We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlas Cafe

Atlas Cafe
Ranked #2 of 140 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My daughter and I went here for lunch after walking in Seal Bay Park. We arrived around 2 o'clock. I had a chicken caesar salad and my daughter had egglant and sweet potato quesadillas. Both were very generous sizes, fresh and flavourful. In fact, the quesadillas were so plentiful, we brought two of them home. I had a glass of white wine from Beaufort Winery. We split a piece of the chocolate cheesecake for dessert. Decadent and rich, and delicious down to the last crumb. Definitely worth going for a meal here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fairyqueen286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    170
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Atlas has a wonderfully varied menu and first class service. The staff are friendly and caring, and the food is superb, beautifully presented and a treat every time. Fresh, local, organic, vegan they have it all and every dish is something a little different from your run of the mill fare. We've never been disappointed there. And deserts to lose yourself in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food tucked away in Courtney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I had dinner here recently. Atlas has a small front on 5th street but is fairly spacious inside. They had a good drink selection with local beers on tap. Food was well done. My wife had the vegan platter. I was a little surprised when the waitress asked if she wanted chicken or shrimp on it. A lot of vegans would be very offended but luckily my wife just laughed. I had the Atlas burger without bacon. The burger came with brie cheese and brandy poached pears on it. I wasn't sure about fruit on a burger but the mix of flavours worked. Another little perk was the fresh peas in my green salad. I love fresh, raw peas and they were a welcome addition to the salad. All in all, it was a nice meal which made for an great date night without being overly costly.

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absoloutly delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are passing through Courtenay make an effort to stop here for lunch or dinner, you will not be disappointed! Everything on the menu is so fresh and they try to use local and organic whenever possible. They even have many vegan friendly dishes, which was what impressed me the most! The ambience is also fabulous!
Highly recommended and can't wait to return!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eggs Benny to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

All I can say is get the Atlas Benny. Smoked salmon, homemade hollaindaise, capers and loads of fresh fruit. Yum on a plate

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JULIA_9036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlas Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Atlas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing