We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for access to Sea Walk/bicycle path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location for access to Sea Walk/bicycle path”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is an older property but clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is small but has a good view to the waterway. We actually got to watch whales in the distance while enjoying the good continental breakfast provided. The room was a 2 queen bed kitchenette, with an obstructed view of the sea. Beds and linens were comfortable and good quality, however the kitchenette lacked a microwave and was a bit skimpy on the types of plates and dishes provided. The sound proofing isn't great so would recommend booking the top floor facing the sea, as you can hear your neighbors above. A bit pricey however for the size and quality of the rooms in comparison to other Best Westerns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our property has been a part of Campbell River for a number of years however our staff members strieve on keeping it in great condition and provide comfortable guest rooms. We do have a great location for our breakfast room with the view, however we are looking at options to expand the space for the compfort of our guests. Next time you are visiting us please ask us if we have any rooms available with a non-obstructed view of the ocean. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your sleep in our new beds and linen, we had just replaced them all this spring. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    205
    129
    38
    22
See reviews for
145
197
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esquimalt, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Best Western Austrian Chalet is at a beautiful location right on the seafront just south of Campbell River. A walkway runs right in front of the Chalet and follows the shoreline for several kilometers. The breakfast room and outdoor eating tables face the sea and the food is really excellent-they even have a waffle maker along with a great selection of other breakfast foods. Our room was on the ground level and featured a minigolf and pingpong table just outside, not to mention close proximity to the fitness centre, indoor pool and hottub and many other facilities. The garden is so very beautiful and the flower boxes outside each unit were gorgeous!!

Room Tip: The room we had on the ground level was perfect for my husband who has some mobility issues and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolP162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It is always great to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay and have taken the time to provide feedback. We are fortunate to have such a beatiful location here in Campbell River. Over looking the ocean and having your coffee and breakfast in the morning on a sunny day how can you beat that!! We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the use of our mini golf and ping pong table, always good for some entertainment. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and made it home safe. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were just passing through and needed somewhere to stay for the one night. This place was ok, but nothing very special. The areas that we were in were looking pretty dated and in need of refurbishment. There was a sort of a view of the water, but the downside of that is the road which was a little noisy .... whether this bothers you may depend on whether you just stayed somewhere noisy (like Vancouver, say) or somewhere really quiet (like the North of the island).

We didn't have time to sample the breakfast so can't comment on that.

Overall, just ok - no complaints but nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loddonlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. Sorry to hear that you're stay was only "ok". Our staff work hard at providing an enjoyable stay while you visit us here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. We are also in the stages of moving forward with room rennovations. We look forward to the next time you are passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Forget about asking for or paying more an ocean front view. That was a disappointment. The view is horrible and unless you count telephone pole wires as a view don't book here for a view. If we pass through here again we'll go to travel lodge who had a better view and better prices.

The room was nice although the air conditioner was a tiny half foot square in the ceiling that was so loud it was deafening. It didn't do enough on it's own until I went into the closet and dug out a rotating fan. After that it wasn't so bad. They'd known we were coming for a good 8 hours or so and yet nobody turned on the air before we arrived. We arrived to a warm sticky room that took an hour too cool off.

Other then that the free newspaper was not a local one but the globe and mail. Kinda defeats the purpose of a free newspaper. I don't care what's going on in Cuba etc when I'm on vacation I want LOCAL NEWS ONLY. Swimming pool was awesome as was the hot tub, sauna and exercise room. The mini putt, although amusing for children and understandable it really was just a waste of space that could be used for much more interesting things. The attached independent bar/restaurant had a rough local feel and the food was passable, barely.

We actually enjoyed our room. The tv had the right channels and the bed was comfortable no complaints there. It wasn't a bad place. I'd have put the pool in back and the hotel in front and done away with that mini putt myself. Anyway it's worth it if you can talk them down a bit in price otherwise book at travel lodge or even some of the smaller motels have nice ocean front views. Don't even bother to drink out of the glasses. Like most hotels We've been too the glasses are so dirty they are to be avoided without a serious cleaning effort first.

Parking was close to the door and therefore pretty secure. We had the biggest room and for 155 a night [that we got it for] it was a good value. Overkill for a couple with no kids but perfect if you have them and or wish to cook or serve food in the suite. The pop machine had the coldest pop I've ever gotten from a machine, Was really thirst quenching which was needed as the room was hot on arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justus007-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. You bring up a good point about the A/C turning it on before guests arrive, I will bring this up with the housekeeping staff. With the mini-golf it is a huge hit for the familys, however like you mention it's not for everyone! We do have a great pool which is open all year round. I'm sorry you only got the Globe and Mail, we do bring in a local paper as well however it must of been out when you came in. I'm happy to hear over all you had an enjoyable stay and found the beds to be comfortable. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
748 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Situated across the water and beside the main highway (easy to find), this motel caters to what tourists want...quiet, clean, comfortable, modern rooms, indoor heated pool, exercise room, coin laundry and complimentary continental breakfast with lots of choices. In addition, this motel, with definite curbside appeal, (flower power in balcony planters...hence Austrian chalet in name of motel) offers other outdoor recreation... ping pong table, very mini-golf, outdoor BBQ, and a landscaped lawn area to sit on/walk a dog. There are 3 buildings with 3 floors each...no elevators. We liked Room 110 as there were no stairs to climb...just roll the suitcases in through the door. Each unit has a balcony with plastic outdoor chairs. Our unit had the expected coffee maker, small fridge, TV, iron, work table, chairs, even a microwave!, etc. Lots of pillows, crisp sheets, duvet, towels, clean bathroom, and BW brand toiletries supplied our needs. I found our unit which had 2 comfortable Queen beds a bit of a tight squeeze space wise though. For AC, use the AC unit, or a fan, or open the window for fresh ocean breezes. Breakfast has both hot (eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal) and cold items (cereal, yogurt), fruit, juices, and breads which can be eaten inside or on a patio outdoors...just great with the ocean breeze, morning sun, and water/mountain views! In the evening or early morning, the seawalk sidewalk across the road is also great for walking or biking after a long drive. The driftwood strewn beach is accessible but is very rocky, and probably not a place for swimming. The motel is not in town so you need to drive a short way to town to eat. We ate, actually at the Legends Restaurant (see review) in April Lodge. We would stay here again when in Campbell River.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room so you can roll a suitcase in from the car to your door. We had Room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback and review of our hotel. It is important for other tourists to hear from past guests. Our hotel does have lots to offer for familys, individuals, and business travelers alike. As you mentioned we have a full continental breakfast, and lots of recreation space. We look forward to your return!! Have a great long weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrived at 4 pm to be told room not ready yet, (check out 11 am) Finally ready at 5:45, Room was dark, kitchen and bath in need of renovations. Bed comfortable with good linens and towels.....Needs a lot of updateing!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you we'rent able to get into your room when you arrived. We do strive on trying to get our guests in as quickly as possible so they can enjoy their stay sooner. However, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay once you got in. Our beds have all just been replaced and it makes it hard to want to get out of bed in the morning!! As for the updating, we are moving forward with this during the fall and winter months. We look forward to show casing our changes the next time you stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just back from a week-long stay at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. Very clean rooms, very courteous staff, nice breakfast & great pool. Only complaint is the 'kitschy' exterior decor (but no doubt some folks find that to be a plus :-) )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaH-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Yes, we do have a unique exterior design! Though the main thing is exactly what you mentioned, rooms were clean and comfortable! Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
187 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Property: Best Western Austrian Chalet
Address: 462 Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing