We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay at the the Driftwood Cottages. We called ahead and made reservations.. Karin was very helpful and emailed us information and directions which were very helpful. We stayed in Cabin # 4 which was neat and clean. The cabin was stocked with fresh linens, towels, toiletries and the kitchen had a stove, fridge, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, coffee, tea, cream and sugar. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, pots, pans, cutlery etc. and it was nice to have a sitting area with a tv, table and chairs, big window and then a separate bedroom.
We enjoyed our stay and would love to return in summer and enjoy the great location.
This property is centrally located and right across the street from the beach walk way.
Thank you for the cozy comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you!
We hope to see you again this summer!
Many Thanks,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed in a cottage at Driftwood by the Sea, the cottages were immaculate and so comfortable, it had everything we needed for our stay, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen with everything you could need, 1 bedroom with very comfortable bed and living room with couch that converts to bed if required. Living room window looks out over the beach and the cruise ships from Vancouver sail past at night. If we are ever fortunate enough to go back to Campbell River we will definitely stay again. Karen and her husband were very helpful and full of knowledge of the local area. Only down side we didn't see any bears on our bear hunt!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you Marion!
Hope that you are able to come back again to the Driftwood and go on another Bear Watching Adventure!
Best,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a lovely trip to Campbell River. After staying in motels in previous towns, it was great to have the extra room with the one bedroom, separate living area unit. The unit was very comfortable with a good bed. There were overhead lights and lamps by the bed and the couch, which made it easy to read. We used the laundry room which worked well. While it was on a busy street, the bedroom was in the back and quiet.

Karen was very helpful and informative with information about the area. She and her husband take good care of the property and guests!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us!
I hope that your travels bring you back to Vancouver Island and another visit with us at the Driftwood.
Many Thanks,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Travelled to Vancouver Island for a quick golf and fishing vacation. We travelled with friends that own a motor home but we don't. We needed to find a resort that combined both RV and Cottage stays and we found the Driftwood by the Sea RV Park and Cottages.
Karen and her husband own and operate this little park and take exceptional care of it. We are across the highway from the beach (a 2 minute walk). Our little one bedroom cottage with full amenities was a real treat. Recently renovated but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Our bed was very comfortable and the kitchen facilities work perfect for what we needed. Wi Fi and flat screen TV make the modern day cabin perfect. They come in and clean every day and provide us with buckets, blankets and kindling for the beach fire at night. It really doesn't get any better.
If your looking to get away and need a cozy place to lay your head this is the place. Close to town, close to great golf and of course world class fishing. They have several charter boat companies they can suggest (which are 5 minutes away). We booked with Tall Tales Charters , Steve Babcock and it was a great half day. 10 Salmon and 4 Crab. What a feast!!!
I could go on and on but suffice it say this little resort is perfect. Comfortable, reasonably priced and close to all amenities. You need to check it out for your self. You won't be disappointed....

Room Tip: Cabins are all the same so no need to worry as to which one you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puckman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us!
I hope that the lure ( no pun intended!) of the amazing fishing and the terrific golf courses bring you back to the Driftwood again!
All the Best,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spent three nights in Campbell River while there on a work assignment. I was pleasantly surprised by the hospitality, I was greeted upon check in with a map of the area where Karen pointed out some good trails for walking. Everything in the cottage looks as though it has recently been updated. It had all the comforts of home: kitchen, couch, flat screen tv, and spare blankets. They even had put together buckets to take to the beach that all the things required for fire building (kindling, newspaper, matches, blanket and two plastic wine glasses).

Next time I am scheduled to work in Campbell River I will definitely stay here again. I might even make a trip with my children for a few nights... it was that good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbiedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay us.
Hope to see you for a holiday stay!
All the Best,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When we arrived, the first glance shocked us and we wanted to leave. Because it looked like (and it was) a trailer park on a high-frequency street.
But a look in the cottage convinced us to stay. And we didn't regret and enjoyed it very much.
The cottage was very clean and very well equipped. There was even a Lindt chocolate waiting for us.
The host recommended to borrow one of the picnic buckets in the late evening and go to beach to make a fire and watch the passing cruise boats.
This was the best idea ever! The bucket was stuffed with wine glasses, lightning wood, matches, and a fleece blanket. The beach was right across the street and there was plenty of driftwood to sit comfortable and make a fire. It was really great to watch the big cruise boats passing by illuminated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquaCulinaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you very much for coming to stay with us!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your campfire at the Beach!
If you get back to Vancouver Island for a visit, please come and stay again!
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the cutest cottage and it was so clean. I had seen the reviews on trip advisor and e-mailed up to see if they had a cottage and I received back the most friendly call. After we booked we received a list from the owner with places to eat and things to do which I had never had happen before. We tried most of the places and they were all very good. She also told us about a place to eat in Comox and again it was great. The cottage had everything you could need and the front porch was a great place to sit and have a cold drink after a day of sightseeing. The beach is right across the street we never got a chance to use the special bucket for the beach maybe next time. We will be back again for the cute clean cottage,#3, the friendly chats with the owners, and the chocolate. Great place to stay and see Port Hardy in one day.
Thanks Karen for a great 3 night stay. I almost forgot it was very exciting to see the cruise ships go by at night with all their lights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us!
We enjoyed your stay with us too.
#3 Cottage is waiting and the Cruise Ships will be starting again soon!
Hope to see you again,
Many Thanks,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
336 reviews
9.5 mi away
Salmon Point Resort RV Park & Marina
Salmon Point Resort RV Park & Ma...
#7 of 15 in Campbell River
79 reviews
12.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
575 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort
#10 of 16 in Campbell River
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort

Address: 170 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Campbell River
Price Range: $83 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort! We are a Year-Round, quiet, Adult oriented Inn and RV Resort offering Daily,Short, Longterm or Holiday stays for our Guests. Located across from the Beach, overlooking the Ocean and Mudge Point Lighthouse, we are on the main Ocean Passage for all vessels heading North to Alaska. From our Ocean View Cottages enjoy sparkling Cruise Ship views, have a Beach Fire or walk our beautiful 8 km Seawalk. Our thoroughly pristine, well Appointed Cottages provide exceptional quality, tailored to the decerning Guest. Full Kitchens with all amenities, Flat Screen TV and DVD Player. Chocolates, Tea, Coffee and Fresh Cream are included. Cable and Wifi for all Guests. We are located five minutes to Downtown, close to all Restaurants and Boutique Shopping. Come for Adventure - go Whale or Bear Watching, Fishing or Sailing. Enjoy Campbell River and our Outstanding Oceanview Cottages at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing