We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castlegar Super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 491 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Not sure if this was good value or not. As a Super 8 it was fine and the room compared with that of a Hampton Inn, apart from the fixtures and fittings. Eg no wardrobe or closet, just a clothes rail. The fridge and microwave just stuck there on their own, but not a problem for us.

Also the large FS TV had the cable dangling down. Again not an issue but it made the room look messy.

The beds were comfortable and we had all we needed. Including china cups - hooray! And a generous supply of coffee pods and all the trimmings. Much more upmarket properties just provide measly paper cups these days.

The bathroom which was excellent apart from two cracked floor tiles which really should be replaced.

The building was odd and seemed to be designed round their feature pool (slide not available during our stay. Oh dear.). Not sure why Canadian motels see the need to have kiddies pools? Have seen them elsewhere.

Hotel room designers please take note: do try out the facilities you design. So many places put the toilet roll where people of our age find difficulty reaching without causing serious back injuries. This Super 8 was the first of the last 11 hotels to put the toilet roll in a sensible place. Also, print SHAMPOO in larger letters on those little bottles please. You try working out which is which in a hot shower without your spectacles when you're coming up to 67! I think Super8 did poorly here!

Internet was poor and unstable. I had to keep signing in then would lose the signal again. Finally gave up on it.

As well as the odd design, the building is just plonked in the middle of a public car park serving all sorts of businesses. We would prefer to see dedicated parking.

In the morning you get out of the elevator and are greeted with trolleys full of laundry (again, with the odd design of this hotel, the hotel laundry was given prominence right next to the reception desk. Maybe they are proud of their clean linen but it did seem most odd).

And the washing-up sink is right in the middle of all the breakfast stuff. Breakfast was chaotic, disorganised and a disappointment.

Apart from those few moans, our stay was excellent. We did not eat at the adjacent restaurant as prices seemed rather high. Castlegar, we did not get to grips with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Super 8 Castlegar. We do rely on guest to advise us of any conditions in the room needing attention. This building has been here since the early 60s and is a landmark in our town. Sorry you had to see our staffs morning routine, we do try to be discrete. Thank you for trying us, we do hope you will again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times and the condition continues to decline. The beds in this particular room (313) were wore out likly 3-5 years ago but continue to be utilized. Teh far bed literally had a indentation in it making it impossible to escape without crawling out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank SamuelandSaphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

I am disappointed to hear about your stay with us at the Super 8 in Castlegar.i offer my sincere apology for the bed that you had to sleep in.It has been recently repaired .we've appreciated your business in the past and hope you feel comfortable enough to try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindy C, General Manager at Super 8 Castlegar BC, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
20.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
1.8 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Castlegar BC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Castlegar BC

Address: 651 18th St, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range: $97 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Castlegar BC 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Castlegar BC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Castlegar
Super Eight Castlegar
Castlegar Super Eight
Castlegar Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing