We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed August 20, 2011

our family had a wonderful time at this hotel. very clean room wonderful complimentary breakfast in the morning. My kids loved the pool, mini golf and ping pong! we will be back next yr

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhondaf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Austrian Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We originally booked for one night but extended our stay by 2 extra days as we enjoyed our time in Campbell River and at the Best Western. The room was nice with an amazing ocean view! The beds were very comfy, I believe reception said they were new this year and they were just great! The gardens on property are beautiful. We enjoyed the other ammenties like the indoor pool and their little mini golf course which was a treat for the kids. The breakfast room is on the small side but there is a great patio to sit out on that overlooks the ocean so that was nice. For a free breakfast it was good, the kids really enjoyed the waffles. It was a great stay, thanks to the staff! They were very friendly!

Room Tip: You need to request air conditioning as not all rooms have it which was inconvenient.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Although there was a problem with our booking when we arrived, the hotel didn't have 2 rooms for us, this was soon sorted out once we have produced our booking voucher. The rooms were nice - the habit of having queen beds when singles will do and two beds for a couple just uses up valuable floor space making rooms a bit pokey
As many Canadian hotels this was motel style which is a pain when it is chucking it down with rain as it did for our entire stay in Campbell River. We had paid for breakfast but there was no room in the breakfast room for us to eat it. The hotel is a large one yet the breakfast room could only accommodate about 10 people. Our daughter just went without - not good when it is already paid for and looked forward to

Room Tip: Lovely staff, good pool and hot tub
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank mahon252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Room obviously had not been dusted in awhile. The TV was an old CRT type and did not work well - the picture was dark and no adjustment possible, apparently. Breakfast was OK - cold or hot cereal, toast, waffles, boiled eggs and fruit available. It was self-serve and crowded when we went in at 9:15 AM.
Location was OK, not very noisy, though I did hear a strange mechanical humming noise up to midnight, possibly the laundry facilities.
I'd rate it at 2.5

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Although beautifully located close to downtown Campbell River and offering a great view of Georgia Strait (saw seals from our balcony), the room was a letdown from what I expected and hoped for. The lounge area of the room smelled terrible. I felt as if everything in the room was dirty so tried not to touch anything I didn't have to and kept washing my hands. I didn't even like to sit there even to watch the Stanley Cup on tv, preferring the balcony. In contrast, the bedroom -- up a steep set of stairs in a loft -- was fresh smelling and the bedding fine: we both had a good sleep. The only window in the loft was a false window, leading to headspace above the hallway! Grim. The bathroom was very well lit, which I appreciated, clean and well supplied. No, I didn't complain to management--we were late afternoon arrivals without reservations so felt we had to take what we could get. That said, I would never stay at this hotel again. They need to find the source of the odor and correct it, asap. BTW, continental breakfast was included and was adequate to get us on our way. Cost for the stay (BCAA rate) was $103.00 before taxes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dont_tie_me_down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed two nights in two different rooms and I would recommend that if you are coming to this hotel in the dead of summer, that you get a room with A/C as not all rooms have it. All the rooms have an ocean view which is nice, but you are close to the road so it is fairly loud when you sit on your balcony. No elevator here so get ready to heave your gear up the stairs. The front end staff are quite pleasant at check-in but the young check-out girl in the morning was not very helpful or courteous . The breakfast is nothing to get excited about but will tide you over until you can get some real food. There is a restaurant/pub next door but the restaurant is not currently open for some reason, there is apparently pub food available though. The hotel has a little 6 hole minigolf, fitness centre and a pool. The wireless internet works occasionaly but there are a few rooms available with a hardwire connection (far better).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garlicspamsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Its needs a good overhaul. Its very out dated and the pictures onlineare very deceiving. The pool was disgusting. The water was cloudy and the bathrooms were gross. Hair all over and garbage not empty.. Wouldn't stay again or recommend this one. The don't pass if it ever got inspected. The only plus was the location was beautiful, right by the water. Sorry...You just need some good cleaning staff that uses bleach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karyn1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
203 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
55 reviews
24.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Highway S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: $74 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing