We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damage Scam”
Review of Cozy Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cozy Pines Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have all heard of it, but never think it will happen to you. They did it to me, and charged my CC $250,00. There are several reasons why this motel always have rooms available, when the entire town is booked solid. BEWARE.

Room Tip: No room is safe from "damage scam".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim B, Manager at Cozy Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

When Mr H. registered for a Non-Smoking Room, he signed a rental contract that clearly stated his room was 100% smoke free. Further, the contract stated he would be responsible for all damages caused to the room, furnishings or fixtures and a $250.00 cleaning fee could be assessed. We would prefer our guests have a pleasant memory of their stay. In Mr H's case, this was not possible. The maid that cleaned his room the following morning reported that the room had been smoked in. In addition someone had been sick on the carpet. To return the room to a rentable state, we must clean the carpet, wash all the curtains, towels, bedding, wash the walls and windows and give the room a top to bottom cleaning. To remove the smell, we must air the room out for several days to get rid of the odour. The costs of the cleaning and lost rental is well in excess of the $250.00 cleaning fee Mr H. was charged. While we regret having to charge Mr H. we cannot afford to absorb costs forced upon us by irresponsible and inconsiderate individuals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this little place. The rooms may be a bit dated, but they are extremely clean and well maintained. We stayed here 3 nights while visiting friends and found the place more than adequate. If you have 5 star expectations, than this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a cozy well priced place than this is a good pick. It is right off the highway so can get a bit noisy, but other than that the place met our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The motel was old, tired, shabby, dirty and in an extremely noisey location. The flowers on the outside are faded plastic, the indoor/outdoor carpet in front is torn and it doesn't get any better inside. The sheets and towels are worn and faded and the towels and bathmat had holes. The wallpaper border near the ceiling was curled and peeling and any repairs that were done to the room were slipshod and poorly done ....... ie: molding that was "almost" the right size.

On the upside, the woman at the front desk that checked me in was friendly and courteous, but unfortunately it doesn't make up for the poor quality room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This motel has so much potential if the owners would put some effort and money into modernizing it.. It's a nice place to stay if you're into 70"s scenery in each room.. The rooms are most definately clean and reasonably priced with a good location just the interior of each room is... Well awful. The beds are most definately not the best nor the old school tvs with old school cable boxes, wifi is hit and miss. True you can't hear the highway but still not a motel I would go back to with children.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetmomsaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just on the left side of the highway 3 when coming into town. Stop there on the way back to Lethbridge from Vancouver on a snowy evening. Stated in room 106. It was a fair sized with two good sized beds. Very clean and not noisey even though it is beside the highway. For the price and cleanliness I recommend staying. It has a mini fridge, with plates, cups and eating utencils. We ordered out for deliverly so that was a plus for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lethbridge_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Cozy Pines was a welcome stop on a snowy drive from Kelowna.

Recommended as being pet friendly and was surprised at how quiet it was (despite its highway location).

Room was not huge, but I don't need a suite when traveling.

Great hotel and very much recommended.

Room Tip: Even rooms near the highway are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castlegar hotels
2.3 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#2 of 8 in Castlegar
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Pines Motel

Address: 2118 Crestview Cres, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 3B3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range: $68 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cozy Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cozy Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing