We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best days over here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed November 16, 2013

we stayed at this very comfortable hotel. the atmosphere was absolutely amazing. It was a clean and comfortable hotel. we had great food too. it's a great nice green hotel. the staff working there was so friendly and funny. the weather outside the hotel was very freezing, but the hotel we felt very warmer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. When you come back for a visit you will find that our property will be undergoing various changes and upgrades. This winter our breakfast room will be expanded to accommodate more guest seating and our lobby will also be updated to improve our business center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 567 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel was easy to find although a little way out of the centre of the town. Great views across the water and loved the balconies full of geraniums. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and recommended several restaurants which we investigated for the evening. Our room was not large but clean and well appointed. Once again not a lot of floor space to open out 2 shell suitcases. Breakfast was excellent with cereals, waffles, bacon, eggs, toast, etc. Staff were good at keeping things topped up. We only had one night here but would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ser45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your response. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and our continental breakfast, which offers hot and cold items, have met your standards. We do offer suites that offer more floor space, separate rooms or split level rooms. Please do consider them during future stays and if you have any questions please feel free to contact the hotel directly with your inquiry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. It was clean enough. The rooms are in different building so if you want to go at the pool, at the front desk or in a room of a friend... you may have to go outside.
The parking is a problem as there is not a lot of parking spaces and as it is in tight environnement. If you have a car with limited clearance to the ground you will have problems with the big bumps in the parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salutzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your response. As you mentioned our layout is separated buildings however all buildings are in close in proximity to our pool, excercise room, bbq area, minigolf, lobby and breakfast room. Parking is located all around the property as well as larger vehicle parking across the street. We try to direct larger vehicles such as buses and mobile homes to this area in order to keep single vechicle parking free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel in Campbell River was difficult to find, parking was far from actual room and the room was very dark and dingy. Booking in was aloof. The room was dis-jointed Bathroom was two rooms from bedroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

On behalf of our team here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to apologize for not meeting your exptectations. It sounds like you had a loft unit? We do offer traditional rooms and suites that are all on one level. We are also in the process of improving our property's decor. Updating our lighting both interior and exterior is on that list and will be updated in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here in august 2013. The room was small completely occupied by two queen sized beds. No air conditioning. Service was really unpolite and if you are tempted by the breakfast included deal, forget it, food is not good, the breakfast room is small and full of bees.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is how we are able to make changes and improve upon our services. I apologize you didn't enjoy our breakfast, we have recently made changes to offer a variety of hot and cold items. Many of our guests are delighted to see that we offer hot eggs, sausage, hash browns along with make your own waffles and fresh fruit and yogurt. I do apologize for the bees; this year has been an unseasonably high population in our area. We've tried to keep them out, however with the great sunny weather many guests enjoy the doors open and understand nature has her way.

Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Planned to stay 2 nights but left after one. Although attempts have been made to upgrade the facility, it fails. There was black mildew all over bathtub/shower walls. Room smelled of mildew. Shower water leaks all over floor and flows on floor tile grout lines into room. Never used the jacuzzi tub as it was in the room and it already had a moisture issue. Breakfast was mediocre at best in a tiny room.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 72GG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I have discussed these issues with our staff and are working to rectify them. I apologize you had to experience this. You are right, we've been working hard at renovating the property. There are many aspects we are working on and this all takes time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Weird room. Two levels. To get to the bed, you climb a steep open 13-step stairway on the first level of the room. But the bathroom is on the main level. So there you are up on the loft with no toilet or water.... not even a mirror and the stairs are STEEP. A handicapped person could not stay in this room. Using the toilet in the middle of the night was a challenge.
Also, ALL equipment in the exercise room was broken.
The breakfast room had chairs for only 12 people.
Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Perhaps you can request a single level room. I don't know if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The room you had was our loft units. As you mentioned the sleeping area is up in the loft portion and the living and bathroom down below. We do have other rooms that accommodate the bathroom and sleeping in one area, however these may have been booked at time of your reservation. Many people do enjoy our loft units as they have the highest view point over looking Discovery Passage. Yes, our current breakfast room does have limited seating; however we are working on expanding this. With your regards to guest that may have troubles with stairs we do have rooms that are ground or entry level to accommodate wheel chairs or easier access. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $62 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing