We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I took advantage of the advertised "Old House Experience". The room was very nice, the massage was great and we got a $50 coupon towards almost any restaurant in the area. We went to Locals which was highly rated and will be moving into be the restaurant at the old house.
We didn't use the pool or hot tub, though number people did enjoy it despite the hail. There apparently is an indoor hot tub but we would've had to walk outside to get to it which was definitely a disadvantage.
The continental breakfast was pretty minimal but there are lots of restaurants in the area

Room Tip: No room service. Not really a problem for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flippy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

A good quality clean hotel but seriously suffers from a lack of breakfast facilities and bar. I believe that the best restaurant in town is due to relocate next door very soon which will help but they didn't plan on doing breakfast.
I had a suite at the front and I couldn't find fault with it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bridge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogwoppit81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Old House, and not my last.
I came up from Victoria for my birthday (to get out of town for a few nights).
The suites are great.
Recommend this place to anyone going to Courtenay BC.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeep_Crazy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

room was nice with a full kitchen. Spa was really nice and enjoyed a nice massage. they also will shuttle you to restaurants, so we were able to have a bottle of wine and some beer without worrying about driving or getting a taxi. we never went into the pool but did use the hot tub. the hotel had a time share resort feeling to it. i would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joinkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I found this hotel to have nice rooms, very modern and clean. It was a treat to have a bedroom instead of just one big room. I liked that it had a full size fridge, stove, oven etc, would be nice if there a few days and wanted to not eat out the whole time. The liv room, dining room kitchen area is pretty small, we were fine only two people but I would't want to put 4 people in that room. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We used the spa, it was good but not great. I had a facial and explained that I did it for the neck and shoulder massage aspect before I got the treatment but only left not feeling that relaxed, my skin felt great though. The tech who did the facial was really nice, knew her stuff and lots about the products she was using but just didn't manage to put me into the relaxed state that I have experienced at other spas. I also did reflexology, that was great, I have nothing to compare it to as it was my first experience with reflexology. My partner did hot stone massage and sports massage, he said they were good but not as good as he was expecting. He felt that he had received better services elsewhere. These comments are not a reflection of the staff at the spa, they were all incredibly nice and lovely people, I just felt that the service wasn't up to the prices that we were charged. All in all it was a good stay, we also ate at Locals and Fluid while we were there and they were both amazing. The hotel pool and hot tub were great as well as the walk way behind the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side of hotel and heard the traffic. There are two buildings, they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna1760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

During a ski trip at Mount Washington with my boyfriend and his parents, we switched from the hotel we were at (the Travelodge in town) to the Old House because it was more spacious and there was a hot tub available in January.

The inside of the rooms are great. It was very spacious and clean. The full kitchen and table was a nice feature for us as well. It was great that the bedroom, kitchen, and living room were divided. With four of us there, it gave each of us adequate privacy without being in each other's way.

The sofa bed in the living room may have just been a sofa bed, but it was extremely comfortable for sleeping on. We had a room with a balcony directly above the pool deck, and unless you were actually standing on the balcony, no noise was heard from outside, or even neighbouring rooms.

We were skiing each day during our time there and the fireplace in the living room, as well as the fantastic hot tub and heated pool really hit the spot to help with warming up after a day in the cold. The other residents that we met, and the hotel staff, were all friendly and cheerful and it made it a great stay for all of us.

The only thing that did not live up to expectations was the "continental breakfast" which consisted of muffins and a box of oatmeal that you can make in your room. There was fruit and juice as well. There was no seating area on the main level to eat. The typical continental breakfast in the hotels I've been to includes many more options and a seating area for at least a couple of people. We were slightly disappointed with this misleading name, but it is easily fixed with many nearby restaurants.

While this hotel was more expensive than the Travelodge, I think the extra money spent was worth it for the quality of the stay. It was definitely one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here many times. First the good features:
- Location - within walking distance of shopping, dining and there is a walking trail adjacent to the property
-Rooms- very nice modern spacious rooms-staff-friendly and helpful.
However there are a few items that prevent a higher rating:
-Fitness room-is poorly equipped and equipment is not well maintained
-Noise-the hotel is very close to a metal vehicle bridge and the vehicle tires are noisy when they cross. You must keep your window closed at night to stop the noise
-Reward program-there is no hotel reward program.
Recommend you visit the cafe at the nearby airpark (airport). The airpark is a 5 minute walk and the food and staff are great. Highly recommended for breakfast or lunch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vehicle bridge Ask for a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS99Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
16 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,562 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: $123 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing