacuum, made beds that was it. We had a large suite, had a nice view, but there was only a tea towel in kitchen, no wash cloth, not sure how we were supposed to wash dishes as the maid certainly didn't. Was woken up at 1:30 in morning to loud clunking from office below suite, called down, was told by office lady that she was using the shredder...she had nerve to ask me if I was a light sleeper...I said it is impossible to sleep through loud clunking every 30 seconds and I mean LOUD banging.......she very rudely said "well, I guess I will have to try and find somewhere else.......".....The continental breakfast was not great. You could make your own waffles and one day we had bacon which was good, but the next day was sausage patties that barely were cooked, potato hashbrowns that were cold....in fact it was all barely warm every day. Lady in room was very nice but food was definitely below grade. Girls went ot use the pool one day, no towels at front desk. Front desk said she would run some over, never did, girls had to walk back outside soaking wet up to room. My bathroom ran out of kleenex on day 2, left the empty container in sink, the maid moved the empty container but never replaced it. Took 2 days and I finally went down to office with empty container and asked for more......wow. We had a good stay here approx 4 years ago but were extremely disappointed in this stay, we wouldn't recommend it, nor will we stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 bdrm suite above the office.......beautiful view, but noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

On behalf of the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. However, I do find it puzzling that you were awoken by a shredder in the middle of the night, as we do not own a shredder of any kind. Nonetheless, please accept my sincerest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Staff is excellent! Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is mid range, reasonable value, fairly standard rooms and facilities, but the staff really shine and make this hotel stand out as one I would be interested in returning to. Kudo's to the manager and staff. Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you Richard for such a lovely review. I will be sure to pass along your praise to the rest of the staff here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
55 reviews
24.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Highway S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $74 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing