We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus for Sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We attended a wedding in Campbell River, booked a different hotel but decided to change and stay here. What a good choice, place is older but spotless grounds and room. The bed was very comfortable,room was not large but it had a frig, microwave, chairs and table, and again,spotless. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the ocean, great view. Easy to park right at the door and you walk in ground level. Breakfast area was very busy but well under control by the young lady working the area. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful as was the breakfast girl. Only negative, no air conditioner in the room. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

What a fantastic compliment! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. It's great to hear you enjoyed all our amenities and where able to enjoy our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 558 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Three of us stayed in a QQ room for two nights (in June) and were very pleased with the accommodations. The room was spotless! and shortly after checkin the front desk called to ensure that everything met our needs - very good PR. Very comfortable beds..garbage ~and~ recycling bins..clean and efficient "coffee centre" with sink & fridge. Didn't have time to use the amenities - pool etc - but had a quick look and wouldn't have hesitated if time constraints had not interfered. Our reservation included a continental breakfast and this is the only area that prevents me from awarding a 5star stay....lacked in organization..I understand that offering hot dishes to guests is appealing, but on busy mornings such as the weekend we were there, it only turned out to be more of a source of frustration. Food warmers were continuously empty and the stations are not set up properly - guests had to go back & forth btwn stations which is right where the line-up is to enter the breakfast area. Not enough appliances to handle busy periods and only one attendant on duty to refill (kudos to her..despite some guests' grumblings she was still smiling & polite) Personally I think people would be quite content with a variety of pastries/fruit/yogurt/cereals etc/juices/coffee&tea - the only appliance needed would be toasters for toast/bagels. Would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were right across from a pub/restaurant and I had concerns it might be a little noisy in the late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and raising some valid points. We are presently looking at new options to provide the hot breakfast in a more efficient manner, in addition to providing more seating options.
It is great to hear that you at least were able to check out our amenities and hopefully the next time you visit us you will have more time to enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way up the island. We were pleasantly surprised. The outside of the hotel and the corridors were dated but our room was great. We had a room with double beds on the ground floor. Everything was really clean (and I am fussy about this), the beds were very comfortable (much better than the more expensive place we stayed next) and the staff at reception were very helpful. We walked along the coast to the coffee hut by the water and spent the evening watching salmon jump whilst drinking coffee and eating ice-cream. Very relaxing. Breakfast was varied, hot items including eggs, bacon, fresh waffles (which you prepare yourself) and a range of pastries, cereals yogurt etc. I am Gluten Free and managed to find enough to eat. The road outside is very busy but we didn't hear the traffic in our room.

Room Tip: Our room was updated but not sure if all are. We were on the ground floor facing the mini golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Sounds like you really enjoyed your time in Cambell River, I am pleased we could be a part of it. Our Housekeeping staff really work hard and do a great job keeping the rooms clean. Thank you for mentioning it, I will be sure to pass it on to the staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have previously stayed her and enjoyed it.The family room last time was great.This time we had a loft room:it was ver hard for my sons to sleep in loft...no air conditioning.The breakfast was mediocre and room very small.The first thing that happened was the clerk said we were not booked in there.....later when got it straightened out there was no apology....not a good experience for an already stressful weekend in Campbell River.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slurpeemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for our level of service you received during your stay. This is not the usual practice. I have spoken with the staff with regards to your experience and have sent out an apology letter to your family. Again, I am sorry this was your experience here during a stressful weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in a double queen room. Although the room was a bit small, the four of us didn't spend a lot of time in it except to sleep so the size wasn't an issue.
There was a slight problem with our reservation but it was quickly resolved. (I print all e-mail confirmations for online reservations and travel with them)
Shortly after we settled into our room, we received a follow up call to check if everything was all right. We appreciated this thoughtfulness.
The well maintained, healthy plants and colorful varieties of flowers would earn a four alone in my book so anything above this is a bonus!
Beds were comfortable with extra pillows.
The room did get stuffy at night due to lack of air conditioning but we left the windows open and used the two fans provided.
Average Campbell River temperature was still 30-40 degrees cooler than at home, so lack of air conditioning, obviously, is not a deal breaker.
My thirteen year old son and father took advantage of the free breakfast. My son, who is a serious foodie, wasn't impressed but we grow our own organic food, bake all our bread and collect eggs from our free range pasture raised chickens so he is a bit spoiled in that regard.
There is a great walking trail along the ocean across the street and we sat on the beach and watched the salmon jump in the kelp beds off shore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyhawkcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Fantastic to hear you and your family had enjoyed your time here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. Our flowers do get many comments and are a staple to our spring/summer season. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and writting your review! Hope you have an enjoyable rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There is little Austrian about the chalet other than that a previous owner might have been Austrian and that there are some presumably Austrian decor elements in the reception area.

The hotel itself is little dated. The chalet we had was a duplex with the beds on the upper floor but the bathroom on the lower floor. The challenge were the steep stairs which are not easy to navigate at night.

Breakfast was served in a small room. While not very big, the selection was adequate and regularly replenished.

The chalets are outside the village, too far to walk, therefore you need a car or taxi to get there. Not that Campbell River itself is very attractive, but there is good salmon availalble.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. I see that you had stayed with us last September. Since your stay we have been doing many updates to the property and are continually progressing with property renovations. We are about a 5min drive out of the down town core of Campbell River as you mentioned, but many of our guests enjoy this as we have the best ocean views at our location. In addition to the updates we have completed we have done some changes to our breakfast menu. We have implemented a rotating menu and changed some of the products.

We do hope you check us out the next time you visit Campbell River, as I believe you will be pleasantly surprised with all the changes. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I extended my stay here because I liked it so much. Rooms are clean and modern with every possible amenity, including a fully equipped and modern kitchenette. My room had a balcony facing the strait....looking east, with parking at the front door. Fresh ocean breezes all the time. The hot complimentary breakfast was beautifully presented in a very clean dining area which had outdoor seating to enjoy the early morning ocean view; the food was of high quality and most enjoyable .
There was an indoor pool, a very good exercise room, onsite guest laundromat, and even gas bbqs for guests to use.
A waterfront trail runs in front of the well-managed and very comfortable hotel...definitely a "Plus" establishment.
I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

It is always a pleasure to hear guests extending their stay because they enjoy staying with us so much! Great to hear you got to enjoy our onsite amentities as well as you enjoyed our daily hot breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travellers. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
24.3 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Highway S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing