We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great weekend away.”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

A great place to go for a girls weekend away, had the two bedroom suite, which was fabulous. We all enjoyed the hot tub, and the pool. Also we had two good walks on the waterfront which is right by the hotel. Staff was most helpful, definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twokgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    237
    66
    14
    10
See reviews for
180
334
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night before catching the ferry. It is a new complex and is spotlessly clean Huge rooms with all normal amenities. Bit impersonal and in a bit of a strange location but within walking distance of " downtown" Courtenay . There is a nice riverside walk. Shame the restaurant is closed . Woud def go again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel has everything you need and more. From check in to check out the staff was very friendly and informative. The room was very clean and looked very modern. My favorite part of our stay was the indoor and outdoor hot tubs...they felt amazing since it was quite chilly in Courtenay during our stay. I will definitely be returning for another relaxing weekend trip as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ag2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I chose The Old House because we thought this "luxury, spa hotel" would be just the place to get away and relax. Well, not with a young boys hockey team taking over the place!
We booked a spa package with our room. Part of the experience was that guests could unwind in the wonderful heated pool and hot tub. With a dozen children running around, this was impossible and hotel staff actually recommended we move over to the next building's indoor hot tub. We tried, and it wasn't working. Frustrated, we just waited in our room for our appointment time. At the spa, the staff there said they had to crank up the music (i thought spa music was supposed to be tranquil) to drown out the kids.
The rooms at the hotel were fantastic and the staff very friendly. We had everything we needed, except for any information on where to find anything in the hotel.
It was too bad that, with a Holiday Inn Express just down the street, the hockey parents decided to bring a group of energetic young boys to a Spa Hotel. Maybe the HI Express should advertise that water slide more! And maybe The Old House should think about their other guests before booking in a kids' hockey team.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaM-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHMGR, Front Office Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to welcome you personally, during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Very nice room with full kitchen, King size bed, flat screen TV, full kitchen, eating table. Was clean, no complaints, but we are picky.
Its a 100 percent non-smoking building, so I couldnt enjoy my cigar even on our patio.
The area was a dump though. It was overlooking the river (kind of like a slough) and a bridge going into Courtney. Out front you could almost see the Safeway and a road. Absolutely no eye-candy as far as location. We even had the privelege of seeing some locals skim the fountain out front for coins that tourists had put in it. Not the hotels fault, but yucky none the less.
The gym was jail-house-style. Not bad equipment, but zero comfort level, low ceilings/dark. Kind of in the basement, I went with my brother because it had an 'unsafe' kind of feeling to it.
The pool and hot tub were lovely, Didnt try the indoor one.

All in all, I wouldnt really hesitate to come back, due to the decent price and full kitchen, but would have no hesitation looking into a defferent place to stay in the Courtney/Comox area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hurricaneblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I travel through Courtenay every week and must have stayed in every hotel this city has to offer. By far this hotel is the best, it has a great spa, the rooms are amazing the staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect, being right in the middle of Courtenay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfsnowkiteboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed in this hotel many time. Staff are nice. Rooms are very comfortable. I have stayed in their one bedroom suite, two bedroom suite and penthouse. Nice decoration. View is not that great. Love the super high ceiling. Full size well equipped kitchen. Good $$ value and quality. Closed to big supermarkets. The restaurant will be reopen in Oct.2010. Swimming pool is small.
Penthouse is big with a full kitchen and bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
59.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
4.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing