We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humpback and Orca collide - once in a life time?”

Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 34 Tours in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We can be found in "The Floathouse" located on Dock E in the Discovery Harbour Marina in beautiful Campbell River, British Columbia.
Upper Largo, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Humpback and Orca collide - once in a life time?”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a genuinely unforgettable day out with our three children (12 and 10 year old twins). As with so many other wildlife viewing experiences it started quietly - one bald eagle in 2 hours - but with Aaron's keen eyes we eventually saw a black bear on the shore and another swimming in front f us shortly thereafter. Radio communication promised us Orca, hundreds of dolphin and humpback to come.

We had lunch watching the mother and calf humpback and just as we were about to leave them the Orca started to head in their direction. Aaron was excited but fairly sure there would be no encounter. Then it began to look inevitable and suddenly there was some thrashing on the surface and moaning of a kind that was unlike any whale I'd heard on TV as the Orca tried to split mother and calf. Mixed emotions at seeing such a rare sight but the Orca eventually gave up.

They weren't finished hunting though - within 10-20 minutes one got a sea lion but it to got away and we saw it gathering its wits in the shallows. We finished off with a display from some 300 dolphin on the way back.

Not for the faint hearted but while some day I may see bubble netting or a spectacular display of breaching - which are much more visible - this really was an incredibly lucky trip and one that will live with us all despite so much of it happening so fast and under water.

A most sincere thank you from all five Robertsons.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    12
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience you wont forget”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent a wonderful two days with Jack and his team, on both the whale watching and grizzly bear tour. All the staff were utterly delightful and very knowledgeable. Jack in particular really went out of his way to help us and ensure we got to see all the wildlife, of which he is very passionate about. I couldn't recommend their integrity and professionalism more highly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nbrannan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsmeer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

On the 14th of august AJ took us on a beuatifull day for a six hour Zodiac tour. We saw all: sealions, seals, bears, orka's, a grey whale, lots of white sided dolphins, bald eagles. Splendid explanation. Highlight of the tour was the spectacular "fishlunch" seagulls and bald eagles took on the tide chance. Lots of suicide fish (hake?) served themselves to the birds. Quite impressive. Did also some rapids. A great day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived in Campbell River en route to Knight Inlet Lodge, and decided to go whale watching having not done it before. We were shown whirlpools, dolphins, harbour seals, porpoises...before going on a hunt for a pod of Orca, or killer whales. After about half an hour of searching, our excellent guide found them, as they scavenged for food. And just as a treat on the way back to Campbell River, we saw a black bear on the shore eating crabs! What more could you ask for?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Qld, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I went on a six hour whale watching tour on 15 August 2012 in one of the speedy red zodiacs - super fast and comfortable. We were lucky to encounter Transient orca and a huge pod of white-sided dolphin.

Kurt was our guide for the day, he was friendly and informative.

Like many people, seeing orca in the wild has been a lifelong dream for me...we were privileged to witness the Transient orca hunt and kill white-sided dolphin and afterward come and dive right under our boat for an up close and personal experience (the orca came to us we didn't go to them) this is something we will never forget.

A large pod of white-sided dolphin swarmed around us and 'surfed' in our wake - a memorable sight that we will never forget.

Lunch was great too :-)

Thank you Kurt....Cheers and best wishes to you

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing