We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath taking experience”

Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 30 Tours in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We can be found in "The Floathouse" located on Dock E in the Discovery Harbour Marina in beautiful Campbell River, British Columbia.
Almere, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Breath taking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We went on the whale watching tour and saw the Orca's as well as 500 dolphins. It was spectacular. Also saw black bears on the beaches. Our guide was Aerin ( hope I spell this rigth) and he really took his time, we stayed way over the 6 hours and had the most perfect day.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank marisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    10
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Whale and Bear Watching Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Let me start by saying this was a great value for the price.
These guys were great for several reasons.
They use these zodiac boats so you are really close to the water and to the action.They loved viewing the animals as much as we did, I mean this was something they “loved” doing and it showed in how they led the trip. We actually stayed out about an hour or hour and a half longer than the tour for whale watching was supposed to be because we were seeing so many good things and having so much fun. Jack the guide actually said, “if no one has dinner plans we are just going to stay out” and everyone was in full agreement.

On whale watching day we saw lots…dozens and dozens of Orcas, some from the local pods and some from the transient pods that are just passing through the straights. Each group acts a little different and we had the pleasure of watching some of the transient Orcas corner a large group of dolphins in a cove and move in on them for dinner. We literally sat and watched it all unfold for about an hour. It was like being in the middle of a National Geographic shoot….so cool. We also saw hundreds of North Pacific White Sided Dolphins, dozens of Dahl’s Porpoise, 2 black bear, harbor seals and other stuff.

Grizzly Bear day is a 2 hour enclosed boat ride to an inlet on mainland Canada to some Indian lands. Of course on the way we had to stop and look at Orcas…Jen our guide just could not help herself. We also saw several bald eagles, a group of harbor seals sunning on some rocks and various other life. At the Grizzly area we were shuttled in a small bus to several different viewing stands that sit about 10 ft off the ground overlooking a river. We moved around several different times before we found a hot spot where bears were coming out of the woods to feed. We saw two grizzlies, but one came out and gave us our monies worth. It frolicked in the river, caught a fish, took it to the rocks and stripped off the flesh and ate it and then left the carcass on the rocks and went into deeper water to try and capture a few more salmon. It never really caught anymore and eventually left the river and wandered back into the woods. All of this was within about 35 to 50 yards from us, so it was a nice show that lasted about 20 minutes or so.

Let me end by saying this was a great value for the price, and in my opinion they were well worth it. I would definitely do both of them again. They do include a good healthy lunch with both tours. And the guides were so nice and knowledgeable! Jack and Jen were our two guides and both of them were really nice folks. I totally enjoyed spending the day with them and learning from them.

We stayed above the boat house that the tour company uses for their offices. They have a one bed room apartment upstairs that is very clean and fully furnished for cooking. It was cool because they have a deck off the living area that sits above the water and overlooks the marina and all the cool boats (lots of yachts) that are moored there. This whole experience was very cool and I wish we would have had a couple of more days there to hang out and do some more exploring.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliebTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, BC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked our 6 hr. whale watching tour the night before as we were looking for something to do for the Labour Day weekend. The place was very easy to find and well located. We were greeted warmly and provided everything we would need to be comfortable for the day. The Zodiac we were in was great for quick maneuvering, spotting wildlife, and it was quiet enough to carry on a conversation.
Our day was filled with dolphins, porpoises, Orcas, deer, seals, and bald eagles, not to mention some pretty fantastic scenery. The dolphins were the highlight for us as we saw several pods along the way and they came and played right beside the boat. Highly entertaining! One pod of about 200 was having a feeding frenzy and the water just churned everywhere we looked.
Captain Jack was informative on the wildlife, but also on the landmarks which was really nice. We stopped for lunch at Port Neville and were treated to a great spread!
We had a wonderful time and will definitely be recommending them to our friends and family!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ComoxTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best wildlife trip we've ever done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We booked a whale watching trip with Hurricane Jack for the 18th of August. I had been in touch with him by email a couple of times the previous month and he had been so helpful. I was really looking forward to the trip and I wasn't disappointed. The girls in the office had warned us not to have anything booked for immediately after the trip because sometimes it runs on. How right they were. The six hour trip turned into a little over eight because Jack wanted us to see so much. We saw bear, bald eagles and Orca, oh the Orca. There were a number of pods and in total I think we saw about 40. They were truly amazing. Jack had a sonar microphone that he dropped so we could hear them "talking". It was amazing and Jack is so knowledgeable that he recognised the different family groups and was able to describe their language.
It was the best wildlife trip we've ever been on and I really couldn't recommend Hurricane Jack enough.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent wildlife tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Had a great time on their 4 hour wildlife tour. Had the opportunity to see harbor seals, porpoises, sea otters, black bears, orca and even a bald eagle feeding frenzy (really!). Our guide, Jack, was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and the areas history. Also appreciated how respectful he was of the animals. Not the most adventuresome driver - we saw other zodiacs jumping rapids and falls, so not the place to go if you are looking for a wild ride. But a great wildlife experience.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRWWAT, Owner at Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thanks so much for writing about your tour; we always love reading about how our guests enjoyed their time on the water with us! The bald eagles at Jimmy Judd are a particular favourite of ours as well! So glad you came at the right time of year to view them during the Hake run. If you are ever back in Campbell River and want a wilder ride, come see us again and we will take you out on our Ocean Rapids Tour; gauranteed to go wild and get you wet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing