We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nothing special”
Review of Anco Inn

Anco Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anco Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We pitched up on the advice of the Lonely Planet and it was fine for one night. Room had space and was clean (in de-luxe wing). Service friendly even when we locked ourselves out.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brussels_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

I stay at the Anco for over a week every year with colleagues for work. We have always gotten what we paid for, cheap decent rooms.

After my most recent stay I will NEVER stay at the Anco again. We had the dirtiest, tiniest room I have ever stayed in. We were booked in for 2 people for 9 nights, and we didn't even have a counter top in the bathroom. The door got caught on the sink when you tried to open it. They had left the customer satisfaction form from the last person who had stayed. They requested clean towels not covered in someone else's hair (gross!) and that the soap dispenser be filled (it still wasn't)

The worst however was the fact that we had NO HEAT for three nights. This is in the middle of our Canadian winter so you can imagine how cold it was. They refused to move us unless we paid extra (apparently heat isn't included in hotels in Canada??). When we called to complain, the man at the front desk said "That's a problem, I can't help you". They then tried to say it was our fault as we had a do not disturb sign up, which we never would have put up if we had been told someone would be coming to look at it, instead of being told they can't do anything for us! Anyway, after talking to the manager we were given a space heater and told not to run it while anything else is running!! Nice, and so safe to keep that on all night unattended. Then to top it all off on the 3rd night with no heat someone near us started using their kitchenette and we had the foulest smell pumped into our tiny room for over 2 hours so that we had to open the window. Just what you want to do when you're already shivering.

We got a measly $20 discount for THREE DAYS WITH NO HEAT. What a joke. I will never stay here again. We come down every year for work so they are losing guaranteed customers. The 150 people we work with who also travel down at the same time were all told our experiences and I highly doubt they will ever consider staying again either. AWFUL.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ity_bity333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmanco, Manager at Anco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2008

It is always unpleasant to see a bad review of your Property but in this case things could have been different. These guests had stayed with us prior to this stay but had been located in our new wing (Deluxe room) and had been very happy. When they booked a return visit they did not want to pay the $10/day upgrade and chose to be in the older section of the Motel. When they first complained about the heat in the room it was at 1am in the morning and at that time were offered to be moved into another room for the night and then maintenance would be able to look at their heating in the morning. They declined to be moved and were given extra blankets. In the morning the Guests put their "Do Not Disturb" card on their door and apparently went to work? Policy dictates that I am unable to allow someone into their room when they place that sign on their door (why they did this knowing maintenance was to look at their heater was uncertain). When they returned we had their heater looked at and there was nothing wrong with it and it was working fine. It turns out they had left their window open fully the previous night and the baseboard heater is located directly below the window? I again offered to move them but they would be required to pay for the upgrade to the new wing (where they were very happy before) but they thought we should cover the upgrade costs. I thought that was not reasonable seeing as though all was functioning well in their room and they were simply unhappy with its age and space but simply did not want to pay for the room type they wanted. In the end they stayed where they were and did not complain any further about heat or anything else in their room. I decided to give them a $20.00 refund for their troubles even though in the Motel's opinion nothing was wrong. The room was only $60/night so this was a decent refund. I am sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay and am dissapointed to loose their business but I stand behind this Property and our Customer Service. Tracey Hill, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

My family and I recently had the great fortune to stay at the Anco Motel in Courtenay B.C (On Vancouver Island). Although the rates were surprisingly below the other properties we checked (Travelodge, Best Western) the staff, rooms and property far exceeded our expectations. As soon as we drove onto the grounds we could tell that this Motel was well cared for and kept very clean and updated. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the housekeeping staff did a great job making us feel welcome. The rate for a deluxe room with a full kitchenette (ask for the new side the extra $15.00 is well worth it) for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children (11 & 6) was only $80 plus taxes (the Travelodge was $120.00 and the Best Western over $150.00) and the room was great! This property is centrally located and easy to find! I highly reccommend it and we are looking forward to staying there again the next time we are visiting our family.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank supermomPSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtree_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.2 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,008 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 10 in Courtenay
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comox Valley Inn
Comox Valley Inn
#8 of 10 in Courtenay
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Inn

Address: 1885 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Price Range: $65 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anco Inn offers clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation and is conveniently located in the centre of town. We are within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. Come out and relax at our seasonal outdoor heated pool and as our guests enjoy free parking and upgraded WiFi. We also offer business services, storage facilities and an on site coin operated laundry. Exceptional customer service is our priority and our friendly and helpful staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Courtenay
Anco Inn Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing