We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for one night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had 4 family members staying for one night in September 2012. Check in was quick and easy and we found the staff very friendly and helpful and full of smiles !! We were only staying 1 night on our way north. We had an upstairs room which was very clean and comfortable. It is a bit dated but we all agreed it was good value for money. The room fridge was quite noisy during the night but the beds were very comfortable. There was some road noise but not enough to bother us. We used the BBQ facilities to cook our dinner and they were clean and had a great view of the water. Breakfast the next morning was included and was very good - hot or cold choices and coffee was good. My daughter said the waffles were excellent!!
Although the property is a bit dated we would stay here again and had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerelie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on the upgrades of the rooms including the new flat screen tvs with HDTV, granite counter tops, new kitchenette facilities in these room types, and as you have already experienced the new beds and linens! We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    199
    125
    38
    22
See reviews for
140
188
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent visit to Vancouver Island. Started out in a ground floor room with a view of the wall of pool building. This was disappointing as most rooms had a decent view across the water. There was also a lot of noise from people walking around in the room above due to the construction of the building. We upgraded to a top floor "lodge room" which was much nicer and quieter and had a superb view, but we then had to move again as the balcony doors would not lock! The rooms are comfortable but in need of modernisation. Excellent complimentary buffet breakfast. Desk staff friendly but not very effective. We would probably stay here again as its one of the better hotels in Campbell River, but it's definitely worth getting a top floor room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pole2Pole_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for the doors not working in your loft room. We are currently working on such maintenace issues as this. Our loft rooms do provide beautiful views overlooking the ocean. As noted previously, we are in the process of updating our rooms with new granite countertops, flat screen tvs with HDTV, new bathroom vanities. We have already replaced all our beds and bedding in the spring for our guest's comfort. It is great to hear you enjoyed our hot & cold continental breakfast, complete with hot eggs and sauage, build your own waffles, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagles and baked goods.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to having you stay with again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I Stayed here for 3 nights, arrived at Campbell River Airport and took a short taxi ride to the hotel. Had a great room with a nice view, friendly staff, good breakfast but most of all Amazing location! you walk outside and there is the water. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrizzlyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our property and staff were able to assist in your experience to Campbell River. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Next time you visit you will be able to enjoy our new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV in every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We basically lived in 2 attached rooms with kitchens for about a month while we waited to get into our house. The rooms had two queen beds upstairs in a loft area and then downstairs was the bathroom ( sucks in the night) pull out couch and kitchen. There were 2 tvs on each side. The kitchens weren't really kitchens like you'd think. Our oven knob was gone (room 307) which meant no cooking on that side. The fridge was also broken so a small mini bar fridge was sitting along side of this. Basically the sink, oven and fridge is one unit (installed many many years ago) which was why they hadn't just replaced it- the burners were the only thing left working. So we did the cooking on the other side. Having 3 boys though I wish this was mentioned when we booked it as we probably would have gone elsewhere. Cooking meals in a mini (i mean mini) oven took forever. we did it in cycles!!! These were their only 2 rooms with kitchens that attached. The larger suite was booked. The original plan was to use both ovens at the same time because we saw that they were small when we checked out the room BEFORE booking it. perhaps they could have mentioned that at that time.

The very nice maintenance worker tracked down a microwave so we could speed thing up- this caused the breaker to blow every single time we used it though - lol.
The housekeeping staff and front desk staff were very friendly. The view is gorgeous with the sea walk right across the street. The breakfast couldn't have been any better. They had everything you could want in the morning. This wasn't just a continental breakfast. It was the full meal deal.
The town is just a 5 min drive away along the ocean. The pool is also ok. Kinda echoes in there so if you have sensitive ears be warned. The weight room is great too!!! All the machines and a tv that swivels. I used it often.
There isn't any air conditioning in the rooms so just know that it gets pretty stuffy - especially after a shower cause there seems to be no air vents in the bathroom for some reason.
I'd stay here again if I didn't need a kitchenette - that was the biggest disappointment of the room (307) being that we had to be there for so long.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Canadiantravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We identify that our kitchenettes do require some updates and we are well on our way through the planning phase of this. We will be installing new granite counter tops, complete with a two burner ceramic cooktops, new microwave in each kitchenette, mini fridge and updated electrical to solve the issue of the breaker. We have also installed brand new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Staying here for 7 nts from the UK as we write this review. Stayed for 5 nts in Sept 2011 vowing would stay here if we came back to Campbell River....and we did. So I guess for 7 nts it's more like a home than just a hotel room.

Pro's

Rooms comfortable and spacious (chalet style room on 3rd floor facing ocean)
Basic but efficient kitchen area
Good shower and bathroom
Great beds, large and you get a good nights sleep
Excellent choice of cooked or healthy breakfast with great sausage patties - get fat or stay slim....you decide
Excellent self-service launderette for washing and drying clothes
Parking no problem

Cons

Need a more comfortable sofa
Cleaners need to be prompted to replenish toilet roll, bathroom soaps, etc
Could do with more up to date TV - not essential

Overall, yes it's basic in parts but it's very quaint and very comfortable. Yes there is some road noise but it's very bearable even with the patio door open. Would definitely stay here again.....






Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It is always great to hear from our return guests! We are pleased to hear you extended your stay this trip and enjoyed it even more. For your next stay you will be happy to know that we are in the works of replacing all of our sofas in the rooms and putting in new flat screen tvs. We look forward to your return, safe travels home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, room basic but large and clean with comfy bed. Friendly staff with evening meal recommendations. It is not that close to the town centre so may not be the best choice if you don't want to drive in the evenings for food etc. Free breakfast also nice at this price level

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure reading how our guests enjoyed their stay and use your feedback to make ourselves better for your next stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western hotel and were very pleased. We enjoyed the location since it is right across the street from the beach where we saw some gorgeous sunrises. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local information and the breakfast was very tasty - I especially liked the omelets! It was very clean and spacious and we got a good deal since we were staying for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out all the different deals while making reservations online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. We are fortunate to have such beautiful views! We provide a full continental breakfast each morning, so I’m happy to hear you had a chance to take advantage of this service. We hope you return to Campbell River again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#6 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Property: BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing