We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, even on New Year's Eve”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We made a last minute booking on New Year's Eve, and were so glad we chose the Flamingo. It cost HALF of what the Sandman was asking, and we got twice as much room! We stayed in #5, a suite with full fridge & stove, as well as everything we could need - kettle, toaster, dishes, a TV in the main room and another in the bedroom, and so on. Everything was clean and nice. Unlike many motels, there was no trace of mildew or that "old" smell you sometimes get. This was important to me, as I had no trouble with allergies here. There was even a beautiful handmade quilt on the bed, to help us feel right at home. On top of everything else, Frank and Deb were very accommodating of our 2 (well-behaved) dogs, who enjoyed the comfortable holiday, too. Thanks so much for making this a really lovely, inexpensive holiday for us! We'll stay here again next time we need a place in Castlegar.

Room Tip: We chose a suite, and it was still very inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi Jenna, We are very happy that we were able to assist in making your New Years Eve a pleasant experience. You folks were also a pleasure to have stay with us. I say this often but it's folks like you that make the Flamingo such a great place. Thank you so much.
We look forward to your next visit!
Frank and Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a lovely motel beautifully clean and well run. The rooms were really small suites and one of the owners made great muffins for breakfast! The motel is located centrally in Castlegar. Altogether a great town to visit and an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: Any one they have available - probably best to call ahead if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi "Morrian". Thank You for taking the time to post such an excellent review! We really appreciate you business and trust that the rest of your trip was safe and enjoyable. Remember, we have much larger Full Kitchen, and Double suites as well - they cost a little more tho :-). We do look forward to seeing you next time you come this way.
Warmest Regards,
Frank and Debra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

i spent seven weeks as a guest of the flamingo motel. frank and deb did their best to make me feel at home fresh muffins every day.super clean rooms, well kept building and grounds. i will stay again any time i am near castlegar.thanks so much guys

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Hi Cam, It's great to hear from you and Thank You so much for the great review! Debra was saying that it's kinda strange around here without you :-) Did you get the link to the artist that I sent you? Thank you for your business and a Merry Christmas to you!
Best Regards,
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel
Castlegar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We needed an overnight stay in Castlegar to catch a morning flight weather permitting. The Flamingo was perfect. And it is not just the location. Our room, #2, was perfect. The place was absolutely clean. The bed is comfortable decorated with very warm quilted bedspreads. Frank was a congenial fellow making sure the room met our needs by giving us a personal tour. He was also helpful in suggesting local places to eat. We won't hesitate to stay here again. And a bouquet goes to Frank for the special touch of muffins delivered to our room that evening. What a guy! Thanks again. PS: he provided a great lost and found service by phoning us while we were still in Castlegar. All ended well!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

A Big Hello you guys! Thank yo so much for the great review - We really appreciate it! You were here just a short time and it was a bit chilly, but we really enjoyed your visit and getting to know you a bit..We do look forward to the next time that you are back in our area, we would like to visit with you longer.
Warmest regards and Merry Christmas!
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stay here whenever I'm working out of the Southeast Fire Centre and that has been going on for the last 6 years. Nice clean rooms with full kitchens. Deb and Frank are great hosts especially when Frank shows up in the evening with fresh muffins. In season you even get to raid the cherry tree. For me it's definitely a bright spot when working away from home.
Don Pegues

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi Don! Nice to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review. We always enjoy having you stay with us and hearing of what you have been up to. Merry Christmas to you and we look forward to seeing you next summer.
Frank and Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Delayed in Castlegar, this cute place was perfect for my quick visit. Clean room, with a beautiful hand crafted quilt, cozy outdoor gazebo to visit with Frank and relax. Fresh baked muffins, and Frank was so helpful to give me a fast ride to the airport I was disappointed that the attached quilt shop was closed, but next time in Castkegar I will be there. Thanks for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Denise, Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are pleased that you got your flight out OK. I really enjoyed our visit in the Gazebo "talking shop". Best wishes in your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Frank and Debra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are on a three month trip 'round the perimeter and up into Canada, avoiding the Interstates and chain hotels, getting to know some lesser known places. At this point, we've stayed at 20 or 30 places: camping cabins to off-season resort hotels. The Flamingo is just the kind of place we always hope to find: small, homey, and friendly. Thank you, Trip Advisor, for recommending unique places like this one. From the initial phone call, we felt so welcomed. Frank is truly an exceptional host = he takes the time to chat, makes nutritious muffins for his guests and makes helpful suggestions about where to go/what to see in the area. The Flamingo had everything these travelers could want: cleanliness, friendliness and a host that went the extra mile for two tired Vermonters who had never even heard of Castlegar.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms. Grab one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoVermonters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi you Vermont Gals! Good to hear from you! What a fantastic trip you are having - it was nice to receive an email from you along the way. Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review, and Debra thanks you for the hand crocheted nappy's. Hope to see you again.
Regards, Frank and Debra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
1.6 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
14.2 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 1660 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range: $67 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our little oasis in the center of Castlegar. Our Motel features economical salesman/sleeping suites as well as full kitchen suites. All of our beds have home made quilts and our Park and Gazebo with a gas BBQ is very popular meeting/gathering place for guests. You won't find cleaner or cozier accommodations anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing