We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely room and view”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a suite in the second building and it was lovely. Great quality room and amenities in the suite.
Loved the towels and robes -- really nice quality.
WE overlooked the river and a little green space and it was lovely. The zero gravity chairs were awesome.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maeve3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    227
    61
    14
    10
See reviews for
167
319
32
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and the location of Old House. The room and kitchen were well-appointed-- a good home away from home! We were on the third floor, so we had vaulted ceilings. Good view over the river, but we were in building 2 (?) closer to the bridge over the river. Warning: the bridge has a metal grate, which resonated and was loud, so I had to wear earplugs to sleep. If you're a light sleeper, ask for building 1. There's a great river walkway immediately to the back of Old House so you can walk along the river downtown, or the opposite direction in a loop. We walked the lovely loop every evening.

Room Tip: Choose building 1 (? away from the bridge) if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed 6 nights. Exceptional service from the moment we walked in. The Manager and her beautiful pomeranian Bella, front desk and all staff were super helpful and spoilt us The room was well appointed and the bed was fantastic. A very clean hotel. Great walking track along the river from which you can view seals catching salmon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for three nights recently. The rooms we had were nicely furnished and the bed was of excellent quality so we had great sleeps. The pool area was clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The small town feel of this hotel is appealing with very friendly front desk staff. We would stay here if ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new building on the river side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in a suite here and it was great. Large, fully equipped and suited our family with boys 10 and 12 very well. Clean rooms and friendly service. This is not a large hotel and there is often just one person manning the phones/service/front desk so don't expect big city response. They are very friendly and accommodating. The photos make this hotel look much more "glam" than it is. It is still a small town hotel but probably the best one you will find in the area. The restaurant was closed when we were there.. and judging from the appearance, it hadn't been open for quite a while. too bad because it was a lovely location and probably could be quite nice, as far as environment and location.

overall, if I had to stay in Courtnay again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESQUIMALT
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very roomy clean one bedroom suite, with a reasonable pet policy. Quiet rooms, and good access to the river way for walks. front desk and spa staff were extremely friendly.

we did arrive at 3 and were told our room wasn't ready. We were asked to park outside where we sat and watched our room in the adjacent bldg for an hour with no one coming or going , and we're then allowed to check in. We normally wudnt mind if the room wasn't ready, or we were unreasonably early, but with checkout the next dayp early at 10 am, we didn't feel it was unreasonable to ask to get in the room on arrival especially after such a long drive.

That being said, we enjoyed our stay and would have liked to have had the opportunity to stay longer

Room Tip: The air conditioners setup worked well but the fan is quite loud. we went to the hydrotherapy sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4i4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently stayed at the OH Village Hotel for one night. Prior to arriving I had contacted the staff to ensure that they were pet friendly - which they are ! all emails were replied to promptly and outlined all the information I asked about.

When I arrived to check in I was speaking with the Front Counter agent and she was so nice, when i reminded her i was staying with my dog, she was excited and asked if she could meet the little guy, when i brought him she came out from the counter and petted him, its really nice to see when staff like animals and this made us feel very comfortable.

We stayed in a building down the way from the main lobby, and when we arrived and walked into the suite we were so impressed, the room was so well decorated and equipped with everything you could possibly need, the room we had was on the ground floor. It had a small balcony, which allowed us access directly onto the grounds, great for us and the dog.

The bed ( king size) was awesome, so comfortable. Its a shame we only stayed for one night. Like I mentioned everything you need for stay can be found in the room, right down to a cheese grater....

The location of the hotel is very central to everything, and the river walk that runs along side the property is very relaxing place to take an evening stroll. Its a shame that the Old House restaurant is no longer operating as it would have been nice to walk out of the room and take 10 steps to get dinner !

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone is looking to stay in the Courtenay / Comox area.

Room Tip: Staying with a pet... ask for room 1106 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wohnjinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
59.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
116.3 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing