We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Variety, variety, and really good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlas Cafe

Atlas Cafe
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Variety, variety, and really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visit the Atlas for brunch, lunch, and are never disappointed. Even when they have just stopped serving breakfast and a request is made, they will ask and you can usually get what
You had your heart set on. The service is GOOD, the details are always taken care of. The gluten free menu they have offers choice and taste. Their hot sauce is my favorite, and for a special
Occasion I was able to order a large quantity of it, with advance notice of course. It was a hit at our party. Always a busy place, you have to plan your visit, but never disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank butler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    166
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We chose this cafe at the last minute and were glad that we didn't need reservations! The food was delicious; although, I found the salad in a deep small bowl very difficult to cut up and it had too many dry bits of bread for my comfort. The restaurant suffers from an all too often recurring theme....it's uncomfortably noisy, but I'm not sure if thats due to the restaurant or the clients!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Comoxfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
171 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Though Locals has a higher rating, we preferred this place, thanks to an innovative menu, superbly tasty dishes and much more reasonable prices. We'd previously been for lunch and found the atmosphere pretentious, but a fall dinner visit yielded a memorable and most enjoyable exzperience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always a favourite in Courtenay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Well, the food is always good - very interesting choices. Good seafood, good wraps, great atmosphere, good staff. I like to be able to buy sparkling wine by the glass. We try to eat here on every trip to Courtenay and have never been disappointed. I have gone with many different friends and we all have liked it (well except for one grumpy friend who is always very fussy).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank westsidewoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We were in the Courtenay area and looking for lunch. Checking out the TA for resturants we decided to try the Atlas Cafe. The Atlas proved to be a great place for lunch and the four of us were all very satisfied with our selections. Tastie, fresh and well presented. The service was super and friendly. This will be a great place to stop for dinner after a day of skiing on Mt. Washington.

Helpful?
1 Thank cicknryndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlas Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Atlas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing