We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try something different, you wont be disappointed!”

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Castlegar
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Description: Chameleon Restaurant-a fully licensed family restaurant,- is located down town in the center of Castlegar in the previous-once famous -Marlane Hotel, now Chameleon Hotel- with its own restaurant entrance. There is space for 39 people inside and a huge sunny licensed patio outside. The atmosphere is very intimate european. The food is all made from scratch and is major German and European like different Schnitzels, Bratwurst, Maultaschen Soup etc, but also incl. a variety of Spaghetti dishes,French dishes, Borsch, etc. The salads are all big chef salads and filling,and of course for the North Americans...home style Hamburgers. We speak english, german russian, romanian, french, open for lunch & dinner.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try something different, you wont be disappointed!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I took my wife to the Chameleon Restaurant for our Anniversary this summer. We were not familiar with the German style cuisine but the server was very helpful and explained the menu items in detail. We tried a variety of dishes and found them all very satisfying including dessert. It was a nice meal and a good beginning to our night that we topped off with a Sculpture Walk. The next time we are in Castlegar for dinner we will definitely go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartmut K, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you very much for the nice comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Robson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful, unique dining experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love eating at this lovely little downtown restaurant. It is open on Sundays, which is a big bonus in Castlegar. Try it out - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina K, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you Rebecca for the nice recommendation , greatly appreciated. We wish you a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymir
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Veggie Lasagna”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We needed a quick Sunday lunch and based on a recommendation called for lasagna takeout. It was delicious, came with a perfect salad, and the two servings fed the four of us easily. The price was very fair, and Kaden and Marianna were very accommodating as they were actually not open at the time. The decor is very European, intimate and tasteful, I'm definitely going back. I wish them much success in Castlegar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brault K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina K, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you Brault, we are very glad you liked our Lasagne and our place.We are looking forward to see you again and all The Best to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is great place for a relaxing meal. The selection on the menu is a bit different but I have been here a few times and never disappointed. The out door seating is a great choice on a nice day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00fxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina K, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review- our first one we got - and we are very happy that it was a good one. :) Good karma and we try to keep it up for the furture.GOOD LUCK TO YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing