We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service - good food - enormous portions”
Review of Monte Christo On The River - CLOSED

Monte Christo On The River
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“great service - good food - enormous portions”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On a sunny evening we dined sitting on the patio overlooking the river. A very very nice place and with a very very kind, attentive and smiling staff.
Food is good and well prepared, yet somewhat solid (pizza, burgers, steak, bbq and the like). Watch out - the portions are indeed generous. Even my teenage son was challenged in finishing up!!

A hint : Dine on the back patio if weather permits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank time2goout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing Food Better Service”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was recently in the Valley on business and came across this little gem. My wife and I were delighted with the tasty food! I had the steak and prawns, she had the chicken club wrap, it was Devine! Our server Chloe was the cherry on top of an already phenomenal night. Her infectious smile and upbeat attitude guaranteed monte christo will be our first choice next time were in town!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BC2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great setting. Good food, great prices”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

On a sunny afternoon we at riverside on the patio. Pizza is greek style and quite a range of options. We both enjoyed our choices. Great value and yummy food. Always a good combo. We'll be back for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“On the River”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had dinner with another couple. The other couple had the Greek Platter for two, and they enjoyed all of it. Big portions, and lots to take home. I ordered Saganaki nice presentation, and also great also. My husband had the duck, I believe it was the special of the day. I had the seafood bouillabaisse, was also amazing. They have a deck to eat out on, go out and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giraffes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great view of the creatures playing in the river.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Prime rib was a chunk of probably boneless prime rib meat cooked on the grill. Bread was best part of the meal. Calamari was OK. Nothing wasn't not-OK. It just wasn't...you know...great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Easygoing-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Christo On The River also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing