We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it...again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Castlegar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it...again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was not my first stay at the Windborne, and it certainly won't be my last! A lovely home with wonderful guest rooms, amazing full-body massaging shower heads and the beds...oooh, the beds are soooo comfortable! I love soaking in their hot tub under the evening stars. Marc & Mirja are the friendliest, most down to earth people and really do make every guest feel welcome. They go above and beyond to ensure your stay is not only comfortable, but memorable and enjoyable! Don't let mill across the river scare you away...it has never been issue from a noise or smell perspective. I didn't even notice it when I was sitting out in the hottub! This B&B is a real jewel and really sets the standard in the Kootenays!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us. It is such a pleasure to have you in our home and always look forward to your stay. Hope you have a great holiday season and we will see you in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
132
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enchant, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were very impressed with our stay at the Windbourne B&B in Castlegar, B.C.! From the time we arrived we felt we were at home with the beautiful gardens, lovely rooms, and wonderful hospitality. Since arriving back home we have told many friends and family about this great stopover on our way out from Alberta to the Okanagan. We loved the beautiful artwork painted by Mirja throughout the home and the superb breakfast prepared by Marc.This was one of the nicest Bed and Breakfasts we have been to and we will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeedsEnchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you were impressed with everything and felt at home. We look forward to seeing you on any future trips that bring you our way. Again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The abundance of good reviews led us to book a stay at Windborne Bed and Breakfast. As we drove to the site we appreciated beautiful views along the Columbia River. We were stopped in our tracks, however, when the B&B turned out to be located directly across the river from a pulp mill. If it hadn't been for my wife encouraging me to go through with the reservation, I would have turned around and sought another location.
The house was beautiful, the room was very clean and attractively decorated, the host was friendly and accommodating, the breakfast delicious. This is fine if you can stand to listen to the mill all night and smell the foul fumes. In our case, however, it would prevent us from another stay at this home.

Room Tip: If constant industrial noise and foul smell bother you, choose and different location for your retre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorianPerepelitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Statistics on trip advisor reviews show that 95% of Windborne B&B guests do not react negatively to Celgar.
Quick facts:
1. In 1993, Celgar invested $850 million dollars to create one of the most environmentally and modern treatment facilities in the world.
2. In 2009, as part of their Green Transformation Program, the Canadian government provided approximately $58 million for projects designed to meet certain energy efficiency or environmental improvement requirements.
3. In 2010, Celgar invested $65 Million on a steam turbo generator. This virtually eliminates up to 96% of the steam pollution entering the atmosphere. It reduces heat loss and noise pollution. This turbo generator not only generates enough electricity to run Celgar, it produces excess electricity for the grid.
4. 425 people are employed at Celgar.
5. Celgar is a generous corporate sponsor to the community of Castlegar.
6. Celgar continually works toward reducing waste materials by recycling and upgrades.
7. Waste water to river is non-toxic.
8. Celgar continues to make progress in reducing air emissions.
9. Celgar is in the top 10 for Kraft Mills in North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hosts, great food, excellent beds! Good places to walk, lovely gardens. I stayed while taking a painting workshop hosted by Mirja and we had a great studio space to work in. Thanks Marc and Mirja!

Room Tip: Great hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are both glad you had a great workshop. When ever you are back in the area please drop in for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been to Canada a number of times and this was our first time to stay in a Bed and breakfast. We were very happy with our choice. Mark, the owner and host, and his wife Mirja were amazing and their service was great. They were helpful with suggestions of where we should go and what we should look at. They were very down to earth people and we enjoyed sitting and talking with them.
The rooms were awesome. The bed were comfortable and the bathroom and jetted showers were relaxing. The outdoor jacuzzi was a wonderful way to spend our relaxing evenings. The meals were awesome and Mark went out of his way to provide amazing breakfasts. He is very courteous about one's allergies and how best he can help with any dietary restrictions.
Some people have complained about the pulp mill being right across the river. We didn't find this a problem. The air is fresh and it is nice walking around the grounds, which Mark works tediously on to provide a relaxing environment. The pulp mill noise is nothing but white noise - especially if you are from the city and you have all the pollution and traffic noise. We hardly noticed anything due to the beautiful area.
We would definitely recommend the Windbourne and will try to make it back up in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidisParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are very happy that this was your first B&B experience. We take great pride in making breakfast for all our guests so we are glad you enjoyed it along with all the other services we offer. Thank you for recommending Windborne B&B and hopefully our paths will cross again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Gracious hosts, delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts, gorgeous new B&B with wonderful & warm hottub surrounded by spectular gardens and foliage with 13 foot sunflowers. Our room was presented with a wonderful nights sleep in top of the line linens and super clean and beautiful bath area. We recommend it highly and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Hottub (not swimming pool) and wonderful and warm enjoying the evening skies. Beautifully landscaped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonSimpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. You are very gracious house guests. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the hot tub area. Our Sunflower took 1st place in the Pass Creek fall fair. Looking forward to any future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Finally, somewhere to stay in Castlegar that’s not a franchise roadside motel or a run down “no tell motel”! Windborne B&B meets the threshold tests of a good Bed & Breakfast: (1) Pleasing, contemporary furnishings and a new, purpose built home (2) Lush mattresses and linens (3) Private bathrooms with “bells & whistles” plumbing (4) A hot tub (5) Decks or patios (6) Breakfasts of pancakes, poached eggs, French toast, and fresh fruit cups (not all at the same time!), and (7) An enthusiastic host. They also surpass the average B & B on some key perks: (1) They promise to accommodate food allergies, and did. (2) They promise to be pet friendly, and were. (3) They also provide a guest fridge, and made room in their pantry for our extra dry-groceries and in their freezer for our ice packs. (4) When they say, “you’re welcome to use our kitchen” they mean it. We were able to prepare cold plates, and to prepare our pet’s dinners, without once feeling like we were intruding or putting out our hosts. Their one challenge, location, they meet head on. The Windborne is located across the river from the Celgar Pulp and Paper Mill. It’s not something your can really ignore! And not everyone has a nostalgic childhood memory (as I do) of travelling along the Broadwater Road looking at the Mill and thinking “It’s just like a big City.” because of the tall buildings and myriad lights! So I mention it, because hey it’s there and might be a bit a shock to a first time visitor as they round the bend, but the home’s been situated on the lot to minimize the Mill’s dominance on the horizon, and the upper hillside’s been landscaped to provide an alternative, relaxing view.

Room Tip: The Moonlight offers the largest suite, but any of the three are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coonhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. It is always a pleasure to see you when you stay with us. Thank you for all the nice things you said about us. At present our irises are up in full bloom. We look forward to seeing you both again on Date night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
4.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
18.6 mi away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
4.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windborne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Property: Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3900 Broadwater Rd, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. Many of our guests, both business and holiday travellers, have expressed how comfortable and welcome they feel at Windborne B&B. We've heard appreciation for the luxurious surroundings and casual atmosphere, plus for the great breakfasts. That about sums up why we are in business! It's all about people and providing a great place to stay. Temperature regulated by a heat pump for your comfort. Soft water system. Post and beam construction. Purpose built in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windborne Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing