We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Atlas Cafe

Atlas Cafe
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Comox, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food at the Atlas is AMAZING. The service could be better but isn't bad or anything. Also, it can get a bit cramped and warm in there. The tables at the front are a bit weird because you are right there with the people standing waiting to be seated- hope you don't get seated there. But overall, as the title suggests, the restaurant is of very high quality and if you are visiting town I suggest you check them out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    184
    26
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food, not great service”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food is reasonably priced and quite tasty. Beef short rib burritos are awesome. But it was clear our waiter forgot to put in our order as we waited a long time for our food and drink (other tables seated after us were almost done eating by the time we got our food), and we didn't get any apology or acknowledgement of it. That was disappointing. Still, worth a stop when in Courtenay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos from out of this world”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Day fish & wild salmon, crispy tacos with ancho pepper aioli & fruit salsa, served with caesar salad. That's the wording copied off their menu. Excellent, Outstanding and worthy of praise! The fruit salsa was a bonus. It may sound weird but you gotta try them.
My wife had the chicken focaccia with artichokes, red onions, mozzarella cheese.
Both were very good meals.
This is the place to eat on 6th Avenue!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food, terrific waiter!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

While shopping in Courtenay, my friend & I decided to have lunch at the Atlas Café. This was very definitely a good choice! I ordered a salmon burger, and was pleased to find that my salad choices were not limited to the standard 2 (Caesar or green). They had Greek, tomato & onion, and spinach. I opted for the tomato & onion.

I was thrilled when my salmon burger arrived - a lovely salmon filet on a fresh bun, as opposed to a pre-fab compressed salmon patty. The latter is generally ok (boring, but edible), but Atlas's version is a delight! The salad was a terrific combination of brie, tomato, sweet onion, and balsamic vinegar dressing - fresh, crisp, VERY tasty.

As it was a beautiful sunny day, we chose to sit on the patio - a great choice, if you have the option! Our waiter was friendly, attentive, and very competent.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant, and in fact, I've already done that more than once since our visit! We plan on returning - again & again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"NICE!!!"”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited her last week with 2 friends. It took some time for the waitress to take our order. After that everything was perfect. I had the samosas and fish tacos. Both were excellent. All 3 of us raved about the salad. They have a lovely citrus dressing. My dinner companions also both had Mexican meals and thoroughly enjoyed them. I truly love this restaurant. It's such a comfortable space. Excellence without being stuffy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlas Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Atlas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing