We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and friendly”
Review of Anco Inn

Anco Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anco Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Alert Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affordable and friendly”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

$89.00 for two queen beds, free high speed internet, pool, and parking. There is just a shower but lots of plugs for charging computers and ipods. Even though it is located on the main road the room was very quiet. There is no airconditioning, but turning the fan on and opening the door for a while, cooled the place right down. The bed was very comfortable. If you are flying out of the Comox airport, the shuttle will pick you up and return you to the motel. The Anco will provide a place for you to park your vehicle while you are away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
15
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Anco for one night while visiting our son in Comox. The location was central and we were able to walk to downtown Courtenay very easily.

The room had a queen size bed and small fridge. It was basic amenities, but still very comfortable. The rooms at the front of the motel don't have air conditioning but there was a large fan in the room.

We hung by the outdoor pool for the day. There were only 2 other people using it at the time so it was quite enjoyable.

If you're good with the basics then this is a great place. The free wifi and free parking is a great benefit as well.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room had a reasonable size plus a small fridge. The location is very convenient to everything in Courtenay and central to the Comox Valley. The staff are friendly. The motel itself overall seems to physically looked after. During a previous stay someone above us was noisy in the middle of the night but I phoned the office and they went to talk to them. Don't expect too many amenities.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back: they are newer, quieter, a little more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eztourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

was put up here by the music festival! Huge room, huge bathroom, tonnes of space, sweet pool. had everything we needed. great stay. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

About 8 years ago I spent a couple of days at the Anco, back when the rates were $49 per night. It's conveniently close to downtown Courtenay and kept very clean. The bathroom is the smallest one I've ever seen and the bed was very very firm. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep after tossing and turning all night. I asked the front desk if there was a foamy that I could put on top of the mattress but was told no. I was told that "most people like firm beds"..... disappointed because I didn't enjoy my 2 days in Courtenay as much as I would have with a good sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanislandgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hi. Just want to say I've stayed there three or so times, its very clean, all the basics, good for sleeping and small food preparations. Well lighted free parking and 24 hour people in the office. Will be staying there again. Only wish the prices wouldn't keep going up! Close to the Whistle stop Pub too. :) Had a problem with the coffee machine and took a while for a girl to come in and exchange it (turns out it was not plugged in somehow and it was hard to reach behind the entertainment center) so my BF went to McDonalds (right next door) for coffee (we were impatient) The lady in the office called McDonalds to find the price of the coffee, then came to our door and refunded us! Its things like this that make this my number 1 stay. Although, it would be nice to have a Jacuzzi or more glam but until I can afford that I'll be staying here :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelWinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is our second stay at the Anco Motel and it will not be our last

Room Tip: all room are quiet we stay on the front section , the newer section is furthest from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comox Valley Inn
Comox Valley Inn
#8 of 9 in Courtenay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Inn

Property: Anco Inn
Address: 1885 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anco Inn offers clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation and is conveniently located in the centre of town. We are within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. Come out and relax at our seasonal outdoor heated pool and as our guests enjoy free parking and upgraded WiFi. We also offer business services, storage facilities and an on site coin operated laundry. Exceptional customer service is our priority and our friendly and helpful staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Courtenay
Anco Inn Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing