We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, you have to go!”

Aboriginal Journeys Wildlife and Adventure Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A locally and family owned tour company located in Campbell River, British Columbia. See Killer Whales (Orcas), Dolphins, Humpback Whales Eagles, Black Bears and other Marine Wildlife in their natural environment on our Marine Wildlife and Whale Watching Journeys. In late summer and early fall we offer Grizzly Bear Journeys. On our Grizzly Bear Journey in Campbell River, we travel aboard our high-speed, covered vessel to Toba Inlet in search of Grizzly Bears. You will see pristine river valleys which are home to these magnificent animals. Upon arrival we will board a tour bus and drive to specially designed bear viewing platforms and some open viewing areas, which is situated along the river and ideal for viewing the mighty grizzlies. Here you’ll have the opportunity to witness firsthand the autumn ritual of bears feasting on spawning salmon in Canada´s true wilderness. Observation platforms offer great views and security so you can have a look into the lives of these magnificent creatures in their natural habitat. Travel through some of the worlds strongest Ocean Rapids and learn a little about the local First Nations history and culture as well. Enjoy breathtaking Nature viewing boat tours throughout the Discovery Passage, Johnstone Strait and Mainland Inlet areas. We have a 27 foot covered vessel with a open viewing deck and onboard washroom and heater. Our experienced and locally born Transport Canada certified guides have a minimum 40 years experience working and traveling within these waters. We look forward in creating long lasting memories for you and your families. Our floating office is located at the Discovery Harbour Marina (G Dock)in Campbell River. Please use the South ramp. "A Spectacular Adventure Awaits!" CAMPBELL RIVER's longest running Whale Watching and Grizzly Bear tour company. Established in 2000.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, you have to go!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Brilliant journey, Garry really kindly ran it with only two bookings. A very wet day near the end of the 'guaranteed' season I hoped to see one... and saw four, watching them for over two hours. The mum and cub were particularly special.

Beautiful setting, Garry very knowledgeable and good First Nations guide at the inlet itself. Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    10
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eichwalde, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic tour”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was on tour with Garry on September the 4th 2011. It was just amazing. I was not sure if we will see any bears because the season just started. But we did. A really beautiful one. Garry made it possible to watch the bear even longer than actually the tour should go. That was very nice, watching the bear catching salmon. On the way back he was talking to other people via phone to find out if there is any wildlife in the water close to our way back to Campell River. We saw lots of dolphins. They were swimming with the boat and jumping out of the water right next to the boat. It was fantastic. Garry was giving us time again and again and again to get good pictures. Thanks for that. Anyway the food was very nice, I loved the strawberries and wraps and I liked even more that we weren't so many people. The boat is just for 12 people, we were full but it was like a big family. Anyway, I had a great time.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gary. A man with passion for his work, country, wildlife & family”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I can't say much more than all the other reviews say. The difference for us though was we went on a day that the Grizzlys didn't want to show their face. Remember this is not a zoo trip where sightings are guaranteed. This is the wild. And like Gary said he's not God.
But what Gary is, is a man with passion for his work, country, wildlife and family.
As we had no sightings he asked if we were staying around Campbell River. We said yes so he immediately booked us on his next available trip where we saw 8 sightings of 7 different bears.
A truly amazing experience with lunch included!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildau
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip with a very dedicated guide”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We (a german familiy with 2 adult daughters) spent a beautiful day with our guide Garry at 4.th September 2011. He told us many interesting facts about his homeland and the animals. After a 2 hour boat trip to Bute Inlet we were welcomed from 2 Aboriginal Guides which went along with us. During transport to the observation platforms we saw a Grizzly standing on the way. But after that first encounter we had to wait for the next occasion. Another Grizzly came beyond the river approaching us. He ignored us even though the distance was less than 20 metres, because he was only interested in catching salmons from the river. We took very good pictures and videos. During return journey we encountered a group of about 75 white-sided dolphins. They followed the boat and breached about 30 minutes. Garry gave us extra time, again and again he turned around with the boat.
This day was the highlight of our roundtrip from Calgary to Vancouver and a unforgettable experience. Thank you so much, Garry !
See you, Manfred

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ManfredJahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Totally awesome experience!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is a must do adventure. Garry and company go out of their way to ensure you get way more than what you paid for. 3 trips with Garry and each one proved to be awesome. He goes out of his way to ensure you see Orcas, but even more, he teaches you the history and rich culture of Vancouver Island & the surrounding islands & waters & the First Nations. And oh yea, the Orcas and did we ever see Orcas! Love you Garry!

Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aboriginal Journeys Wildlife and Adventure Tours also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Aboriginal Journeys Wildlife and Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing