We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Truth and Details Regarding the Lighthouse Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 Campbell River B&B and Inns
Edmonton, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some Truth and Details Regarding the Lighthouse Suite”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

First, some context. Our family (one infant, one dog, two parents) were spending a couple of weeks in Campbell River for work, so we needed a place that was more like a short term vacation rental than a B&B. Hidden Harbour also billed itself as a vacation rental, so we thought it was going to be perfect.

The Good:
Inge and Jurgen are very kind hosts. They are terrific cooks, and you'll find the breakfasts to be tasty and varied. They have excellent suggestions for attractions and shopping in the area; take advantage of their local knowledge! The house is in a great location, with great views of the water and Quadra Island. The bedrooms are a nice size with good quality linens and furniture. Bathroom was well finished and stocked with everything you'll need (including some really nice local artesian soap!) Neat artwork throughout the house. Since we were travelling with an infant, the owners provided us with a crib, high chair, stroller, and some toys. This was incredibly nice, and made our time there really easy. They even had a bed for the dog in the living room. They were really kind to both the dog and our child which made us feel better about importing such a madhouse into a B&B.

The… Less Good:
We were staying in the upstairs "Lighthouse Suite", using both the Library and Gallery Bedrooms, together with the bathroom. Unlike traditional suites, you will not have exclusive use of the living room, dining room or kitchen. Though we were the only ones using the living room, we were asked to remove our personal belongings (a tupperware bin and some bags) from the room and keep them in our bedrooms. The owners often used the stairs adjacent to the living room to move around the house; kind of awkward if you're reading on the couch in the evenings. Often we would just read in the bedroom instead.

The dining room is used for the breakfasts for all the guests and you'll share the kitchen with the owners. This meant that we always felt less than completely comfortable using the kitchen and dining room to prepare and eat our meals. We had a little bit of space in their second refrigerator just off the kitchen, and kept our other food in our bedrooms. This meant cooking meals was a long-distance activity, wandering from one end of the house to the other to gather ingredients. We had grand dreams of seafood dinners and relaxing evenings in the house that never really panned out due to the shared nature of the kitchen and the un-private nature of the living room.

Since we had the baby with us, we had to spend a little more time hanging around the B&B during naptimes and bedtimes than perhaps is customary for a B&B. Overall we never felt completely comfortable using the space as if it was our own.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lighthouse Suite (Gallery and Library rooms) if you're looking for privacy, or if kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
I appreciate these comments as they allow some clarification for future guests. Our Vacation Rental attribute is only applicable to the Discovery Suite, not to the Lighthouse Suite. In this specific case the Vacation Rental was already partly booked and we offered the Lighthouse Suite for a special price but still with a lot of extra service.
Dogs are welcome and we love to have them around us, especially since our own dog passed away, but after this experience of cleaning the house from dog hair for 2 hours we decided to charge an extra $40 cleaning fee if guests bring dogs.
If guests (up to four) book our Lighthouse Suite, they get a first class B&B experience in an executive setting with lots of space and unobstructed ocean view. Our own presence can be reduced to a bare minimum as we can use a separate entrance ourselves, but many of our guests appreciate the personal contact and our extensive advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for easter holiday and found out this is really nice experiences and we were completely satisfied. Room is very cozy and clean and view from the room as well as from the garden is fantastic. Host instructed how to get the Elk falls kindly even before we checked in B&B. Breakfast next morning is far beyond the average and we spend nice chatting with our host. How luckey we were to stay here!

Room Tip: libraly room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomaru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

You could not ask for better hosts than Jurgen and Inge. They made us feel so welcome to their beautiful home with its delightful garden, spacious building and clean rooms.

We stayed the night in the Discovery Suite as we were travelling with baby and it was perfect for us. With two fully equipped rooms, a bathroom across the hall and kitchenette we could not ask for more. They fully accommodated us as a family and made us all, including baby, feel right at home with a crib, high chair and some great toys. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great selection of foods which we could not eat enough of. They are wonderful cooks.

I can't emphasize enough the peace and tranquility you feel here. We wish we could have stayed longer to have enjoyed more of the B&B (including use of that hot tub!), but with no doubt we will be back soon. We can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorianPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Ken and I spent a long weekend, our first ever in Campbell River, at the Hidden Harbour B&B in early February. What a little gem is. The room (the downstairs suite) is very comfortable, cozy with a fire place. A little kitchen allowed us to relax and prepare a light snack for dinner when we were too tired to enjoy a dinner out. The hot tub is right outside the door and always available. The location is very convenient and the view is spectacular. We were treated to a beautiful sunrise on the second morning.
The breakfasts were delicious and very generous, European style, fresh fruit, bread, cheeses, cereal, yogurt followed by a tasty main course. Certainly kept us going for the day!
However, best of all, the hosts, Inge and Jurgen, are very friendly, interesting and full og great advice on how best to see this beautiful corner of Vancouver Island. We will be back. Thank you INge and Jurgen.
Inge and Ken

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. This is one of the best B&B's you will ever stay at. Excellent hosts, clean, spacious and fully equipped rooms, excellent facilities, exquisite breakfasts, gorgeous surroundings, lots of activities to choose from; this B&B was a true highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: The Discovery Suite overlooks the garden and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eXnOf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed a 4 night stay in this very comfortable B&B with its lovely garden and splendid views. Inge and Jurgen are very welcoming and friendly hosts who give you plenty of local information. They serve delicious and plentiful breakfasts, which is usually served at 8.30am, but they willingly provide earlier breakfasts if you are going on a trip. We stayed in the Discovery Suite, which is ideal for a couple or a family. The bathroom is across a hall from the bedrooms and is next to a small kitchen area with tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave. The Suite has its own entrance so guests have complete privacy during their stay. Wild life viewing trips from Campbell River can be spectacular. Restaurants in Campbell River were disappointing, except for Riptides Pub which was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed in the Discovery Suite at Hidden Harbour for 2 nights & it was easily one of the best places we stayed during our month long trip through BC. Jurgen & Inge are lovely hosts, their home is beautiful, warm & welcoming, and the food is fantastic.

Can't recommend them enough!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyGiles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.9 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beachway B&B Suites
Beachway B&B Suites
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B

Property: Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B
Address: 279 Murphy St S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Campbell River on Vancouver Island, on the West Coast of Canada, features more than 10 km of shoreline and is the recreational hub for the central and north island! The Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B, surrounded by colourful gardens, is overlooking Discovery Passage - customers may enjoy their privacy, the panoramic Ocean View, and all other amenities, just like in a shell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing