We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great experience. The staff is very friendly and the property is spotless. They were power washing the outside on the first day. Although the hotel is an older property it is well maintained and visually appealing. I recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff work very hard to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 575 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Due to surgical complications we had to book two more nights. We were not told in advance that the room rate would go up. also the energy charge of 2.85 was not mentioned either. We have never encountered this charge in the past. When we are given a room rate it is understood about the PST and GST any other charges should be laid out up front.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I apologize for the surprise on our rate change. Our rates fluctuate during certain periods. We do our best to indicate to guests when the rates change, however sometimes we do miss it. I will address with the staff the importance of indicating this when extending stay or changing dates. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I found the Best western in Campbell River, awesome. Even the housekeeper, Debbie and her coworkers, plus all the staff employed at the best western, have done a marvelous job. Keep up the good work. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lorelei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for acknowledging our hardworking staff! Debbie and the team work hard on a daily basis to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. We are always pleased to hear that our property is the "Best Place to Stay!" We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was disappointed. I booked at this hotel because I have first hand knowledge of Best Wetern Plus hotels. This did not live up to that standard. No elevator that I could see. To reach the fitness room, swimming pool or breakfast one has to go outside and walk across open parking lots. What is this like in inclement weather. Double walk for the "gym" as you have to go to office to get key, then use "gym" and then back to office with key. The lock should be able to be used on room key. Breakfast room too small to accomdate guests. In fine weather may be OK as there is an outside patio. You have to be an early bird if you want the full selection of food items. Dansh ran out, muffin selection depleted, fruit bowl not kept filled.
Please do not judge all Best Western Plus hotels by this one. Most are far superior.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate our guest's feedback. I can understand your frustration with finding some of our breakfast items low when you arrived for breakfast. However, there are times where levels do run down based on the volume of guests coming in. Our staff work hard at keeping up to the demands. We offer a daily selection of deluxe continental breakfast items that many of our guests enjoy, including a rotating hot menu (bacon, sausage, kielbasa, cheese & pain omelets, scrambled eggs and seasoned hash browns).

We are an approved Best Western Plus and meet all the standards. We have recently updated all the guest rooms with granite counter tops in the bathrooms along with our kitchenettes complete with under mounted sinks. All of our beds are new last spring with new bedding this year. In addition, all of the guest rooms have new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV.

Our current upgrades include new bed skirts and drapery which we are in the process of changing. Our next large project is expanding the breakfast room seating capacity.

We are a property that has three separate guest room buildings, however they are all in close proximity of the pool and fitness area for all guests to enjoy. This is what is great about Best Western hotels, wither it be a Best Western, a Plus or a Premier status, each location has their own unique character. There are many Best Western Plus hotels that have exterior entrances to the guest rooms, or where you have access a separate building for the fitness & pool facilities. It's not how the hotel is structured that makes the stay enjoyable, it's the experience and comfort of your stay and we at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet strive for superior customer service with each guest that stays with us.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Updating needed in the room. For this chain there should at least be couches without being torn and ripped. I would 've embarrassed to have this in my home. Food was good. For the view...I could overlook the flaws. No fans in bathrooms which is odd. No air conditioning either.
Id choose different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5Canadiantravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. We have an order of new sofas coming in late June of this year, these will replace on the sofas in the loft units. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the stunning views. We do have loft units available with air condititioning and all of our rooms are equipped with bedroom fans for our guest's use. We are also on a continous road of updates. Over the last year we've completed tv updates, new beds and bedding, we are currently installing new drapes and bed skirts, we've redone all the kitchenttes with new cabinets, granite counter tops and glass cooktops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I know I'm late writiing this, but I stayed here with my dad and sister back in August 2009 when we took a kayaking and hiking trip to Vancouver Island. What a nice hotel! There was no AC, but there was also no need for it because of the beautiful weather in Campbell River. Rooms were spacious, clean, unpretentious. I absolutely LOVED the pool, spa, and sauna and took full advantage of their availability every day after our adventures. The hotel wasn't overly crowded either. The staff was friendly too. The decor was very cute....and coming from someone who has visited Austria, it matched the name perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Never to late to send in your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and after 4 years you still remember your stay here! Since your last stay we've done a lot of updates. New beds, new bedding including top sheets, bed scarfs, pillows and bed skirts. We've put in new HDTV Flat Screens in every room, new bathroom vanities with granite counter tops and under mounted sinks. We have a hot breakfast and more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $57 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing